Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars20
3.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2008
I used to be in Forests Mad Squad from 1976. I'm 50 now. I wouldn't ever consider writing about a period of my life where I was a complete idiot. There's no glory in being a hooligan. Too many of these purile books around by jerks who havn't grown up.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2005
This must rate as the worst hooligan book ever written. I have read over 20 books and have every legitimate DVD and video on this subject. Including the BBC documentaries.

Add to this that I have stood in the 'A Block' at Forest having lived in Nottingham for over 15 years, and seen many battes at Villa Park, where I saw my first introduction to this social phenomenon.

After an excellent start recounting a miscreant upbringing in Nottingham, the book deterioarates into a collection of anecdotal statements. Many of which give the committed reader no reason to give credibility to the authors vague memory of events. The book took less than 2 days to read, and that was at a canter. As for the ratings of firms, that was totalling embarassing as the author simply suggests that if HE was not there or if he didn't manage to turn up on time - which was a regular occurrence, then he boldy states, that there was no firm!

Nowhere does the book explain his rationale. The author seems to win every battle, irrespective of the odds. As for ridicule, in one chapter he claims to be penniliess, only to find international travel and endless hotels stays in the next - and for once without the aid of his Grandmother. The only areas of interest were the various detentions in Prison. The author seeem to spend most of his time being nicked!

Even allowing for creative flexibility, as most authors are entitled, this book is very, very wide of the mark. Most disappointing
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2007
Is it just me that finds it offensive that Amazon assumes that just because I am a Forest supporter I will be even the slighest bit interested in reading a book by some thug who thinks its big and clever to write a book about all the fights he has got into. Well I'm not interested and I hope all true supporters of the club and the game in general won't be either. Surely books like this shouldn't really be in the sport section should they?
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
this bloke hahahhaha writes this book... yet has a go at the forest lads that still go out and have fun
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2005
This man is a genius. The book and the life it describes are certainly the most important and interesting things that have ever happened. In addition to being a genius he is also a hero. He is so tough that he can fight anyone or any number of people and win. It is also true to say that neither him or his gang ever kicked anyone in the head after they had already been beaten and knocked out. They always fought for justice and peace. A great Christmas present for the kids and for grandma too.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
i enjoyed this account.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2005
great read...the best 1 yet on the hooligan front.i remember having a good few rucks with the forest boys in the late 80s & early 90s & meeting a few of the forest lads on england duty home & away,top reliable lads.Great book,top lad what more can i say
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2005
A good read but where do you keep the thing.
Size of a Beano annual which makes it difficult to store, the book is a good honest account by what does seem to be a lad who has done a bit.
Pity Garry has been badly advised about the project as very few shops will have shelf space for the book.
OG Mr King :-(
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2005
This has to be one of the best football books out there rates right up there with the best of them. I started this and finished it in two days, I have been totally surprised at the quality and the humour. I wish more books on this subject could be half as entertaining as this!!!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)