Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2011
A truly beatifully produced book doing justice to this amazing artist.
The colour plates are excellent and the text for each painting is informative and clear.I return to the book often as it gives me so much pleasure just handling it and looking at the paintings.It is definitely a book to be treasured.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 January 2011
When it comes to "bangs for your bucks", you don't get as many with this book as you do with some. In all, 23 paintings are reproduced, full page, most of them displayed facing a page of editorial, some of it explicit to the plate and some of it background stuff about Ravilious' career. The plates are of high quality, and the fact that these images have been selected to fit the remit "Sussex and the Downs" means they form a coherent whole which is satisfying and stimulating.

Ravilious died as a War Artist during the Second World War and his work is still under copyright; his family have been closely involved in the recent resurgence of interest in this individual, intensely English artist. This book reads as one written with a close personal knowledge and one feels again the poignancy of his early death.

As there is little published on Ravilious, and all of it pricey, the relatively high cost of this slim book must be borne philosophically. The text is excellent and the quality of paper chosen is just right for Ravilious's famously 'dry' style of watercolour. It has been produced with care and is essential for anyone interested in 20th century British painters.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2010
a lovely publication and if you are a fan of the work of Eric Ravilious you will not be disappointed as there are over 20 plates all with good text describing the work. The earliest in this book was painted 1927 but the bulk were done in 1939. There is an excellect introduction to the works of Ravilious in this book and the author certainly knows what he is talking about.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
I knew the house on the cover , more pictures inside, having stayed there several times as a child. Paintings are so evocative of this part of the South Downs and beautifully painted.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
If you like the work of Eric Ravilious then this book is something that you should own. The images are excellent and give you a context for his work.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Loved this book. Great read and superb reproductions of his work. Told me what I wanted to know about this lost master of English art.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
I love this book. Living near the Sussex downs I find this book so evocative of that area. You get the feeling that Ravilious loved every blade of grass and every hill. His colour palette is so acurate if you know the area. The chalk hills and fields have this pale leached out look which he gets just right. I hope you enjoy this as much as I do. I go back to it all th time.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Bought for a friend who had moved to the south coast and is a keen walker - she said she loved it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Bought as a Christmas present for a good friend who is very fond of Sussex and the Downs. We saw the book in Lewes on a day out in the summer and I thought it would be an excellent gift for a friend who is very difficult to buy for.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
This series of books do a great job of presenting aspects of his life and subjects. A nice size and good presentation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.