Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book
You will find yourself running around the garden chasing bees book in hand. Identificaton is not easy but this book tells you all you need to know about the range of species you are likely to encounter.
Published on 1 Sep 2005 by amadou

versus
45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Bumblee identification
Revised Edition

The Book claims to describe 25 species, but only 23 species are described in detail. For each species the following information is provided: colour photograph of male and female in natural habitat, colour code of stripes for identification, appearance, variability, similar species, distribution and biology, nests, flower visits, icons for...
Published on 18 Jun 2011 by Harry E. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, 1 Sep 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You will find yourself running around the garden chasing bees book in hand. Identificaton is not easy but this book tells you all you need to know about the range of species you are likely to encounter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very informative easy to follow guide, 6 April 2005
This guide informs you with a litle background on bubmlebees and their life history as well as the cuckoo bumblebee.
It tells you how to distinguish the true bumblebee from the cuckoo bumblebee and males from females.
There is 22 species described in total. 16 true bumblebees and 6 cuckoo bumblebees.
The color pattern cross reference chart together with the comments and then the information on the species specific pages gives you a good chance to make a right identification of the most species. It works well and is very fast after you've learn't it.
Every species has its own page where there are fotos of both the male and female and their different color pattern on thorax and abdomen. Symboles shows you in which habitat it thrive, when they emerged (or can be seen), the head shape and an distribution map. Then you can read more on how it looks, color variations, similar species and how to distinguish them, distribution, where they nest and on which flower they feed.
The color fotos are nice but don't help you much with the identification. I like drawings better. There is no key either but the cross reference table works fine with bumblebees.
In the end there are also how to promote the bumblebee in your garden with plants they like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Bumblee identification, 18 Jun 2011
By 
Harry E. Clarke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Bumblebees of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Revised Edition

The Book claims to describe 25 species, but only 23 species are described in detail. For each species the following information is provided: colour photograph of male and female in natural habitat, colour code of stripes for identification, appearance, variability, similar species, distribution and biology, nests, flower visits, icons for habitats, flight times for males and females, distribution map, and face size.
The contents of the book are (main headings only):
9 Introduction
13 Life History
27 Identifying Bumblebees
42 Quick Identification Chart
44 Photographs and species account
91 Gardening and bumblebees
97 Going Further
105 Table of names for bumblebee species
107 Useful addresses
108 Further reading

There are a number of disappoints with the book
1) No index - this is a serious omission by the publishers. The only way to find a specific species is to go the quick identification chart, or to search through the book.
2) English names are not with each species, but contained in a table towards the rear of the book. However, don't expect to find the "Tree Bumblebee" as you'll need to look elsewhere to find the Latin name.
3) Size range is not given for Queens, workers and males
4) Photographs - these could be better for identification purposes, as they are all feeding. The Field Studies Council produce better photographs of displayed specimens. Consequently identification has to be mainly by the colour codes.
5) Binding - the book is printed on thick paper, which does not make for easy searching. The cover is thin card with no plastic cover, hence the cover is likely to get damaged quickly, especially if taken into the field.
6) Distribution maps are very coarse for each species. The Natural History website provides far more detailed maps at only a fraction larger.
7) The graphics are too large, it would have been better to have smaller graphics, better descriptions, and a slightly larger distribution map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive guide, 30 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good book for experts and novices (like me!). Easy to understand and will definetly increase your knowledge of the humble bumble bee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the bumblebee enthusiast, 12 Feb 2010
By 
A. Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Field Guide to the Bumblebees of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Updates to the second edition include: a new species account for the soon-to-be-reintroduced Bombus subterraneus; the latest distribution maps; updated Conservation Action section, and revised Quick Identification Chart. A superb little book at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good identification guide and beautiful pictures, 11 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Bumblebees of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I'm only a beginner when it comes to bumblebees. I'm confident though that this book, which combines a quick id chart with colour photographs of both sexes of all 25 species I'll be able to identify them. It also mentions the flowers or flower families a particular species would visit and gives simple advice as to how to attract them to your garden. Looking forward to February already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Researching bees, 3 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Bumblebees of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
With our population of species of bees disappearing in our environment, we need to know how important bees and other pollinating creatures are. Not many people know how dependant we are on these insects for our life. Without them, it has been noted that within a decade, humanity will be dying of stavation. This book gives information about the value of bees in our environment and is easy to understand. It is handy for when you go for walks and the more we can teach our youngsters and adults about their true worth, the better for us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bee Guide, 29 July 2010
By 
MICHAEL PARKS "mikeupd" (Leeds, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Field Guide to the Bumblebees of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Pity the spine is not spiral wire bound as the book will not lay flat.
Not easy to use in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking the code, 10 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Bumblebees of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
A super little book. I hadn't realised just how easy it is to identify the different types of bumblebee. It's all in the stripes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything a guidebook should bee..., 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: Field Guide to the Bumblebees of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
The "ready reckoner" pages are an excellent idea - very user friendly.
I bought this because I am interested in reporting bee sightings to the BTO, but I didn't have a clue what the different types of bee were. There is very little good info on the web on this subject. Now I am identifying our own garden species with confidence, and have helped friends to identify theirs.
The photos are excellent - anyone who has ever tried to capture these little beauties on camera will know how difficult this can bee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Field Guide to the Bumblebees of Great Britain and Ireland
Field Guide to the Bumblebees of Great Britain and Ireland by Martin Jenner (Paperback - Sep 2009)
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews