Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


169 of 171 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crochet for complete beginners - and for lefties!
Claire Bojczuk is a very fine woman indeed. I say she's a fine woman, because she has produced an amazingly clear and simple guide to learning how to crochet - with right and left handers treated with the same respect. The diagrams and drawings are real, that is you can recognize what's going on in them - and she never assumes that as a left-hander you'll just 'work it...
Published on 16 April 2006 by A. Cruickshank

versus
42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beginners only
i have a vague knowledge of crochet and was keen to learn some more techniques so based on the reviews i bought this book. I was at first quite pleased as the instructions are very clear and show each step of the stitch which is very helpful. i was, however, dissapointed that it only shows how to do about 4 different stitches,i am aware that like knitting, there are many...
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by Gj Owen


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

169 of 171 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crochet for complete beginners - and for lefties!, 16 April 2006
This review is from: Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet (Paperback)
Claire Bojczuk is a very fine woman indeed. I say she's a fine woman, because she has produced an amazingly clear and simple guide to learning how to crochet - with right and left handers treated with the same respect. The diagrams and drawings are real, that is you can recognize what's going on in them - and she never assumes that as a left-hander you'll just 'work it out for yourself'. All the instructions are 'step by step' and she not only gives written instructions but introduces symbol charts once you've got the hang of the basic techniques. You'll find all the different stitches and techniques on their own pages for easy reference, starting with how to hold the hook and how to make the initial slipknot through to increasing and decreasing and working in the round; nothing is assumed or left to chance.

Claire also explains UK and USA terminology (same words - different stitches!), yarn thicknesses and hook sizes, tension, ball bands and how to read the information on them, finishing, joining work, right and wrong sides and keeping track of your work and the pattern. This is truly a booklet for the complete beginner - you don't need any kind of prior experience, or, indeed, to be a knitter to understand what to do.

There are 11 projects which are described clearly and take you through the basics and beyond. You will find baby bootees and blanket, hair scrunchies, bracelets, bags, pillows, washcloths, a scarf and lace edgings, with and without beads. 64 pages, not an inch of space wasted, light enough to carry with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginners, 24 Feb 2009
This review is from: Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet (Paperback)
Within one week of receiving this book I finally cracked crochet! Two experienced crocheting friends had tried and failed to get me started but thanks to the clear illustrations and text in this little book I was able to complete a blanket for my daughter's bed and am half way through a throw comprised of traditional "granny squares". Thank you Clare Bojczuk for an excellent, concise liitle book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on crochet!, 1 Sep 2005
By 
Paula Marvelly (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet (Paperback)
This is an absolute gem of a book. As the title suggests, 'Crochet Unravelled' is indeed a clear and concise guide to helping anyone understand and practise the art of crochet, from simple basic patterns to more sophisticated projects.
Moreover, what sets Bojczuk's book apart from the rest on the market is that she gives equal emphasis to both left-handed and right-handed crocheters, which means there can be no excuse to get started, even for absolute beginners!
With easy to follow instructions and beautiful diagrams, as well as tips on hand positions and choosing the correct yarn, Crochet Unravelled is an invaluable book for any aspiring crocheter.
Jean & Paula Marvelly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crochet unravelled, 6 Feb 2010
By 
K. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet (Paperback)
I had never tried crochet before and wanted to learn. This book is great, it is easy to follow with clear diagrams. Great for learning the basic techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suddenly I get it!, 28 Nov 2007
This review is from: Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet (Paperback)
This little book is absolutely brilliant. The instructions are written simply and are very easy to follow, and the diagrams are crystal clear. At last I can crochet. I know it's pathetic but I really like the little face cloth and soap holder pattern, and I'm making lots for presents. Friends love them. This is good book to start with and it allows you to tackle more complicated projects with confidence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beginners Answer, 20 Jun 2008
This review is from: Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet (Paperback)
I have never crocheted before but wanted to give it a go. This is the first book that I've found that answers all of the questions, like what type of yarn do I use. What crochet hook do I use. What is the difference between American and UK termology and the list goes on. This book covers all the areas you need it to and covers crocheting from the very beginning (i.e how to hold the hook, and how to get the first stitch on the hook). I highly recommmend any beginners to get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 11 Nov 2007
By 
Pippi (Berwickshire, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet (Paperback)
I had never crocheted before and a friend recommended this book. I hate trying to learn from instructions but this one really works. I am making the baby blanket and booties already. I haven't found anything yet that there isn't an explaination for, so I'd say she pretty much covers it all. I will be recommending it to others who are interested in learning too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Miracle, 26 Feb 2009
By 
P. Mills (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet (Paperback)
Claire deserves a medal for services to left-handers! As someone who has read many Amazon reviews but never yet written one, I now find that I MUST review this wonderful little book. I gave up trying to learn crochet very early in life and have always assumed I could never do it, having only been shown the right-handed way. All the crochet books only illustrate for right-handers. I discovered Claire's book only a few days ago,but by following her clear instructions and diagrams I am now crocheting! Claire is also very accessible if you have any queries. Thank you Claire ! I would have no hesitation in recommending this book to all those left-handers who have struggled unsuccessfully to learn the art of crochet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 13 April 2007
By 
A. E. Smith "Phantomcougar" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet (Paperback)
I found this book wonderfully helpful. You don't need glossy pictures and trendy American writers to learn crochet, all you need is this book!

All the instructions and illustrations are clear and concise and as a "left-hander" the detail taken with left handed instructions is invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, 20 May 2011
By 
S. Booker "Sarah Booker" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet (Paperback)
I went to a crochet class where the teacher used this book. It is a great beginners guide with its illustrations and simple projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7ad8da4)

This product

Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet
Crochet Unravelled: A Clear and Concise Guide to Learning Crochet by Claire Bojczuk (Paperback - 15 Aug 2005)
Used & New from: 5.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews