Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars22
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2006
having just finished reading joe egans book i have to say it was one of the best sporting biographies ive ever read,and ive read quite a few.from the first page to the last i was hooked.great insight into joes life,hes relationship with mike tyson and others.i recently met joe at the mike tyson after dinner speak in dublins burlington hotel,and he was a real gentleman,he was geat with fans and even though i myself just asked for an autograph he asked me would i like a picture also,which i found very nice.a big man,with a great story and most of all a great guy.anyway as i said before,if your looking for a good read,u wont go far wrong with big joe egan,fantastic stuff.go grab a copy,u wont be disappointed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2006
Great read , I could not put it down once I started to read it . Not only does the reader get an insight into the real Mike Tyson but also into one of the most interesting boxing personalities I have had the good fortune to meet . Some great stories about Joe's rise through the amateur ranks , the unbelievable treatment he received from the Irish Boxing Board and his ultimate decision to quit through injury only to come back in his late 30's for one last hurrah plus an insight into his life outside of boxing . Great !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2007
Just read this book and couldnt put it down! Was a great read, was well written with an extremely interesting insight into Joe's life covering all his ups and downs. I had the pleasure of speking to Joe recently and he's as much a gentleman in real life as he comes accross in the book. I recommend that you buy this book now :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2006
The best biography I have ever read, this is a must buy whether you are a boxing fan or not. I couldn't put this down. An amazing story of courage and determination to overcome whatever life throws at you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2006
My heart and mind have been captured! I experienced the entire spectrum of emotions any individual could possibly endure, whilst being totally engrossed. Fiction doesn't come near to the realities contained within Joe's Story.
My utmost respect to the author for his very obvious backbone, his strength of character as was witnessed, but most importantly for his ability to hold my attention for an uninterrupted 6 hours.
EXCELLENT & EXHILERATING!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2006
Joe Egan or Big Joe has he is well known is a fantastic person, and this book just proves what an amazin character he is. Throughout the book it is just like Joe himself is sat next to you reading through his journey of the boxing world from start to finsh. I gaurentee this is one of the best books you ever buy!! It is definately one of mine and i believe it is now coming out in paperback with a full new chapter and 16 extra pages of pictures. Brilliant A++++++
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2006
An absolutely brilliant book and fantastic pictures! One of the best I have read in a long time. This is a book where you just have to read it in one sitting as it will keep you gripped from the first page to the very last. Such an honest account of his life as a fighter and a gentleman to say the least. A great read for anyone whether you're a boxing fan or not and I will definately be recommending this book to many!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2005
More than just a story about some boxer who hit the ropes, cracking story of how it can all go wrong, with the forward by Mike Tyson this book will be up there with the best sellers at xmas.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2006
Excellent book. A must read a true story about a real fighter not just in the ring but in life itself. Even if you are not a boxing fan this is a great book 10 out of 10.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2006
A very entertaining read that is hard to put down. Provides readers with a different side of Mike Tyson that the media choses not to show
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)