Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paganism Gets Real!
Hooray! A practical book on a modern Pagan path that isn't fluffy, flaky or phoney. Galdrbok is the real deal: authentic North European Paganism for the 21st century. Better yet, it's designed as a complete course, guiding you from the basics of cosmology, through rune-wisdom to the highest branches of the World Tree. Rooted in a deep understanding of the old Norse,...
Published on 13 April 2010 by Greywolf

versus
16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It might be fun but its not Heathenism
At face value, with it's glowing recommendations from Profs Ronald Hutton and Brian Bates, this book should be a good read. Indeed its very title draws you to it in the belief that it will reveal new insights into Germanic Heathenism. In reality it plainly does not and is typical of a number of other similar publications written by `New Agers' who now find this...
Published on 8 Sep 2007 by Cynewulf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paganism Gets Real!, 13 April 2010
By 
Greywolf (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Hooray! A practical book on a modern Pagan path that isn't fluffy, flaky or phoney. Galdrbok is the real deal: authentic North European Paganism for the 21st century. Better yet, it's designed as a complete course, guiding you from the basics of cosmology, through rune-wisdom to the highest branches of the World Tree. Rooted in a deep understanding of the old Norse, Icelandic and Anglo-Saxon source material, the authors weave these into a convincing, living, active, animistic, magical, shamanic whole. Unlike most supposedly practical books on Paganism, this one actually holds out the possibility that, if you follow its' course, you will be genuinely transformed by the experience.
In setting out a Pagan path with such sparkling clarity, Galdrbok is, in my opinion, the best 'how to' book on any Pagan path I've ever read. I've been collecting, and attempting to use, books on the occult for forty years and my library holds some 2,000 titles on Druidry, Wicca, Heathenism, ritual magic, Earth Mysteries, etc., so I know whereof I speak. As a practical guide, Galdrbok outstrips them all. Clearly, intelligently written by two practitioners whose obvious experience in working with the material themselves over many years shines through on every page. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb read, 12 Oct 2008
I took this book on some time ago now and can not stress the profound and most amazing journey I have been on since. Galdrbok demonstrates to me deep development and experience of the authors who clearly engage in a practical, pragmatic and developed practice of shamanism. Over time I have consistently referred back to these texts for guidance and structure in developing a wholesome practice that I would strongly recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Other reviews, 3 Jan 2008
By 
R. Wallis (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Prospective readers might be interested in the following reviews submitted to the publisher:

"[A] a magnificent book on practical rune magick. The Galdrbok is a work of art. It blends high-quality scholarly research with the pragmatic approach required to make things work. Out of the union emerges something new. It could be you...When we wish to imbue a fragmentary tradition with new life we have to fill in the gaps to make it work. Johnson and Wallis have done so, and unlike many other writers, they give their sources and state in plain words when they add something. What emerges is a very thorough introduction to practical rune magic and Germanic paganism. The work is free of nationalism, sloppy research and the nutty lore of Guido List. It describes techniques you can use to find your own way to the runes. The format is highly practical, and the emphasis is on things you can do. Where theory is involved, it is of an excellent scholarly quality (meaning: you can read it) and presented in a relaxed, undogmatic way...I wish there were more books on pagan religion like this.

- Jan Fries, author of Visual Magick: A Manual of Freestyle Shamanism and Helrunar: A Manual of Rune Magick

"In Galdrbok past meets present and scholarship meets shamanism. Quite simply
the most important book on contemporary heathen ritual and one that is
destined to have a major and lasting impact on the future of the northern
revival"

Richard Rudgeley, author of The Alchemy of Culture: Intoxicants in Society, The Lost Civilisations of the Stone Age, Encyclopedia of Psychoactive Substances and Pagan Resurrection

"I finished Galdrbok yesterday...It's the best 'how to' book on contemporary Paganism I've ever read. I'm hugely impressed and will be writing the most glowing review. Wonderful stuff. You've raised the bar for the rest of us...there's really nothing out there so far that comes close.

- Philip Shallcrass (Grae Wulf), author of The Piaktus Guide to Druidry and editor of The Druid's Voice

"The Galdrbok is inspiring, thought provoking and deeply rooted in the spiritual traditions of our germanic ancestors. A must-read for all those who know the value of a well researched text that dares to put into plain language what others shroud in unneccessary mystery"

- Hans Stucken, author of Das Seidhr Handbuch and co-founder of the German Seidhfeuer network.

"I like this book enormously. Written in what feels to me a very male Heathen way (clear, down to earth, without unnecessary creativity or emotion), the way in which the authors present their religious/spiritual path is beautiful practical. Devoid of poetic fluff, they manage to explain their vision as a rational and utilitarian system, and one that can guide the reader into a state of wakeful power that remains essentially grounded. Their fully animistic and intelligent perspective is of that consciously non-dualistic vision that warms my heart, giving me faith and courage in the future of British Paganism...This book will make a worthy addition to your source-spring of inspiration"

- Emma Restall Orr, The Druid Network
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book., 26 Sep 2005
This is an excellent, well thought out book providing the reader with an accessible and practical guide to Heathen Shamanism and magic.
Galdrbok caters for both the beginner and experienced practitioner of magic and runecraft, providing a practical, systematic approach to the subject, whilst leaving plenty of room for the creativity of the individual practitioner(s).
Equally impressive (and useful) is the extensive bibliography and reference section at the back of the book.
A must for anyone interested in (or currently involved with) the ancient spiritual/ religious practices of the Northern Tradition(s).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Gem, 28 Jun 2012
By 
Tyrone White "Orisa87" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galdrbok: Practical Heathen Runecraft, Shamanism and Magic (Hardcover)
When i first purchased this book it was a spur of the moment buy, i had a flick through and thought "ok this kinda rubbish" so i put the book down and continued on with my path, i came to the point where i began to work with the runes more closely and again my attention was drawn to this book, and it was then that i realized what a fantastic piece of work this book was.

It literally does what is says on the tin, or cover in this case, it has everything and more that an aspiring vitki would need to further there practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch, 2 July 2007
By 
R. ALLEN "RVA" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent book, rooted in experiential practice and an honest approach to 'tradition'. A must for those jaded by the predominant offerings on the market. Works well with Fries' 'Helrunar'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It might be fun but its not Heathenism, 8 Sep 2007
By 
At face value, with it's glowing recommendations from Profs Ronald Hutton and Brian Bates, this book should be a good read. Indeed its very title draws you to it in the belief that it will reveal new insights into Germanic Heathenism. In reality it plainly does not and is typical of a number of other similar publications written by `New Agers' who now find this subject fashionable. Most of the books of this ilk are influenced directly or indirectly by Eastern religion, Qabala, feminism and the musing of various fantasists like Robert Graves accompanied by large helpings of modern political correctness . To this is added a bit of creativity by the individual author(s) and we have a hotchpotch of personal preferences with a Heathen veneer.
Whilst I understandard the need for reconstruction to fill in large gaps in knowledge this is done with a mind on the prevailing wisdoms of the modern social order rather than by trying to understand the pre-Christian Northern Heathen mindset. What essentially emerges is what can be termed `modern attitudes in fancy dress`.
Right from the preface the authors make a point of nailing their colours to the mast of modern establishment thought and social agenda. There are a couple of denunciations of Nationalism combined with advice that there is no place for `right wing politics and `homophobia' within `the Runecraft we advocate' (Perhaps Roman historian Tacitus got it wrong when he claimed that the Heathen Germans punished sodomy by pressing the transgressors into bogs and in fact they exacted such punishment on homophobes, sexists and the like instead). In line with this the gods themselves get a new age make over. Thunor for instance, we are told, can be invoked to help find the martial spirit to fight `ignorance' and `negativity'. Presumably he can also be invoked to help in the fight against any modern heresy.
On the subject of gender relations they go even further, pushing the boundaries of modern thought by rather bizarrely aligning themselves with the thoughts of `feminist and `Queer theorist' Judith Butler in challenging the very basis of gender itself. `Galdrbok' we are told ''promotes equality between the genders we in the West know as `male' and `female'. Simplistic classifications which conflate sex and gender and rely on binary oppositions are a modern Western invention. Other cultures have different systems of classification, often involving three, four or more genders''. This is just a nonsense. Ethnic groups, from as far apart as Africa to South America, who have survived in to the modern age with essentially an ancient tribal structure intact, exhibit highly defined gender roles with each of the (two) sexes having its own rites of passage to adulthood. In addition the very concept of equality itself is erroneous in a Heathen setting. There is no equality in nature. It is a man made metaphysical construction . There is a concept in the monotheistic religions of an equality before god, but in Heathenism? I think not. The type of society that bred Germanic Heathenism was at the highest level controlled by a male warrior aristocracy and the lowest level fuelled by slaves. Those who transgressed the fundamental values of the society were liable to come to a very sticky end. The very attitudes of Heathenism prior to the Christian conversions just can not be equated to the cultural Marxist nonsense of the `Heathens against Hate' brigade that exists today.
Reading through the rest of the book you can detect some of the theories of the likes of Edred Thorsson are being used by the authors as a springboard for their own creativity. Using the 29 character Anglo Saxon Futhorc they break it down into three `Phases', each phase being assigned to one of the Norns and their aspects. Thus Runes 1 (Fe) to 13 (Eoh) form the Wyrd (past) phase, Runes 14 (Peorth) to 24 (Ethel) the Metod (Present) Phase and the five extra English runes the Skuld (future) phase. A bit of numerology mumbo jumbo and a not very convincing attempt to equate individual runes to aspects of Norse creation myth are thrown in for good measure. This is just pure invention and remind me of the musings contained in the book `Rune Games' written in the early 1980's by Marijane Osborn and Stella Longland. It's all just playing about with runes. .
In essence this book is about back projecting a preferred vision into the heathen past by people whose influences are far removed in spirit from original pre-Christian heathenism and says more about the hang ups of the present than it does about anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Galdrbok: Practical Heathen Runecraft, Shamanism and Magic
Galdrbok: Practical Heathen Runecraft, Shamanism and Magic by Robert J. Wallis (Hardcover - 21 Jun 2005)
Used & New from: £143.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews