Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars9
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£26.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2012
A typically well presented and nicely packaged tome from 3dt with some very high quality work to ogle.

The book contains a series of detailed overviews of the workflows used by some of the industry's most capable artists, from my own perspective as a professional user it offers a number of very useful insights and some invaluable tips that I'm now using daily.

It's not a one stop shop for learning zbrush so much as a means of picking the brains of some very talented and experienced users and in that context I would highly recommend it to intermediate and expert users wanting to push their game.

Speaking personally it's really opened up my ability to create entirely within zbrush ( ie. without relying on other apps ) which I find very liberating - after a couple of sculpts this alone has made it worth the purchase price, never mind all the other cool stuff I've learnt.

If I had to make a criticism it'd be with regard to the writing style, there are times where processes could be explained more clearly or in more detail but given a decent understanding of the app and a bit of headscratching it all becomes clear in the end.

In summary,
If you're a capable user looking to improve or wondering "how they did that" this is a good bet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
From start to finish this is a quality book, within it's glossy high finish pages you have just over 230 pages of every kind of style Z Brush can create for you.
There's hard surface techniques, set by step projects, classical sculpture, monsters, mercenaries, speed sculpts, a full gloriously beautiful gallery and even a cartoon Armadillo!

Since Z Brush came into the public's consciousness it's very quickly became the priority tool for budding artists both in the entertainment industries and freelancers alike, from it's inception the learning curve was quite steep... with the arsenal of tools viewable in Z Brush's interface you could be forgiven for feeling a little lost, however once you have a grip of this toolset the choice of what you can create is only limited by your own imagination.

That's where this book is so good, as there are so many outstanding artists within these pages you'll be spoilt for choice for inspiration. Z Brush has it's roots firmly set into the film & video game industry now and epic characters such as Marvel's Ironman, War Machine, The Incredible Hulk, and others like The Lord Of The Rings, & The Pirates of the Caribbean & of course many elements of Harry Potter! These characters would still have been possible of course without Z Brush, but wouldn't have looked anywhere near as fantastical, magical and realistic as they do with the help of this sculpting software.

One of the best step by step tutorials in this book is the cover featured Armoured Rhino by the multi-talented Jose Alves De Silva, this teaches you to combine hard surfacing techniques with organic sculpting and with this kind of knowledge under your belt you'd be hard stretched to find anything you couldn't create yourself with some practice.

Literally everything has been covered in this book, if you're a video game fan and want to create you favourite game character you can learn how to in this book, if you are a traditional sculptor making the switch from clay to digital everything is here to speed up your current workflow and best of all no mess, you can learn to create photorealistic monsters, humans, animals, clothing, boots, backpacks, guns and everything in-between.

Whether you are a novice looking to improve or a professional seeking inspiration this is the book for you, I can't wait for Vol 02!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
This is a very nicely presented book if you are starting out there is enough information just but aimed more at the user who has some skill. Will give you plenty of ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
Great book for a beginner and advanced zbrush user with detailed descriptions. Recommended for those who are interested in zbrush.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
The book was in great conditions. It's even more complete than I thought. Thank you so much, it will be an awesome gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
3DTotal, from its humble beginnings as a 3d artists resource/gallery website and online community, has been building up a strong reputation as an editorial powerhouse. This latest volume is yet another proof of that.
Starting with an impressive printing quality and the overall artist selection, the book clearly shows the gigantic scope of styles and whether it is organics or hard surface, realistic or cartoony, fantasy or sci-fi, ZBrush has become the true weapon of choice for thousands of talented artists all over the globe due to its flexibility.
Besides the beautiful gallery, there are a few case studies, with insightful coverage of the artist process, methods and techniques to achieve the final result. Again, the careful selection of the pieces was intended to demonstrate how easily ZBrush can fit in any work pipeline and style.
It would be unfair to point out a specific example, so I'll let you browse the sample pages above and see for yourselves. The paramount love and dedication for Art that the good people at 3DTotal and all the artists involved put in this book is truly an inspiration for me.
Thumbs up peeps! Is #2 gonna take too long to come out?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
I have been waiting for this book for a while now, and finally! It always surprise me when I learn how other artists use Zbrush, and I pretty much enjoy most of the tutorials they chose to put in this book, from classical sculpting, speed sculpt to cartoon style, to realistic look, as well as all the render setting and sculpting techniques clearly shown. Only exception is that I have own quite a few ebooks from 3dTotal, and some of them were already included in the book, so this is not entirely new to me. However, I still highly recommended this book, I mean you could easily check the preview section to see what sort of content you would get in the book before actually buying it on their website. Armor rhino alone is very enjoyable to read, it goes through the step-by-step creation in an instructional way, and very detail description. Also, the making of Warrior Mech, if you are a big fan of Mech robot, this is it! This is a book that has become one of my inspiration to work on digital sculpt, a great resources for new Zbrush techniques!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
This book does have some good tips in it, like how to achieve hard surface modding in ZBrush or how to make clothes look worn and how to make parts of armour/boots and achieve the realism needed. Clothing creases and seams were really helpful. However this book, although it does give some nice tutorials is almost like showcase for other artists work. There is a section dedicated to a spread of full colour creations done by other artists which are not featured in the book. And even though these are nice, I would have actually liked these pages to be filled with some form of training. I would say that this book is for those who already know their way around ZBrush and wish to pick up some techniques from from those in the industry to achieve a more professional grade of work.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
I've bought this book as reference for a work and it is a great book, amazing info and examples, as usual from 3d Total team. But the packaging was so low quality that it delivers the book blended, with marks in all the book and ruining the reading.

10 points for 3d total. 0 points for the seller who choice that packaging service. Never again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)