Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Nostalgia Book
This is a superb book, especially if you grew up in the 50s / 60s as I did: you will recognise most of these lorries.

Tony Bryer (previous review) is right and gives a good overall description: one page or so summary of history of each make, and then lots of pictorials based on sales literature of the time, supplemented by photos where necessary...
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Alan Haine

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars British Lorries
I bought this a present for my eldest son, who mad on Trucks. He has enjoyed reading the book and is now considering going to Classic Truck shows on a regular basis.
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by Geraint James Donnell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Nostalgia Book, 16 Oct 2010
This review is from: British Lorries 1945-1965 (Hardcover)
This is a superb book, especially if you grew up in the 50s / 60s as I did: you will recognise most of these lorries.

Tony Bryer (previous review) is right and gives a good overall description: one page or so summary of history of each make, and then lots of pictorials based on sales literature of the time, supplemented by photos where necessary.

The commentary is good, the author contradicting the wilder sales pitches in an informative way.

One caveat: the book focusses on British commercial Lorries (including those for export), rather than military.

I'm really glad I bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step back in time, 3 Aug 2010
By 
Tony Bryer (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Lorries 1945-1965 (Hardcover)
This is a great book - lively presentation and good quality paper. 22 different makes are covered, AEC to Vulcan. The author provides a brief background and history of each company, then lets hundreds of pictures and other extracts from contemporary marketing literature tell the story. Trace the transition from resurrected pre-war designs to the AEC Mercury and Bedford TK which still look good today. Remind yourself of the days when British manufacturing could deliver anything from a Scammell Scarab to the Thornycroft Mighty Antar. Those were the days; buy this book and relive them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Lorries 1945-1965 (Hardcover)
My uncle loved it , he is 82 and worked on most of these trucks. great pictures and info .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very impressive book, 4 Jun 2012
This review is from: British Lorries 1945-1965 (Hardcover)
To anyone into trucks this is a must have book to add to your collection, great layout, it would be good if a second book to follow on was published as I do think that the 70s and 80s was a time of many changes to the british truck market highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars British Lorries, 1 Jan 2011
By 
Geraint James Donnell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Lorries 1945-1965 (Hardcover)
I bought this a present for my eldest son, who mad on Trucks. He has enjoyed reading the book and is now considering going to Classic Truck shows on a regular basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Lorries 1945-1965
British Lorries 1945-1965 by Rinsey Mills (Hardcover - 18 May 2006)
27.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews