Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best I've found
I've looked at lots of school guides and they were all a waste of time because the information was written by the schools themselves and their marketing departments had made sure they all sounded great. I had no idea that there was an independent source of information like this. I can't believe the schools let them do this, but as a parent I can just say it has been...
Published on 14 Mar 2008 by A reader

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising, but not there yet.
The first edition will be of most use to parents looking for a mainstream school, quite possibly fee-paying, for a child who has dyslexia or other learning difficulties of a not too severe nature. I bought the book hoping for information about schools which welcomed and could cater for children with autism and severe learning difficulties and, so far, I have only found...
Published on 2 Sep 2006 by Ms. Margaret M. Collins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best I've found, 14 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Good Schools Guide 2008 2008 (Paperback)
I've looked at lots of school guides and they were all a waste of time because the information was written by the schools themselves and their marketing departments had made sure they all sounded great. I had no idea that there was an independent source of information like this. I can't believe the schools let them do this, but as a parent I can just say it has been incredibly useful. There are a few schools it doesn't cover which is annoying, but otherwise five stars definitly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable tool for parents, 14 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Good Schools Guide 2008 2008 (Paperback)
As an independent source of information on the best schools in the UK, the Guide cannot be bettered. It gives the real flavour of each school and captures all the essentials from the background and character of the Head, the academic record, issues such as entrance and exit, pastoral care, the pupils and parents, right down to the actual feel of the physical facilities and other noteworthy features such as the quality of the lunches. The reports are set out clearly under headings, allowing for comparison between schools, and are written with knowledge and wisdom as well as humour. For any parent trying to assess a school from the outside, it is essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Guide to Good Schools, 25 July 2006
By 
C Dempster (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good guide to hundreds of (mainly) independent good schools. However there are many junior schools not shown and there is the odd very good secondary school that is also not listed, so this is not a definitive guide. Typically the book allocates 2 or 3 pages to each school detailing its background , the headmaster, its academic tradition and extra-curricular activities. The book has proven to be very useful when compiling a short list of potential schools to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth its weight, 31 Mar 2008
By 
PG Collings (Nottingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Schools Guide 2008 2008 (Paperback)
Here is the Guide you feel you can trust. It's straight,chatty,direct in praise or damnation, never dry. Short sentences speak volumes in this weighty tome. The pupils' eye view is taken seriously. Demystification of educational speak and no-nonsense guides to the curriculum, financial matters and tutor agencies will make experts of the parent reader. It is good to see an increased number of State schools in this edition and a fair spread of schools across most areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what parents need, 25 Mar 2008
By 
L. Roberts "LDR" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Schools Guide 2008 2008 (Paperback)
This book is full of what you as a parent really want to know; when you are struggling with which school might suit your child, you can browse through this guide and find help. It is written in a very accessible style and answers the questions you want answered. It covers state and private good schools and has a good geographical spread. It is full of interesting facts and enjoyable even if you are not in the position of school hunting but just interested in what is good in education these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect starting point for clueless parents, 24 April 2008
By 
R. Distin "Clueless Parent" (SW London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Schools Guide 2008 2008 (Paperback)
This book has been invaluable to us first time parents in our search for schools. It is easy to use and you feel that the reviews really are objective and trustworthy. We happen to live in an area where there is a relatively large choice of schools and this guide has helped us "see the wood for the trees".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great resource, 19 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Schools Guide 2008 2008 (Paperback)
This book is a very similar format to the Independent Schools Official Guide, but the difference is that it is written by parents rather than educationalists. A large section of the book contains reviews of independent schools around the country. Be aware that not all of the natonal independent schools have been reviewed, so the schools you are interested in may not be included. There is also a substantial amout of inforamtion on how to choose the best school for your child and how to look behind the facade created for open day. There is also some useful information to help you to identify the signs of whether a school is managing financially, within a climate where there are more independent schools closing nationally than ever before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising, but not there yet., 2 Sep 2006
By 
Ms. Margaret M. Collins "Margaret C" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first edition will be of most use to parents looking for a mainstream school, quite possibly fee-paying, for a child who has dyslexia or other learning difficulties of a not too severe nature. I bought the book hoping for information about schools which welcomed and could cater for children with autism and severe learning difficulties and, so far, I have only found one such school included. As yet, there are very few Special Schools reviewed, whether Independent or Local Authority, and it looks as though The Good Schools Guide will only widen its cover if parents alert the publisher to the existence of such schools and send in reviews. Within the volume information is hard to find because the index doesn't give any indication of the types of special educational need individual schools can meet and I had to spend hours reading through individual entries to get a clearer picture. Future editions could be of much more help to parents if we sent in more information. I know of a pretty inclusive State primary school that isn't in, also several specialist schools for children with autism that have been left out. They all need reviewing and to be included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Schools Guide 2008 2008
The Good Schools Guide 2008 2008 by unknown (Paperback - 29 Jan 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews