Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hydroponics indoor horticulture
I do not readily write reviews but when so blatant a negative review is left by one author putting down another I thought I would readdress the balance.

Hydroponics Indoor Horticulture is possibly the most comprehensive indoor hydroponics grow book that has ever been written. 5 star recommendation!

This chap not only knows his stuff.... he does it...
Published on 25 Mar 2009 by Tintin

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great if you want to grow "high energy plants"
The book is very well presented, the typography is clear and the illustrations good. Unfortunately it is let down by poor editing, with many sentences repeated.

I bought the book hoping to figure out how to grow tomatoes hydroponically in a green house and although I have learned a fair bit about hydroponics, I still don't have the knowledge to do this. If you...
Published on 14 July 2009 by lambethboy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hydroponics indoor horticulture, 25 Mar 2009
This review is from: Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture (Paperback)
I do not readily write reviews but when so blatant a negative review is left by one author putting down another I thought I would readdress the balance.

Hydroponics Indoor Horticulture is possibly the most comprehensive indoor hydroponics grow book that has ever been written. 5 star recommendation!

This chap not only knows his stuff.... he does it for the University of London see Medical Marijuana - Cannabis Cultivation his epic work of 500 pages full colour, this also gets 5 stars as well.

Keep up the good work Mr Winterborne and march on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great if you want to grow "high energy plants", 14 July 2009
This review is from: Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture (Paperback)
The book is very well presented, the typography is clear and the illustrations good. Unfortunately it is let down by poor editing, with many sentences repeated.

I bought the book hoping to figure out how to grow tomatoes hydroponically in a green house and although I have learned a fair bit about hydroponics, I still don't have the knowledge to do this. If you want to grow "high energy plants" in a stealthy grow room somewhere in your house, this is the book for you. Otherwise, it is rather too limited in aims to be of universal use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hydroponics indoor horticulture, 9 Mar 2010
This review is from: Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture (Paperback)
I purchased the book a while back and have read it from cover to cover. Overall I'd definitely recommend it as a comprehensive guide to hydroponic gardening. While some of the other comments made in reviews as to repetition and unnecessary diagrams are in my opinion valid, one should not let this detract from the usefulness of this book.

A strong example I feel I can give of this utility is the very comprehensive sections on nutrient deficiencies and pests. This is the only book I have come across that enables one to easily troubleshoot these problems using clear descriptions and colour photos.

I eagerly await a condensed second edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Repetition is the key to learning, 26 Jun 2011
This review is from: Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture (Paperback)
As another ill informed reviewer states, this book repeats information sometimes in three or four different formats. Whilst some people may be be able to process all information at first glance and in any format, for most of us this is not the case. This is a study of indoor horticulture using a hydroponics system, the author has worked with London University in the field of medicinal plants grown with hydroponics. This is not a janet and john abc level book. If you bother to absorb the information you'll have a very solid understanding of hydroponics and avoid many of the common misconceptions associated with this form of cultivation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chilli grower, 25 Mar 2009
This review is from: Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture (Paperback)
i have recently started growing chillis in my basement and was advised by a friend to buy this book on hydroponics.my plan was to grow chillis hydroponically and having already some knowledge on the subject decided that this book may well be worth a read.i read it from cover to cover and found it quite an easy read all in all.i t was easy to navigate through the different aspects of hydroponics and i would definitely recommend this book to other growers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hydroponics - Indoor Horticulture, 31 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture (Paperback)
"Hydroponics - Indoor Horticulture" covers most topics that the indoor grower needs to know about, badly.

Its 110,000 words could be greatly reduced if the editing were properly attended to. It is poorly written and very repetetive. Information is put to you at least twice or indeed, in two or even three ways. Did I say that it was repetetive? Get used to it!

The information is there however, if you can sift it out before you suffer a major nose bleed!

The 300 odd diagrams are pretty but some are so basic that they are pointless, whilst others could do with some explanation as they are meaningless. Pretty pictures do not make a good book!

In short, I bought this book and I now wish that I'd bought a different one instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hydroponics - Indoor Horticulture., 22 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture (Paperback)
Hydroponics - Indoor Horticulture represents an educational, in-depth, up-to-date, indoor horticultural growers guide that covers all principles of indoor hydroponic horticulture and gardening. This book contains 110,000 words, with over 300 diagrams, pictures, illustrations, graphs, tables, 3 dimensional CAD renderings, and is printed in full colour.
Hydroponics - Indoor Horticulture examines, explores, dissects and presents a fully comprehensive step by step growers guide, relating to all and every aspect of indoor hydroponic horticulture, with complete chapters on plant biology, propagation, hydroponic systems, nutrients, oxygen, carbon dioxide enrichment, pH, biological pest control, fungi/disease, cuttings/clones, pruning/training, breeding, harvesting, equipment, grow rooms, a full history of hydroponics, and more.

This book goes further than any indoor growers guide has gone before, presented in full colour with 3 dimensional CAD renderings. Hydroponics - Indoor Horticulture quite simply outclasses any other book on the subject... In terms of literal content, quantity, quality and presentation, no other indoor horticulture growers guide can compete, let alone compare.

Do you want to grow like a pro? This book will show you how!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you think you are an expert it probaly means you aren't, 27 Feb 2014
By 
C. Wheeler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture (Paperback)
I wonder whether some of those who have reviewed this book have actually read it. I have and as an industrial chemist of 40years experience, albeit in a different industry I found it refreshing to read the rationale for the purpose of the various micronutrients and the reasoning behind why different types of hydroponic systems are easier for the novice indoor gardener. Much of this detail is not applicable to out door gardening, so without this book I doubt I would have had much success. I dare say those dismissing the significance of this detail will have issues they could have avoided. I like the conversational style it is written in, which I thought made the science easier to read, but then I am a chemist and would have been happy for more technical detail, which I think would make most hydroponists put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Specialised "herbs" growing only!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture (Paperback)
I'm interested in hydroponics and was looking for an in depth guide to the different systems and how to use them properly. On reading this it soon became obvious that this is a how-to grow guide for people with zero horticultural experience about to grow a certain... "specialist" herb, shall we say. Unfortunately for me, my interest in herbs is limited to basil and the like.

So, the explanation of the different systems is cursory and taught me nothing that I hadn't already read on the interweb. Likewise, the best methods of introducing (say) propagated lettuce into an NFT system are no-where to be found. There is masses of information about cloning from "mother" plants and a whole section about the best methods of drying your crop and maintaining the best aroma and potency. Not something that I'll need with the lettuce.

This is a self-published book. Good luck to the author, etc. but it would have benefitted from some advice from people with a bit more experience. Proof reading would have been nice. A font that someone over the age of 45 could see without the help of a magnifying glass would have been good. Using an appropriate binding method would have been good for a £25 book. This is EVA bound with a rock hard spine, so forget about opening it flat when you're trying to read. It should have been PUR bound at the least (it wouldn't have cost hardly any more at a competent printer) and preferably with a detached spine so that it opens nice and flat.

So, in summary. It's probably very good if you are starting out on a life of outlaw horticulture, but a bit rubbish otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great book, but other useful resources are available, 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture (Paperback)
A great book but i have to agree with the previous posts, the editing is quite poor. It reminds me of a book by Jorge Cervantes, that too repeats itself quite frequently.
Still well worth a read, I own a shop and we're following this book to grow tomatoes and roses using hydroponic methods, with great results! I'd say it's an 8/10 but don't expect to be a pro gardener after reading one book! Hope you enjoy it, <a href="[...]">CultiM8</a>Beginning Hydroponics: Soilless Gardening - a Beginner's Guide to Growing Vegetables, House Plants, Flowers and Herbs without Soil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture
Hydroponics: Indoor Horticulture by Jeffrey Winterborne (Paperback - 19 Dec 2005)
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews