Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1940's look
This is such a lovely book - lots of information and colourful pictures.
I bought it to take some older friends down memory lane - but I love it myself!!!
Published 18 months ago by jean

versus
122 of 124 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing
After eagerly awaiting this book, it was finally delivered last week, and I have to say that I am a little disappointed with it.

Yes, there's lots of information with pictures on the 1940s look, from hairstyles to shoes, and all the bits in between, but I want to know how to achieve those hairstyles, not just see pictures of them. From the title of the book, I...
Published on 23 Jan 2007 by Katerina Davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 124 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 23 Jan 2007
This review is from: The 1940s Look: Recreating the Fashions, Hairstyles and Make-up of the Second World War (Paperback)
After eagerly awaiting this book, it was finally delivered last week, and I have to say that I am a little disappointed with it.

Yes, there's lots of information with pictures on the 1940s look, from hairstyles to shoes, and all the bits in between, but I want to know how to achieve those hairstyles, not just see pictures of them. From the title of the book, I thought that it would have step by step instructions on how to achieve the look, but it doesn't really. With the clothes, the reader can see what sort of design to look out for, but with hairstyles, it isn't enough to show a picture, we need to know what to do to get that style.

So, if you are a re-enactor, hoping to have step by step instructions, save your money, but if you just want to see pictures of 1940s styles, then this is okay, if a little pricey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1940's look, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1940s Look: Recreating the Fashions, Hairstyles and Make-up of the Second World War (Paperback)
This is such a lovely book - lots of information and colourful pictures.
I bought it to take some older friends down memory lane - but I love it myself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1940's Look by Mike Brown, 10 May 2013
This review is from: The 1940s Look: Recreating the Fashions, Hairstyles and Make-up of the Second World War (Paperback)
RECREATING THE FASHIONS, HAIRSTYLES AND MAKE-UP OF THE SECOND WORLD WAR.

This is a fascinating and interesting book about everything to do with the 1940's look. It covers what people were wearing fashion wise, during the Second World War. Some of the topics covered are hair, make-up, ladies/men's and children's fashions, jewellery, shoes, glasses and much more. In the time of `Make Do and Mend' we find out what people were buying and how they bought it. The advice they were given in a time of shortages caused by the War and the impact of rationing.

This book is just brilliant, very well researched and there are some fantastic illustrations and photographs to accompany the information. The information is presented in a bright lively way, which makes the book an enjoyable read. So if you would like to have a nostalgic look back at the 1940's. If you are a fan of vintage fashion and are looking to recreate the look of the 1940's or if you are like me and just have a huge interest in history and learning about the simple everyday things, that you wish they had taught in history at school, to make the lessons much more interesting!

I really enjoyed this bright and colourful book and I learnt a lot from reading it. I will very much look forward to reading more books by author Mike Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1040s Fan, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1940s Look: Recreating the Fashions, Hairstyles and Make-up of the Second World War (Paperback)
This book was just what I wanted as have 1940s weekend away in Howarth shortly and wanted to check on detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great images and background information, 10 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: The 1940s Look: Recreating the Fashions, Hairstyles and Make-up of the Second World War (Paperback)
useful book to explore what people were wearing and why people were wearing what during and after the second world war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1940s Look: Recreating the Fashions, Hairstyles and Make-up of the Second World War (Paperback)
Brilliant reference book for women,but not too much about men's fashion. Doesn't tell you how to do hair and make up but shows you lots of adverts of the era. A fantastic read and will be very useful as well as interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A specila gift, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1940s Look: Recreating the Fashions, Hairstyles and Make-up of the Second World War (Paperback)
This was a very special gift for a young fashionista who also has an appreciation for the historical backdrop on which current fashion is based.She was delighted with it and put the ideas into use immediately.
What an excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point, 19 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1940s Look: Recreating the Fashions, Hairstyles and Make-up of the Second World War (Paperback)
This book is an excellent starting point for people wanting to get a 'feel' of the look of the 1940's. It's not terribly detailed, but it does provide an overview, and takes the reader on a trip through the period and the changing fashions, and the influences - rationing, blackout, hollywood, etc etc. All in all, it would be useful to someone dallying with history, recreations, fashion... but not probably detailed enough for a serious enthusiast, who will have already covered everything included here. There are no detailed 'how to's' but an aweful lot of background and inspirational pictures and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past, 8 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: The 1940s Look: Recreating the Fashions, Hairstyles and Make-up of the Second World War (Paperback)
This book arrived in mint condition, brand new. I have enjoyed this so much and am constantly looking through it. I love the period of the 40s through to the 50s so I also bought the 50s book. I am a late 60s baby and have always said that I was born into the wrong generation, we truly have no proper style nowadays. Gives lots of info and fab pictures on the style of the times, make-up. Gents clothing and kids also covered.T My mum has also loved it, she is in her 70s and was born just before the second world war started so this book has taken her on a wee trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Look back in time 1940's, 6 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. M. C. Lancaster "Mandy Lancaster" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 1940s Look: Recreating the Fashions, Hairstyles and Make-up of the Second World War (Paperback)
I bought this book as a research tool for themed party set around the Battle of Britain and wanted to look at hairstyles, dresses etc of the period to make sure I look as authentic as possible. The book has a decent selection of fashion suggestions and a few hairstyles to help me along but where it yeilded unexpected rewards was the excellent background information as to the period and how clothes were made, altered and retailored as a result of rationing. A useful tool for anyone researching the clothes and economic realities of the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews