Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2008
This book really makes you think about what you wear and why.

In flicking through the pages you realise the different aspects of everything that gives you "The Look". Obviously a great deal of research has gone into this book with every topic on what gave "The Look" in the 1950's being addressed. The contents include clothing for men, women, children and teenagers; home dressmaking, accessories, hairstyles and makeup with lots of other interesting snippets along the way.

It is a book that will delight old and young. It may be that you were around during this period and the splendid array of photographs will act as a reminder of what you have forgotten. If you are young it is a splendid way to see how people looked in the 50's and compare with "The Look" of today, which is very different.

You do not have to read this book from cover to cover to enjoy. Its just one of those books that you can just dip into.

The book is well written by Mike Brown and extremely well produced by Sabrestorm Publishing.

If you have an interest in fashion or history then this book definitely deserves a place in your book collection.

Well done to Mike Brown, Ian Bayley and the rest of the team who produced this book.
44 comments|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
this book has wonderful pictures throughout that helps even more so to bring the 50s alive. i would recommend for research if you want hints and tips on how to dress maybe when planning a themed party like im going to...
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
This book is a great starting point for anyone who in interested in dressing in 50s fashion.The book covers all the different fashions through the decade for men women and children,it also covers hair, make up, and accessories with some lovely illustrations. I have read this book from cover to cover and found it interesting, informative and enjoyable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
I bought this book as the reviews were generally good but it says 'recreating the fashions of the fifties', it doesn't recreate. It shows lots of adverts of fashions either the typical hour glass look but mostly women in flared skirts and tight jumpers, not any of the icons of the age except a couple at the back. If you wanted an historical account of the every day fashion then this is the book but not for trying to recreate your own fifties look as I wanted to, so I was very disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
Bought this book mainly for inspiration as the pictures are great. It has everything from clothing through to how to do your makeup and hair. I'm loving the sweater styles.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
As a person facinated by the 1940's and 50's i thought i would give this book a try. Not really knowing what to expect i brought by instinct. And what a instinct i must have! This book contains important knowlege for anyone intrested in vintage styles. It not only does it give you info, but allows your eyes to witness beautiful classic photo's and magazine article snippets which would help any vintage inspired male or female begin there classy makeover. With hints and tips on this intresting era its a must buy for any vintage wannabe, fashionista or being intrested in either the era or fashion.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
This is a fantastic book which covers all aspects of fashion and accessories from the 1950's. We get to look back to the look of the 1950's. Topics covered are men, women's and children's fashions including clothes, shoes, hats, scarves, gloves, belt, spectacles, jewellery, watches, bags, cases, umbrellas, hairstyles and make-up.

Accompanied by brilliant pictures, photo's, interesting and fascinating information; my favourite was learning that many men finding out to their cost the slippery properties of the nylon pyjama/sheet combination waking to find themselves on the floor! That made me smile.

There are so amazing advertisements from this period and fashion tips from popular magazines of the time Men Only and Woman's Weekly.

The book ends with a nice price guide to show a typical price guide, so we can see how much things cost back then.

For someone like myself who was not around in the 1950's and who is interested in fashion, I found this book a very enjoyable and entertaining read. I liked how the book also included instructions how to make items and I really liked looking at all the pictures.

Each page in this book is busy, packed with interesting information that helps us create in our minds the look of the 1950's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
Love this book so much. Also bought the 1940s look at the same time which i am about halfway through, so havn't started reading this one yet but the pictures are brilliant. Lots of tips and the writing is really in-depth, it helps you to understand why certain fashions were popular, as well as how to get the look yourself if your into that, like i am...
I would recommend as a must have to all retro/vintage fashion enthusiasts x
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
An interesting book covering a wide range of fifties clothing , make up, jewellery and hairstyles. However it doesn't tell you how to re-create the looks in modern terms which is what I was after. Lots of pictures and articles from magazines at the time, historically fascinating but not that practical now. However it will provide lots of ideas and inspiration.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
As myself a vintage lover,this book is well-worth money.The lay out/category is very clear,and the demonstration is pretty discreet.One thing I love most is it has the "trend category" for each year in 1950s,which brings much in depth!But,few things I'd better to remind are,
If you are looking for a vintage fashion book for women fashion especially,then this book may not be the "best" choice.It has a slew of pages illustrates clothing style for men,teens,and children though they are fun to read and I quite enjoy it!
There are some parts you may ask for more...like the accessories part,some demonstrations are too simple,since you may already knew them from Internet.
Attention!If you are looking for the "haute couture" or "Femme fatale in 50s" kind of book,then this one nope.This is a great book for an everyday look in 50s,however it does get a large part for Party wear.
In a nutshell this is a great book,as I mentioned in the first.I think I'll purchase the this series again,for the 40s one.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)