Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely little book
This is a wonderful antidote to those "little book of wisdom" type affairs. It's not that it's a miserable version of such books -- far from it. Rather it is a collection of carefully crafted one-liners and observations, clever and heartfelt enough to actually make you think, and funny enough to make you laugh out loud at most of them. They are, in essence, the best of...
Published on 28 Feb 2007 by G. Bassett

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to live with how to live
A witty but tiny book. Only a few pages, with one comment per page. Good, but nowhere near worth the price.
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by R. Lancaster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely little book, 28 Feb 2007
By 
G. Bassett (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Live ^ (Paperback)
This is a wonderful antidote to those "little book of wisdom" type affairs. It's not that it's a miserable version of such books -- far from it. Rather it is a collection of carefully crafted one-liners and observations, clever and heartfelt enough to actually make you think, and funny enough to make you laugh out loud at most of them. They are, in essence, the best of Simon Munnery's stand-up gags from the last 20 years or so. Well worth a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stocking filler, 14 Nov 2010
By 
Macintyre's Speculum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: How to Live ^ (Paperback)
This makes a great stocking filler. There is the chance that the person you bought it for will think you are smart, and its easy to read yourself before passing it on. The paper is fairly sturdy, and I am fairly certain my brother won't notice that I've already leafed through it. Why I want my brother to think I am smart is anybody's guess, and probably best not dwelled on.

Very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking little book, 22 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: How to Live ^ (Paperback)
A laugh on every page, most every page contains gems of wisdom that make you wonder why you've never heard them before. Sparklingly original, witty, laugh out loud funny. It's not a novel, but a collection of small comedic gems. So don't expect to read this for hours, rather expect to open at a random page and laugh. I recently saw Simon supporting Stewart Lee and it was so funny it reminded me to revisit this book and write this review. If you have his DVD then get this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midget Gems, 4 Jan 2011
By 
kath "cinephile" (northumberland uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Live ^ (Paperback)
Dry, witty, at times acerbic, always with a stab of truth and oddly sweet and lovable; rather like the man himself. This collection of observations and epigrams is a distillation of the skewed but very funny world view of the wonderful Simon Munnery and it's a pure pleasure from cover to cover. Dip into its tiny pages for laugh out loud one-liners and curiously affecting side-long insights. Buy it for yourself or for any secretly idealistic misanthropes in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, erudite, insightful, but most of all, funny!, 12 April 2011
By 
Glasgow Dreamer (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: How to Live ^ (Paperback)
This is a delightful little book. It's only 72 pages long, and many of these pages have only one or two sentences on them.

They consist of a mixture of wise little sayings, manglings of the language, top-notch (or absolutely terrible!) jokes, and slightly silly lists. They are not all entirely original; you will have heard some of them many years ago, and some of them may even have occurred to you as original thought at some time.

I bought the book from Mr Munnery after one of his recent shows in Glasgow (he read out several short pieces from it towards the end of the show), and I'm perfectly happy with it. It is difficult not to simply sit down and read it all in ten minutes, but it is better to take your time, savouring each page (the better ones at least), and annoying your companions with your new-found insight and wisdom.

I wouldn't say it's particularly representative of Munnery's work (although, strictly by definition, I suppose it is) but I would say it's well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reading is good., 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Live ^ (Paperback)
This book has 100% changed my life. If you buy this book it will 100% change your life. BUT IT>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to live with how to live, 12 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Live ^ (Paperback)
A witty but tiny book. Only a few pages, with one comment per page. Good, but nowhere near worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You can live without it., 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: How to Live ^ (Paperback)
How to live? Well for a start I would recommend living without this book. I found that although there were a few amusing musings, on the whole it was slightly sexist in a juvenile way. I think the author is being a bit self indulgent to think that his notes are worthy of publishing. There is very little in the book and a quick flick through was more than enough for me. A small book can be captivating and stand up for itself, but this does neither and I would consider it a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good value., 29 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: How to Live ^ (Paperback)
Flimsy paperback book - hardly even a book; more of a booklet. It contains a load of trite one-liners that are barely smile inducing. Calling them "funny" would be overselling it. Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Live ^
How to Live ^ by Simon Munnery (Paperback - 1 Dec 2005)
6.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews