Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding murder mystery
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A welcome departure from her usual present day whodunits, this historical mystery had me gripped. I know this sounds like a cliche, but I couldn't put it down!
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by Dr Mark Maudling

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Tudor murder mystery
Just finished this book and although quite enjoyable certainly not the best tudor murder mystery I have read. Interesting plot, but slow in places and a little fuffy. Not much substance and very easy to read. I found myself drifting away from the story and having to reread paragraphs I had missed.
If cheap on the Kindle I would probably read another book by the same...
Published 20 months ago by Vee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding murder mystery, 25 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Devil's Priest (Lady Katheryn Bulkeley Mystery) (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A welcome departure from her usual present day whodunits, this historical mystery had me gripped. I know this sounds like a cliche, but I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Vixx H "vixx811" (Cannock, Staffs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, it is slightly different from the other Kate Ellis books I've read before, where they mix modern day and history. This was set in the middle ages but was as compelling and gripping as a modern day mystery. Couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Devil's Priest, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've not read anything by this author before, but as I enjoyed this book I would be inclined to choose another book by her. A good story with enough detail to paint the picture but not so much that it takes you away from the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see a different main character, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The main character is a female which I found unusual for an historical "detective" story. I enjoyed the descriptions of Liverpool and I was interested to read about the way the ex-monastery staff had to find a living after the Dissolution. The story kept my interest and the characters were quite well developed. My test is whether I would buy another book by the author and the answer is yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Devil of a read, 27 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: The Devil's Priest (Hardcover)
A most enjoyable novel set in 16th Century Liverpool.
The atmospheric scenes are painted very well and the storyline is fascinating from beginning to end.Overall,a recommended must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Tudor murder mystery, 7 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished this book and although quite enjoyable certainly not the best tudor murder mystery I have read. Interesting plot, but slow in places and a little fuffy. Not much substance and very easy to read. I found myself drifting away from the story and having to reread paragraphs I had missed.
If cheap on the Kindle I would probably read another book by the same author just to see what the future holds for the main character.
If the book costs less than a pound to buy give it a go, but don't waste lots of money on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not her best book, 29 Aug 2009
By 
G. Holborn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Priest (Lady Katheryn Bulkeley Mystery) (Paperback)
Having enjoyed all Kate Ellis's other books, I was disappointed with this one. The problem with many detective-style books is how can the amateur detective get all the information to crack the crime? The heroine in this book, Lady Katheryn a 15th century ex-abbess, was not at all convincing. Kate Ellis has written most of her books with a policeman doing the detecting - a much better idea for her to work with - and much better books altogether. See The Merchant's House (The Wesley Peterson Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Devil's Priest, 15 Nov 2011
I picked up one of Kate Ellis's books a few years ago and enjoyed it so much I looked for all her previous books. I have them all and enjoyed each and everyone of them. I can't even say which was my favorite. I love her style of writing, the way she puts two stories in one. I am looking forward to her new book out in February.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Kate Ellis, she is an amazing writer, her books get you hooked in and you fine them hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a relaxed mystery, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good read if you dont want to concentrate to hard and just want a nice easy no brainer read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d4c144)

This product

The Devil's Priest (Lady Katheryn Bulkeley Mystery)
The Devil's Priest (Lady Katheryn Bulkeley Mystery) by Kate Ellis (Paperback - 1 Aug 2006)
Used & New from: 0.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews