Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Christmas present
My son buys me a copy of the Good Hotel Guide every year as a Christmas present, and this year's edition is the best I've seen yet. I have already spent many hours looking through the photos and am looking forward to planning stays during the year to come. I've used the Good Hotel Guide for many years, and it never lets me down. I don't like all these chain hotels, so...
Published on 5 Jan. 2012 by N5girl

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware
This book is a real mixture of good and bad. I have stayed in at least ten of the "recommended" hotels and can only say the results were mediocre at best. I cannot understand how the quality varies so wildly from the description in the book. In one instance the book describes "great views from every room" we had a view of the rear of the kitchen building. The staff coming...
Published on 27 Oct. 2011 by Fiona


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Christmas present, 5 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Good Hotel Guide 2012: Great Britain & Ireland (Paperback)
My son buys me a copy of the Good Hotel Guide every year as a Christmas present, and this year's edition is the best I've seen yet. I have already spent many hours looking through the photos and am looking forward to planning stays during the year to come. I've used the Good Hotel Guide for many years, and it never lets me down. I don't like all these chain hotels, so it's a relief to find a book that champions smaller places to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great guide...., 6 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Good Hotel Guide 2012: Great Britain & Ireland (Paperback)
Sorry that it has taken us so long to find this really good guide. This will be our guide to future stays away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good guide if you want to stay somewhere posh, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
Kathi Wyldeck - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Hotel Guide 2012: Great Britain & Ireland (Paperback)
This is a very good and well organised guide to hotels around the British Isles. Unfortunately, I wasn't looking for such upmarket accommodation, so the book has been wasted on me, but for those who want a thorough guide to the posh hotels of Britain and Ireland, then this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always a good read, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. Peter Rust (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Hotel Guide 2012: Great Britain & Ireland (Paperback)
I get a new edition of this book most years and enjoy the different styles of the reviews.

It helps me to make elaborate plans for tours which may or may not happen, but are very enjoyable dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, 27 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Good Hotel Guide 2012: Great Britain & Ireland (Paperback)
This book is a real mixture of good and bad. I have stayed in at least ten of the "recommended" hotels and can only say the results were mediocre at best. I cannot understand how the quality varies so wildly from the description in the book. In one instance the book describes "great views from every room" we had a view of the rear of the kitchen building. The staff coming and going for their cigarette breaks - how romantic! In another instance we were promised "unusually spacious rooms" only to be met by what only can be described as a compact room at best.

I wonder if every hotel is truly visited by the inspectors as it is claimed - from hard experience and lots of wasted money the AA guide is a much safer bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Hotel Guide 2012, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Hotel Guide 2012: Great Britain & Ireland (Paperback)
Although a year old was quite up-to-date enough for what I needed. Fantastic value! Bought as "used" - but seemed brand new. Thanks for the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Hotel Guide 2012: Great Britain & Ireland
The Good Hotel Guide 2012: Great Britain & Ireland by Desmond Balmer (Paperback - 3 Oct. 2011)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews