Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide to London
By buying this book you are entering a wonderful world. An alternative London where people are friendly and chat to you about interesting little things that you ought to know if you are going to live in the city.
This is a wonderful guide to London. However, don't think of it as an alphabetical guide that will cover everything and let you look it up however you...
Published on 2 Nov 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a bloody web site
Be Warned. I was disappointed when I received this book; as it is no more than the text of various emails produced by a web site called Londonbylondon.com. It's very little different than reading a forum on a web site. However having said that, some of the information contained within is useful.
Published on 20 Feb 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a bloody web site, 20 Feb 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by London: The Insiders' Guide (Paperback)
Be Warned. I was disappointed when I received this book; as it is no more than the text of various emails produced by a web site called Londonbylondon.com. It's very little different than reading a forum on a web site. However having said that, some of the information contained within is useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide to London, 2 Nov 2004
This review is from: London by London: The Insiders' Guide (Paperback)
By buying this book you are entering a wonderful world. An alternative London where people are friendly and chat to you about interesting little things that you ought to know if you are going to live in the city.
This is a wonderful guide to London. However, don't think of it as an alphabetical guide that will cover everything and let you look it up however you want. This is a book you can just read at random or cover to cover to find out all those little tit-bits that you only ever normally find out by chatting to people in the pub, and even some of those wonderful nuggets of information that people don't even normally think of telling each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a smashing read., 26 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: London by London: The Insiders' Guide (Paperback)
Good for newcomers to London; plenty of sage advice for them, and full of interesting information for those of us that have been here forever. A question of mine was included and I was very chuffed to have it answered so concisely. (All to do with horses and bolting apparently)
Anything that encourages people to explore London is A Good Thing.
Now check out the other publications from this exciting young gaggle of writers and fledgling media tycoons....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bathroom emails, 9 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: London by London: The Insiders' Guide (Paperback)
This book is no more and no less than a collection of question and response emails from Londoners within a usergroup. The posts are roughly collated into categories but otherwise no editing appears to have been done.
It can't really be used as a guide book because nothing is structured or complete, and neither can it be read continuously for pleasure because it's so fragmentary. So it's really at best a toilet read.
I found it particularly frustrating that many of the questions raised in the book, some of them quite intriguing, are only very vaguely answered. Be warned that there is absolutely no researched or expert information here, just email chat.
Stylistically, if you love the kind of humour found in joky casual office emails then this book will be fun, otherwise it may seem increasingly daft and irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jolly good, 3 Nov 2004
This review is from: London by London: The Insiders' Guide (Paperback)
As a recent subscriber to the free weekly newsletter ([...] I was very pleased to get my hands on this book full of LBL wisdom and humour. Unique and special and warm. I intend to be in the next one if I possibly can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are not alone, 27 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: London by London: The Insiders' Guide (Paperback)
I don't want you to buy this book.
If you buy this book then all of the best jukeboxes, late night chilled out bars, abandoned underground stations, free party venues and salsa classes in the capital will be full to bursting before I get around to doing any of the fun things mentioned.
On the other hand, in the interests of community spirit, this is an excellent guide to almost everything in the capital, all the legwork has been done for you (I wonder what the combined length of London living of all the contributors is?) and it even details a few of the unusual characters that can be found in our captial. A few tips abound, for example it's probably best not to approach the Sinners and Winners man and proclaim yourself an unbeliever.
Oh go on then. Buy it. There's so many suggestions I probably won't have chance to do everything anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars treeeemendous, 25 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: London by London: The Insiders' Guide (Paperback)
witty and wonderous, written by people who really know, and without any marketing spin or nonsense.
invaluable.... the only christmas present for the new londoner and a source of unbridled joy to long time london residents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London by London: The Insiders' Guide
London by London: The Insiders' Guide by Clare Christian (Paperback - 22 Oct 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews