Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book to get you started
Digital painting is becoming more and more popular, but the problem with many tutorial books is that you need to have working experience of software like photoshop in order to make sense of what you are reading. This book however assumes that you do not know anything, and this is its strength.

The first section of the book is more about how to actually set up...
Published on 31 Aug 2012 by D. Pepper

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok.
After reading all the great reviews I thought I'd give this book a try. I was sorley dissapointed. Although the artwork is stunning, all this book does is give theory lessons how to be a general artist i.e the proper use of light, depth perception, vanishing points, using complementry colours etc. Which is all very good if you didn't already know any of this. It doesn't...
Published on 18 Aug 2012 by ~Sophie_Sian~


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book to get you started, 31 Aug 2012
By 
D. Pepper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop (Paperback)
Digital painting is becoming more and more popular, but the problem with many tutorial books is that you need to have working experience of software like photoshop in order to make sense of what you are reading. This book however assumes that you do not know anything, and this is its strength.

The first section of the book is more about how to actually set up photoshop to be suitable for digital painting, something that is very simple, but often not considered by many users. This quickly moves into covering the most commonly used features such as setting up brushes so that they can be used for painting.

From this the book starts covering the basic areas of art theory such as colour mixing, composition, atmospheric perspective etc, but not in any great detail. Some may criticise the lack of information in these sections, but you have to remember that this is a beginners guide intended for people have little to no experience of these subjects. They are still illustrated and written in a complete enough manner to convey the points and principals in question.

Beyond this the book starts to bring all these things together in the way of tutorials, that some people might find a bit challenging at first, but how so would depend upon a specific individual and their desire to progress forward. The main focus of these early turorials is more to give people an idea of the workflow involved in creating a piece of digital art, while also revealing quite a few techniques to get the job done.

The final set of elements cover the painting of specific things such as trees, clouds, planets, reflections etc. These tutorials are much shorter, than the earlier ones, and may be confusing to new digital artists since they gloss over the processes so quickly. However like with all such short tutorials, the idea is for people to actual try the principals for themselves rather than just copy what see. From here they can then adjust and apply the method to whatever they are painting.

Since this book is marketed towards beginners, artists from a moderate skill level or above would actually not benefit that much from owning this book, but again, its not marketed towards them, its for people who want to learn the basics fast. Anyone who is interested in more advanced techniques but explained in a simple way would be better off looking at the 'Digital Painting Techniques' series of books that are also published by 3dtotal.

The 3dtotal website also has additional support and resources for people who are reading this book with a free download package that includes video tutorials, custom brushes and even a fibonacci spiral (read the composition section for use) to help new artists get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best tutorial book I have ever read, 4 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop (Paperback)
This is not a cheap book and I nearly decided not to purchase it based on the price however I'm glad I changed my mind.
From page one this book is incredible. I've been using various incarnations of Photoshop for years and was shock when I realised after only a couple of pages that I don't even know how to set up a canvas properly!
This book will take you though the basics of setting up and using Photoshop and then move on to creating artwork and how to obtain professional effects. The book is written in an informative but fast paced way that covers what's needed but never gets boring or muddy. As a person which has serious problems with my attention span when reading text books I was surprised to find that I just couldn't put this one down.
If you are new to digital art you need this book because it will set you on the right path and explain professional techniques that will make your life a whole lot easier and reduce your learning curve time dramatically.
If you think you know how to use Photoshop you need this book because within 10 pages you will likely realise that you have been missing some seriously cool tricks.
I can't rate this book highly enough, you should buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok., 18 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop (Paperback)
After reading all the great reviews I thought I'd give this book a try. I was sorley dissapointed. Although the artwork is stunning, all this book does is give theory lessons how to be a general artist i.e the proper use of light, depth perception, vanishing points, using complementry colours etc. Which is all very good if you didn't already know any of this. It doesn't give clear instruction on how to use anything in photoshop properly at all. There is one useful chapter at the very end that shows you how to paint trees, fire and other such things but it's a very small section and doesn't go into alot of detail. I found that Imagine FX magazine is much better. Not what I expected at all :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners/intermediate, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop (Paperback)
Just finished this book. I definitely recommend it to aspiring photoshop concept artists. Lots of explanation on how to use photoshop and how to use compositional techniques. I would recommend you have at least some drawing/painting familiarity first i.e. understand the fundamentals of art. Like most books, not 'everything' is explained of course and the artwork in the book will be pretty difficult to pull off if you have no artistic knowledge of lighting and depth etc.
Very experienced artists may need something more advanced with regards to developing their skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite useful, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop (Paperback)
I recieved this book fairly quickly, and I must say I have used it quite a lot and found it very useful. As a beginner of using digital painting I've learned a lot of new things to use in my progression of art. For me there was new tricks that I've been wanting to learn but had no idea where to look or what to search for in order to get it up and going. And in the short time that I've had the book I feel like I've learned a lot. So I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Extreamly beginners guide to Photoshop/Digital Painting, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop (Paperback)
This is not intended for anyone whom has knowledge of Digital Painting in Photoshop except for people who are gaining an interest in such and would like a detailed beginners approach to the fundamentals and theories, it does have beautiful imagery to help inspire the individual but is not such a great learning tool for anyone familiar with Photoshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ok book, not as good as I thought it would be, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop (Paperback)
just OK! if I had the chance, to have looked, in the book , fully! I would have not bought it, Sub pare reference book, and that's about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop (Paperback)
This guide holds lots of tips and hints that assisted me to improve my skills in photoshop Digital Painting and concept work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guide, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop (Paperback)
This is the best guide to digital painting in photoshop I have ever read! You would not regret if you buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop (Paperback)
This is a very useful book. I've discovered tools in Photoshop that I didn't knew existed. I'm already constructing fantasy landscapes and learning more all the time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop
Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop by 3DTotal (Paperback - 31 Jan 2012)
£25.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews