Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for any club or leader
This book is full of canoe and kayak games that any club or paddle leader should find of use, or even a parent wanting fun games to keep the kids entertained on holiday. As social secretary of a canoe club I've found lots of fun ideas to get both kids and adults working together as a group.
Published on 31 May 2010 by Sandy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK not great
I was hoping for some inspiration but this doesn't really hit the mark. OK for some basic ideas.
Published 4 months ago by Mr. A. Trevarton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for any club or leader, 31 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games (Paperback)
This book is full of canoe and kayak games that any club or paddle leader should find of use, or even a parent wanting fun games to keep the kids entertained on holiday. As social secretary of a canoe club I've found lots of fun ideas to get both kids and adults working together as a group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good resource for all coaches, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games (Paperback)
A must buy for any canoe or kayak coach. Rewritten since the last version (which I also have). If you are still using the old version then you need to update as some of the games in it wouldn't be deemed safe any more. The new version (this one) has been updated to reflect this. Some of these can provide the ideal end point for a group session or can just give you some good pointers for making the teaching aspect of your session more interesting. I don't see this as a cover to cover read, more as a book to pick up from time to time and browse.
If you are coaching and don't have a copy then get one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Book, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games (Paperback)
I bought this for my grandson who was going off to do his BCU coaching award.

I was once an instructor myself and know this book is the bible as far as providing the new coach, loads and loads of practical games and exercises to improve participants skills and have a bit of fun whilst on the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good useful Reference, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games (Paperback)
Lots of good ideas captured here . Some of which could be adapted to other sports as a source of inpsiration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games (Paperback)
Updated version of the old one better pictures, better descriptions handy for anyone running or helping to run a club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book with plenty of ideas, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games (Paperback)
Finding quality games and activities for groups to keep them engaged is made very simple with this book. Loads of ideas, skills and fun based!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kayak Games, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games (Paperback)
This book gives excellent ideas on how to build confidence in the kayak and make sure you have a great day out on the river.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 2 May 2011
This review is from: Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games (Paperback)
An excellent weapon in your armoury. An excellent of array of games which I have used and adapted to different groups. A must for all Kayak Instructors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A game for even the most difficult uninterested child, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games (Paperback)
I secured a kayak instructor role at a summer camp in Canada so I really needed to turn up with an arsenal of safe, interactive and most importantly fun games to be used when teaching the kids.

This book was a life saver providing many different versions of games taught in the training for my BCU course. Having tried and tested activities down in black and white can really help preparations for lesson planning.

This book is a fun kayak instructor's bible and I would recommend to keep a note of which games work better with different standards AND gender/age. The majority of the games worked better with the younger kids but I think that is more about their childish instructor. ;)

Great book, well written and illustrated, maybe more photos of games in practice would benefit?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games (Paperback)
This was a present for my Mum's birthday. Although pricey this book is jam packed with ideas and games. My Mun was very pleased with it and will use it a lot when coaching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games
Canoe and Kayak Games: 250 Best Paddle Sport Games by Loel Collins (Paperback - 1 Oct 2005)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews