Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional
This man is a genius. The book and the life it describes are certainly the most important and interesting things that have ever happened. In addition to being a genius he is also a hero. He is so tough that he can fight anyone or any number of people and win. It is also true to say that neither him or his gang ever kicked anyone in the head after they had already been...
Published on 16 Dec 2005

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete waste of time
I used to be in Forests Mad Squad from 1976. I'm 50 now. I wouldn't ever consider writing about a period of my life where I was a complete idiot. There's no glory in being a hooligan. Too many of these purile books around by jerks who havn't grown up.
Published on 2 Oct 2008 by Ja Holt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete waste of time, 2 Oct 2008
By 
Ja Holt (nottingham - england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I used to be in Forests Mad Squad from 1976. I'm 50 now. I wouldn't ever consider writing about a period of my life where I was a complete idiot. There's no glory in being a hooligan. Too many of these purile books around by jerks who havn't grown up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inside the Forest Executive Crew, 27 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This must rate as the worst hooligan book ever written. I have read over 20 books and have every legitimate DVD and video on this subject. Including the BBC documentaries.

Add to this that I have stood in the 'A Block' at Forest having lived in Nottingham for over 15 years, and seen many battes at Villa Park, where I saw my first introduction to this social phenomenon.

After an excellent start recounting a miscreant upbringing in Nottingham, the book deterioarates into a collection of anecdotal statements. Many of which give the committed reader no reason to give credibility to the authors vague memory of events. The book took less than 2 days to read, and that was at a canter. As for the ratings of firms, that was totalling embarassing as the author simply suggests that if HE was not there or if he didn't manage to turn up on time - which was a regular occurrence, then he boldy states, that there was no firm!

Nowhere does the book explain his rationale. The author seems to win every battle, irrespective of the odds. As for ridicule, in one chapter he claims to be penniliess, only to find international travel and endless hotels stays in the next - and for once without the aid of his Grandmother. The only areas of interest were the various detentions in Prison. The author seeem to spend most of his time being nicked!

Even allowing for creative flexibility, as most authors are entitled, this book is very, very wide of the mark. Most disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Offensive, 30 Nov 2007
This review is from: Inside the "Forest Executive Crew" (Paperback)
Is it just me that finds it offensive that Amazon assumes that just because I am a Forest supporter I will be even the slighest bit interested in reading a book by some thug who thinks its big and clever to write a book about all the fights he has got into. Well I'm not interested and I hope all true supporters of the club and the game in general won't be either. Surely books like this shouldn't really be in the sport section should they?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 16 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This man is a genius. The book and the life it describes are certainly the most important and interesting things that have ever happened. In addition to being a genius he is also a hero. He is so tough that he can fight anyone or any number of people and win. It is also true to say that neither him or his gang ever kicked anyone in the head after they had already been beaten and knocked out. They always fought for justice and peace. A great Christmas present for the kids and for grandma too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the size (&publisher!), 18 Nov 2005
A good read but where do you keep the thing.
Size of a Beano annual which makes it difficult to store, the book is a good honest account by what does seem to be a lad who has done a bit.
Pity Garry has been badly advised about the project as very few shops will have shelf space for the book.
OG Mr King :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to the good old days, 1 Oct 2005
By A Customer
great read...the best 1 yet on the hooligan front.i remember having a good few rucks with the forest boys in the late 80s & early 90s & meeting a few of the forest lads on england duty home & away,top reliable lads.Great book,top lad what more can i say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside the Forest Executive Crew, 25 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This has to be one of the best football books out there rates right up there with the best of them. I started this and finished it in two days, I have been totally surprised at the quality and the humour. I wish more books on this subject could be half as entertaining as this!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 14 Sep 2005
Its a great book to read. If your in to football violence or just like reading about it then this books for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its been emotional, 13 Oct 2005
This is without a doubt the best book of its kind on sale at the moment.It is so easy to get into, It only took me a few days to read i could`nt put it down. Pure Quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Inside the "Forest Executive Crew" (Paperback)
"We were the Midlands Top boys" yawn

Funny I can't ever remember them turning up at Villa

More egotistical rubbish from a bloke who has been hit in the face too many times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab4726d8)

This product

Inside the "Forest Executive Crew"
Inside the "Forest Executive Crew" by Martin King (Paperback - 5 Aug 2006)
Used & New from: 1.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews