Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate, 16 Dec 2007
This review is from: On Cue: The Complete Guide to Pool (Paperback)
So refreshing to finally find a book about pool written by someone who not only comes across as being really knowledgeable about the game but who also knows how to write about it in an engaging style.

An amazing amount of material is included both on how to play the game and the history of cue sports. I particularly enjoyed reading the chapter on how to win which contains some interesting stuff on the psychology of sport which I had not come across before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!!!, 19 July 2007
By 
This review is from: On Cue: The Complete Guide to Pool (Paperback)
I got this book a few weeks ago and haven't been able to put it down!! It has everything that a pool player could be interested in from beginner level to advanced. I have been playing for many years and fyet ound a lot of exercises I have enjoyed trying out and perfecting! This book has the history of the game, coaching to help you improve, trick-shots and much more. It is very well laid out and easy to read. Really enjoying it and would very much recommend it to any pool enthusiasts out there!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good basis if your new to pool, 20 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: On Cue: The Complete Guide to Pool (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book after looking for a good book on pool for a while now. This is a rather basic book if you have been playing the sport properly for a team or what not for a while so you shouldn't find much new in here which was a disappointment because i was looking to further my game but ended up over analysing my already pretty decent game and kind of messing it up. That said it is a good book for new players and provides lots of detail and good insight into controlling the white ball, cueing, timing, stance etc. The book even includes a few pages of trick shots too to impress your mates. Overall a good, well organised book thats not going to add anything to your game but is great for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a good book on ENGLISH pool!!, 21 Nov 2007
This review is from: On Cue: The Complete Guide to Pool (Paperback)
Well worth getting, really detailed & surprising things even for a decent player to learn from!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on 8 ball pool, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Cue: The Complete Guide to Pool (Paperback)
Highly recommend this book. Read all chapters and best book by a mile for UK 8 ball players as it covers advanced play as well as the beginners side and history of the game. Very comprehensive. As a regular league player, the author does seem to favour simple positioning for long shots - sign of a snooker player - rather than using the cushions, stun screw and extreme side more - but that's personal opinion. I'd also say that this book, along with all others, never has a chapter on stun screwing back 1-4 inches on long shots - one of the bread and butter shots in a clearance, along with others, that most beginners never think about or use until much later in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted to know about pool, 8 Jan 2008
By 
D. D. Pitre (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Cue: The Complete Guide to Pool (Paperback)
What a fantastic book this is. It covers everything I always wanted to know about pool, it even covers how to change a cue tip and general guidance on what type of cue to buy. To be honest it could of gone into alot more detail in places but it covers all subjects about posisioning and how to apply spin to a ball. it has a nice section on rules so you can compare the different rules most widely used and has a very nice section on trick shot so you can impress your friends..

Best book I have ever bought on the subject of pool and would love to see one snooker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All encompassing book, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Cue: The Complete Guide to Pool (Paperback)
All encompassing book, very good with lots of instruction, very easy to follow and read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Cue: The Complete Guide to Pool
On Cue: The Complete Guide to Pool by Mark Shepherd (Paperback - 1 July 2007)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews