Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2007
Richard Pryor is one of my fav actors and stand up comics ever so i had to get this book and wow i knew richard Pryor had a hard life growing up and his battle with drugs and stuff but readin this book i was so shocked to how hard it really was for him, Rape , Drugs , Women and beatings. You could make a movie on the life of Richard Pryor.

This is a book well worth getting and is such a good read, no matter how hard the guys life was he always found a way to make funny out of things and to to make others laugh, this is a amazing book about a amazin guy.

Once i started to read this book i found it hard to put down.

This book is a must for all Richard pyor fan.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2009
That's how I felt, that this book barely skimmed the surface.

For a legend like Richard Pryor, you expect an autobiography to be slightly longer than 270 (dpending on which version you read) pages. His life was as massive as he is in character yet I felt that a lot more detail could have been gone into.
A quick example, the epilogue by Jennifer hints at problems encountered through Richard's children but nothing more is mentioned, an autobiography should have it all!

A good book, but could have been great, like the man!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2005
The story of Richard Pryors life in his own words. Features excepts from his live shows, although these do loose something as they are skits that were not designed to be read, however it does draw focus on how much of Pryors comedy was taken from his life. This is man who has lived life to the full.
If you are familiar with Pryors popular film work, buy the book it will maybe encourage you to venture further into his live shows. I have heard people say Pryors comedy was all about being a black man, it's not it's about being a man.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Sometimes the brightest stars have in turn have the darkest shade, l think Rich is the greatest Comedian as I believe he had an honesty at times on stage rarely produced by anyone else.

But due to the Times back then, (No Internet, camera phones, or social media) We never really saw behind the show into the interesting real life journey or side actions that were part of his life,
Pryor Convictions tells his story and all the little things that make up who they are.
This book also explains how Some wrongs he committed ironically helped him be so good on Stage.
It also bravely tells us some Wrongs we never knew otherwise.

Some boring Celebrities Unnecessarily spin their autobiographies out into a series of books that are slow and dull.
However Rich is One of few celebrities I feel I could have easily read a whole autobiographical series from.
Pryor Convictions was great, and left me wanting to hear even more from Rich (which is the best *criticism something can receive)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
From start to finish this book is a joy to read. I didn't know very much about Richard before the book but he gives an honest account of his life which is filled with humor, tragedy, womanizing, drugs, pain and addiction. From the get go its no wonder he turned out the way he did, raised in a brothel by his grandmother and using his pain as theme a tool to convey humor. As his life spirals out of control you feel sorry for him, but at the same time he brings a lot on himself.

If you like his comedy, you'll love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
I've had this book since its release and am unsure why its like £80 new. Anyway it is a great insight into the Richard Pryor's life, he leaves nothing out either, everything from his upbringing to the drinks, women and everything in between.

I would def recommend to any Richard Pryor fan!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
This is not a laugh-a-minute read, but there are a few good jokes stolen from his stand-up performances worked in. His life was pretty mad too, he reveals some dark and intimate things that make this autobiography one of the better ones
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
I havent read a book in over 10yrs as i just dont have the time. However this (& his dvds) is what i chose to bring me back to lieterature & im pleased i did. A funny & touching account of his life..Arrived quickly & was well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
For anyone who has watched Richard Pryors stand up act you will already know what happens in the book
There are no new revelations or stories you haven't heard before, but if you want a recap this is a good way to do it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Hilarious and sad all at same time. Loved this book very sad and touching but made me laugh out loud too. Good condition and came quick. Read in a week. Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)