Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars26
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2006
I always loathed camping as a child. As a 40-something adult, financial circumstances have forced me to overcome my dislike. Thankfully, the clothing and kit available these days make it much more bearable (by the way, check out the novel but useful gear on [...])

A trawl on Amazon led me to Cool Camping and, based on the other reviews, I got a copy.

It has definitely lived up to expectations. OK, maybe there are only 40 campsites featured and they are clustered in the furthest places in England. But I haven't so far found one that looked like a duff inclusion. Each site is described very well in lots of photos and words to get across the special features and character of each one, and there's a summary for each including upsides and downsides, costs, nearest decent pub, things to do on a rainy day, and alternative sites if it's full. There's also a 'directory' of sites with headings such as 'Surf's Up', 'Stunning Views', 'Good for first timers', 'Something Different'. And it will take me quite a while to get round 40 good sites, so I really don't care that the book doesn't contain hundreds. It would only make choosing more difficult still!

So I'm very happy with my book and the minute there's a version out for Scotland or Wales, it will be on my Wish List...
22 comments|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2006
Apart from the cracking pictures, Cool Camping has all the things you need to know; prices, facilities, what to do when it rains (or snows, hails, etc) and most importantly, the nearest pub.

Highly recomended for first-timers and those regular campers that are looking for something less run-of-the-mill.

The best thing is someone has written in the front of mine ;)
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2007
After many years of Eurocamp holidays in France when our children were younger, we started to think about getting our own tent and heading off to more interesting places here in the UK as well as abroad. We have definitely had our fill of 'holiday camp' sites in France.

I would have to say that the Cool Camping books were what finally tipped us over the edge into getting fully equipped and heading off into the wilds. Talk about inspiration! These books are fantastic (we have the Wales and England books - both of which are great). We selected a great site on Pembrokeshire coast on the basis of Cool Camping's recommendation, and had a wonderful short break at the end of the school holidays.

What we love most about the books is the slightly bohemian, 'green' quirkiness of it all - from small 2-Teepee sites and classic Airflow motorhomes, through to sites at the most beautiful locations in Britain, all with a raw rustic edge that makes getting away from it all in a tent so invigorating compared to any other sort of holiday.

Get inspired - get Cool Camping!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2007
I loved the original Cool Camping so much that I bought the glove box version as well as the new Scotland and Wales books. They are fantastic - written by people who understand that camping should not be a soulless experience in campsites rated according to laundry facilities and shops rather than breathtaking views or a friendly atmosphere.

Although the books are undeniably attractive, with loads of photos to give you a feel for the places, they are also informative. The write-ups are honest, highlighting the downsides as well as the many benefits, and it is easy to make an informed choice about which sites are likely to suit you. Helpfully there are details on the nearest pubs, places to visit and things to do if it rains, clear directions and even alternative sites if the ones reviewed are fully booked.

Just reading Cool Camping is enough to inspire you to take start packing, but the reality is even better. My husband and I only started camping last summer, but we've already visited several of the sites, and have planned our summer holidays around more: the only problem is how to fit in all the places we've marked in the book before the camping season ends... It's such a relief to find writers with a refreshing philosophy on camping: Cool Camping has saved us hours of trawling the internet for campsites with as few facilities (and caravans) as possible!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2007
I'm feeling strangely drawn to camping at the moment. I'm trying to fight it, but it's no good. I've bought this book, and it's only made the feeling stronger. Look at those lovely photos - can I really camp there? By that lake? Lovely. And there's a gastropub round the corner? Perfect. True, there are only 40 sites in the book, as they've only included the best, but I only plan on going camping once this year. So I guess this book will do me for the next 40 years! Inspiring stuff.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2007
A guide book for proper campers. Prior to buying the book I'd visited several of the campsites in the book. Their reviews exactly fit with my own experiences of each site. I therefore trust the Cool Campers to send me on many more memorable camping trips.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Cool Camping does exactly what it says on the cover - makes camping cool. From someone who thought camping was one step up from sleeping on a park bench, Cool Camping has opened my eyes and inspired me to give camping a go. It features great campsites from around England, each with something special to offer, like Vintage Vacations on the Isle of Wight where you get to stay in shiny American "trailers". Not exactly camping but something very different and memorable.

There's plenty of real camping too. The photos are great and give a sense of what it's like to be there.

I would highly recommend this for camping experts and novices or even if you just want a interesting coffee table read.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2006
Great book that really helped me choose a fab campsite. Just got back from Ayre Holiday Park in St Ives where, although the weather wasn't that great, the view really was fantastic! It was so nice to stay in a campsite with high class facilities, just as the book (and pics!) reports. Will definitely be using this book again for our next camping holiday, just a shame it only covers England.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2007
This book was recommended in a couple of different camping articles that I read recently.

I have just flicked through it quickly in my lunch hour and have decided that I would like to visit every campsite listed!!! Cool Camping is full of useful tips for each site along with some of the most amazing photos and views that I have ever seen - some of them are just magical.

The days of naff campsites are officially over, as this book has just become my camping bible! :o)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2006
Great stuff, a campsite guide that leaves out all those average campsites and only includes the very best ones! Simple, yet effective. It's also unlike any of the other guides because it's got loads of beautiful photos so you can see what the campsites are like before you pack your tent and drive across the country. It's definitely not aimed at caravanners, though, this is for tent people who want to camp in drop-dead gorgeous, stunning, countryside locations. An original idea, executed with style. Bookshop Bob rates this as a 'Buy'!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)