Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written book providing invaluable information
This is a book after my own heart! Natasha Campbell-McBride is a Russian-born doctor living now in London, who in my view is one of the few who understands the causes of our modern diseases and how to avoid/cure them by means of nutrition and healthy living as a whole.

In this book she tackles the subject of CHD (Coronary Heart Disease). She tells us this is...
Published on 21 Aug. 2012 by Iona Main Stewart

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good info - not quite there
After reading the excellent and eye opening GAPS book, I was expecting good things from this.
There is some good information and to someone who always thought cholesterol was the root of all evil - then this a must read. To someone more knowledgeable, then most of the info is basic enough so that the layman can understand and thus does not go into great depths...
Published on 17 Oct. 2011 by Liam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written book providing invaluable information, 21 Aug. 2012
By 
Iona Main Stewart (Odense, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Put Your Heart in Your Mouth (Paperback)
This is a book after my own heart! Natasha Campbell-McBride is a Russian-born doctor living now in London, who in my view is one of the few who understands the causes of our modern diseases and how to avoid/cure them by means of nutrition and healthy living as a whole.

In this book she tackles the subject of CHD (Coronary Heart Disease). She tells us this is caused by atherosclerosis, which is "a disease of the arterial wall that leads to narrowing and obstruction of the artery". CHD is our number one killer. Its two major forms are angina pectoris and myocardial infection (heart attack).

Angina pectoris develops when the space inside the coronary artery is narrowed but not closed up. A heart attack occurs when "the coronary artery closes up completely and the blood supply to the heart muscle stops".

The author states that conventional medicine does not know the cause of atherosclerosis or how to cure it. She explains in this book what it is and what really causes it, and also how to prevent and reverse it. She dispels the myth of the "diet-heart hypothesis", and explains that cholesterol is not the enemy but an "integral and very important part of our cell membranes".

The diet-heart hypothesis stated that dietary fats, including cholesterol, cause heart disease and by avoiding these foods we can avoid developing heart disease. Ancel Keys, who put forward this hypothesis back in 1953, used completely faulty "evidence" and selective data to "prove" his point. In subsequent studies, data that did not support the hypothesis were ignored and the data that did were "inflated and advertised". Honest studies from different countries have proved the hypothesis to be completely erroneous. Most of the experiments on the influence of dietary fatty acid on blood cholesterol were "biased by serious faults". Professor George Mann called the diet-heart hypothesis "the greatest scientific deception of our times".

Natasha Campbell-McBride does a great job in demolishing the myths that have been instilled in us. She explains things clearly and simply and we come to understand how dangerous in fact low cholesterol is and how death-bringing the new cholesterol-lowering drugs, statins.

Campbell-McBride provides us with so much absolutely essential and life-saving information that I can't begin to mention it all. But we cannot live without cholesterol and in fact every cell of every organ has cholesterol as part of its structure. In the clinical experience of the author, foods with high cholesterol and high animal fat content are an essential medicine for a person with multiple sclerosis, for instance. Caviar is the richest source, followed by cod liver oil, fresh egg yolk, butter, cold-water fish and shellfish, and, finally, lard. So I, who have MS, have begun to eat caviar.

Cholesterol from food has no effect whatsoever on the level of our blood cholesterol. As long as we don't take cholesterol-lowering drugs, we don't have to worry about cholesterol. Some people whose bodies are unable to produce enough cholesterol are prone to "emotional instability and behavioral problems". Low blood cholesterol has been recorded in those who have committed murder and other violent crimes, people with aggressive and violent personalities and those prone to suicide.

The so-called "bad" cholesterol, LDL, is not bad but "directly binds and inactivates dangerous bacterial toxins". The lethal toxin Staphylococcus aureus which is the cause of MRSA, a common hospital infection, does not work in the presence of LDL cholesterol. People with high levels of cholesterol are protected from infections, while those with low blood cholesterol are prone to various infections and more likely to die from one.

Blood cholesterol "goes through the roof" in people after surgery, goes up when we have an infection, after dental treatment and when we are under stress. This is because cholesterol is a "healing agent" in the body. The body produces cholesterol and sends it to the site of the damage. Because cholesterol travels from the liver to a wound in the form of LDL, "our science", in its wisdom, calls LDL a "bad" cholesterol. When the wound heals and the cholesterol is removed, it travels back to the liver in the form of HDL, and "our misguided `science' calls it a "good" cholesterol.

Thus, when we have a high blood cholesterol level, it means that the body is dealing with some damage. We should not interfere with this process. When a doctor finds high cholesterol in the patient, he should look for the reason. He should ask "What is damaging the body so the liver has to produce all that cholesterol to deal with the damage?". Instead he attacks the cholesterol.

"Cholesterol has been mistakenly blamed for the crime, just because it was found at the site of the crime."

The author devotes a chapter to explaining in detail what atherosclerosis is, and another to what causes it.

The third section of the book explains what we can do to prevent atherosclerosis, heart attacks and strokes. She informs us that the answer is simple: 1) Stop eating processed foods and 2) Stop polluting your body with chemicals. She goes into these points in detail.

We are given the invaluable information to begin to eat fermented foods which will provide us with massive amounts of probiotics and thus heal our gut.

The final section, informing us that all diseases begin in the gut, is most valuable.

There is a chapter with selected recipes, including how to ferment our foods ourselves.

The author writes well and in an entertaining style, though I found her "foreign" method of placing commas distracting.

In short, this is an absolutely invaluable book that sets us straight on the whole subject of coronary heart disease, atherosclerosis, the causes of the latter and how to prevent it and heal ourselves. I thoroughly recommend that you read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEARTY NEWS, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Put Your Heart in Your Mouth (Paperback)
This book is for those who have the courage to be responsible for their own health care. Similarly to the author's well known title the Gut and Psychology Syndrome, the book is detailed enough to provide indisputable arguments and explanations, but written in a manner that non-technicians can grasp. The message explodes the myth of high cholesterol being a cause of heart disease, so flies in the face of the conventional wisdom which is driven by commercial interests. It does does a wonderful job of unmasking the lies and letting the Truth shine for all who wish to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Become fully informed, 2 May 2011
This review is from: Put Your Heart in Your Mouth (Paperback)
My GP has been encouraging me to consider taking statins for my high cholesterol level for some years now. Through recommendation from my herbalist I read Put Your Heart in Your Mouth and am now able to make a more informed decision. This book gave me a greater understanding of the need for cholesterol in the body as well as the causes of high cholesterol levels. The recipes are good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 15 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Put Your Heart in Your Mouth (Paperback)
Having recently researched nutrition for my own benefit it has lead me to acquire this book and the subsequent GAPS book by Dr Natasha Campbell-McBride. I have to say that this is IMPERATIVE reading for anyone with a genuine personal interest in healthy living. A revolutionary insight which lifts the lid on current health myths! A must read which you will want to share with so many of your loved-ones! We all know someone with health issues which could be remedied by the contents of this book. Deserving of a Nobel Prize in my opinion! A must read! My immense gratitude to Dr Campbell McBride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great information for anyone interested in health., 6 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Put Your Heart in Your Mouth (Paperback)
A very insightful and easy to read book that clearly sets out the reasons why the average highly processed diet that most people consume is not what our bodies require. The food choices we make are largely contributing to predisposing us for all manner of degenerative disease conditions. This books gives us the knowledge to help turn our lives around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, good information, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Put Your Heart in Your Mouth (Paperback)
Clear information provided in a detailed but readable manner. Bought this book for my mother but had a chance to read it first.Some of the most useful information you will ever read. Also like that there are a couple of recipes at the end of the book that I cant wait to try. My mother also found it easy and quick to read. Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lose the processed 'food', 4 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Put Your Heart in Your Mouth (Paperback)
More compelling evidence that eating many natural foods is good for us, including saturated fat, whereas many processed foods aren't, such as processed carbohydrates. Includes corrective advice to improve chronic health. Opposes lowering cholesterol; necessary for fighting inflammatory diseases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Must read!, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
Marcin Dolecki "dolobolo" (Warsaw, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Put Your Heart in Your Mouth (Paperback)
Another great book by Dr. Natasha! After reading "gut and psychology..." I started to be hungry for more. Not only if you are at risk of heart disease. Its concise, helpful and easy to understand. great chapter on "cholesterol myth".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable guide to better health, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Put Your Heart in Your Mouth (Paperback)
Well written and practical book for anyone trying to improve their own health, by a doctor who is also a qualified nutritionist. Dr Campbell-McBride was one of the first medical practitioners to point out the errors in healthy eating guidelines that have prevailed for many years, and are still circulated today by many less thoughtful experts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, it really opens your eyes to the ..., 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Put Your Heart in Your Mouth (Paperback)
A very good book, it really opens your eyes to the rubbish people eat and drink and what we can do about improving our health. We are being misled by advertisements and the media, the country could be a much healthier one if we did what this book advises. It has certainly changed my thoughts about what I eat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Put Your Heart in Your Mouth
Put Your Heart in Your Mouth by Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride MD. MMedSci (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2007)
£12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews