Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrayal of Modern Greece
This is very well written and researched book on modern Greece, the author who has had a long love affair with Greece and in particular Greek music has really done his research. The end result is an informative, yet thought provoking read. For those who have never been to Athens, but spent time on a Greek island, and would like to know more about Greece and its current...
Published 17 months ago by Mrs. S. P. Theodosiou

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but somewhat tiring.
The author has done extensive research and is accurate in most things described. He tries not to deliver a superficial touristic guide of the city, but to investigate into the real life of Athens and also Greece in general. Quite successfully, but not always. Also becomes tiring after a while. His obsession with the Middle East, where he 's lived for years, and the...
Published 17 months ago by Critic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrayal of Modern Greece, 1 Dec. 2013
By 
Mrs. S. P. Theodosiou "SarahT" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Athens - the Truth: Searching for Mános, Just Before the Bubble Burst (Paperback)
This is very well written and researched book on modern Greece, the author who has had a long love affair with Greece and in particular Greek music has really done his research. The end result is an informative, yet thought provoking read. For those who have never been to Athens, but spent time on a Greek island, and would like to know more about Greece and its current problems, this is an essential buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth about Athens indeed!, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Athens - the Truth: Searching for Mános, Just Before the Bubble Burst (Paperback)
I just loved this book. It is obvious that the author has transferred his true feeling of Athens, after experiencing every aspect of this city's life.
I would strongly recommend this to any Greek reader, to discover what a foreigner that truly loves Greece has to say about Athens, and to all non-Greeks that could finally see what is true and what is a myth about Greece and especially Athens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book makes the reader yearn for Athens, 24 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Athens - the Truth: Searching for Mános, Just Before the Bubble Burst (Paperback)
I find this book excellent! The author really makes the reader yearn for Athens. The balance between historical background, personal experience and the description of what he saw in Athens is just right. I was out on the ocean, sailing, and took two books with me, this one and one by Friedrich Dürrenmatt. In the end I mostly read the one about Athens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book for insiders and for all those who goes for the first time to Athens, 19 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Athens - the Truth: Searching for Mános, Just Before the Bubble Burst (Paperback)
David I have finally finished your book Athens: the truth. Superb, magnificent and so true. I have more to say about the book and I will do that in a short while. I put my comments and reflections in Dutch, and afterwards I will translate those with Bing in English. I have enjoy it from the first to the last page. It's not only enjoyable for the people who goes for the fist time to Athens, but also for me and others who have been in Athens many more times. There is so much in your book, it's a must read!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming, useful and highly informative book on contemporary Athens., 16 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: Athens - the Truth: Searching for Mános, Just Before the Bubble Burst (Paperback)
This is an excellent, charming and at the same time highly useful and informative book on current day Athens. It is in part a personal journey, in which the author finally answers a forty year long siren's call to the land of 'Rembetiko', and in part it is a discerning and up-to-date travelogue and guide in which the author introduces us to countless Athenian gems (such as the little known but delightful 'Hamam Abid Efendi' museum) & delicious experiences he has whilst exploring this ancient iconic city and meeting some of its many charismatic people. And all is recounted in a highly readable and instructive manner, with comprehensive indexing, extensive and fascinating historical and geopolitical data as well as linguistic referencing throughout (at first mildly disconcerting but ultimately useful). And though not shy from making the odd controversial, at times critical and thought-provoking statement, the overwhelming love he obviously has of the city, for its people and above all its music shines through on every page. A perfect companion to your Athens travel guide; I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but somewhat tiring., 7 Dec. 2013
By 
Critic (Athens Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Athens - the Truth: Searching for Mános, Just Before the Bubble Burst (Paperback)
The author has done extensive research and is accurate in most things described. He tries not to deliver a superficial touristic guide of the city, but to investigate into the real life of Athens and also Greece in general. Quite successfully, but not always. Also becomes tiring after a while. His obsession with the Middle East, where he 's lived for years, and the constant comparison to Greece, is rather naive sometimes (he's surprised to find bookstores in Athens for example !!!!) and very trivial, focusing on details rather than wider notions of democracy, freedom, education etc which actually shape a nation's life and mentality. Also his other obsession with greek folk music, is way overdiscussed and may not interest the potential reader. (a somewhat amusing instance is when he visits a mainly classical music concert hall and leaves when he realizes there's no bouzouki music!!!).
Overall an informative book nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Athens - the Truth: Searching for Mános, Just Before the Bubble Burst
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews