Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 years & it still hurts.
Cass and Andy N have moved the goal posts in this release, out goes the street clashes on England's back streets between the leagues top football gangs and instead we get refreshing but shocking tales of following the national side.

"the Ceasars of Rome would have turned in their graves had they had to behold the spectacle of a blanket of visiting armies...
Published on 7 July 2006 by StCrispin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 30 Years of hurt
Celebrity hooligan Cass Pennant back in again! Can he give up now please? This book is interesting, but some of its a complete rubbish. The usual Villa 'nf sympathisers' to complete the set. Little more than average firms trying to give it large and soak up some glory they never had
Published on 10 Sep 2011 by Alex


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 years & it still hurts., 7 July 2006
By 
StCrispin (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 30 Years of Hurt: A History of England's Hooligan Army (Hardcover)
Cass and Andy N have moved the goal posts in this release, out goes the street clashes on England's back streets between the leagues top football gangs and instead we get refreshing but shocking tales of following the national side.

"the Ceasars of Rome would have turned in their graves had they had to behold the spectacle of a blanket of visiting armies banners hanging on the walls of such hallowed ground" - Italy 97.

This book has it all from Scotland wrecking Wembley to the destruction of the German football machine in Munich 2001 and still more...miss this and you miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Credit where credit is due........., 11 July 2006
This review is from: 30 Years of Hurt: A History of England's Hooligan Army (Hardcover)
.....here is a book on the subject actually worth reading more than once!!

There are a number of 'hoolie' books that have been written over the past few years some of which are run of the mill, some are above average and a very few are pure class....this book comes in the latter category.

To me, this is more than just a 'hoolie' book......it's a statement of FACT!!

For years, normal people have been asking various questions like 'why does this happen?' This book will go some way to explaining that, and other, questions.

It tells tales of national pride, friendship and solidarity. It also proves that it's NOT just the football that matters to the 'fan' but comradeship, adventure and the buzz!!

It also goes to prove that bonds of frienship can bloom in the strangest of circumstances and that some rivalries can NEVER die, no matter what is going on.

A top read and goes into my top 5 of this genre of book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 30 Years of hurt, 10 Sep 2011
Celebrity hooligan Cass Pennant back in again! Can he give up now please? This book is interesting, but some of its a complete rubbish. The usual Villa 'nf sympathisers' to complete the set. Little more than average firms trying to give it large and soak up some glory they never had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality account of the best years of our lives!, 17 Dec 2007
30 Years of Hurt was 30 years of pleasure to most of us now going through a mid life crisis, no longer able to fit in our Lois jeans and more likely to be seen in an M&S jumper than a Lacoste roll neck snatched from a sports shop in Luxemborg or Paris in the early 80's!
This book brought back so many memories it was unreal, I was at many of the games mentioned and Nicholls managed to rewrite lads accounts so well it was like being taken back there with Dr Who in his Tardis.
A top book, buy it, and cherish it as we will never see times like that again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the Ingerland band, 3 July 2006
By 
This review is from: 30 Years of Hurt: A History of England's Hooligan Army (Hardcover)
While there has been a glut of 'hooli' books on the market recently very few have touched on the International scene. That is until now, Thirty Years of hurt has the stories of years of what it meant following the English team abroad. Those featured in the book are not those who were happy to throw around white plastic chairs in the town square chanting 'Inger-laand' these boys are the real McCoy, and whether you like what they have to say or not their tales are compeling. This is a great book which is gritty and true well worth getting, of course being about fortunes of the England team an added bonus for the reader, no penalty shoot out at the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a eye opener, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book about the English problem,you can understand why it happened and governments could not,goes through all the glory year's of hooliganism,a interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 9 April 2013
By 
Mr. S. Ablett (u k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Years of Hurt: A History of England's Hooligan Army (Hardcover)
i enjoyed reading this book it was well presented by various groups of supporters and how police treated england fans in differant countries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooligans forever, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very, very interesting book and presents a remarkable casual culture of hooliganism and violence! One of my favorite books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 16 Aug 2010
Some brilliant stories from the days when following England was a ocupational hazard and didn't involve getting your face. Some top faces tell how following England back in the day, you either had to be very brave or insane, or both!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A LOT OFF HONEST STORIES WENT INTO THIS BOOK, 8 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: 30 Years of Hurt: A History of England's Hooligan Army (Hardcover)
Right from the start I enjoyed this book, first thing I noticed was that it was a quality book and wasnt rushed. I have been around the scene since the late 70s and I found this book was a much more honest lads book compared to a lot of the new books out today. Worth getting. Annis Abraham Jnr, Author of 5 books including Diary of The Real Soul Crew and Diary of the Soul Crew "2".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

30 Years of Hurt: A History of England's Hooligan Army
30 Years of Hurt: A History of England's Hooligan Army by Andy Nicholls (Hardcover - 8 Jun 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews