Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great routes well presented, 16 Oct. 2006
By 
Nightrider (Cumbria,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales (Paperback)
This is a great area to mountain bike in and a really good book with some superb routes.They are carefully structured and clearly divided into rides of roughly equivalent duration.Instructions and descriptions are accurate and clear and each route has its own Havey's map and a useful diargam showing ascent and descent over the course of the ride.Photographs are excellent throughout and provide real encouragement to get out in the Dales.

The book has recently been published and feels modern in every respect.I have been using much older book,covering the Lake District and the Dales together which really suffers from being nearly 20 years out of date.Equipment and riding surface has changed a lot in that time.You really feel that the author has ridden all these routes recently and thought carefully about what to include, and equally importantly,what to leave out.Although the book appears expensive it is fair value when you at the information provided and the fact that the maps are detailed and not just schematic diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Bikers, 23 Oct. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales (Paperback)
This book is great

It starts off with a bit about biking and then some basic info about biking in he Dales (Maps needed etc)

The routes are divided up into 4 Sections with a 5th bonus section

Section 1 - Classics

Section 2 - Epics

Section 3 - Enduros

Section 4 - Killers

All routes are niceley laid out with Elevation data, total ascent, start / finish info. Pubs in the area and cafes. I have done most of the routes in the book and many more than once. A great must have for all MTBRS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to a beautiful area, 24 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales (Paperback)
While I'd already done quite a bit of riding in the area this book revealed some great new gems. The maps are clear and the instructions come in at just the right level of detail, enough to get you round but not so much you spend hours reading through to figure out where you've got to.

As an added bonus it also turned out to be pretty water resistant, very handy when lost in the rain after not following (the admittedly clear) instructions very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A short cut to some great riding, 5 Jun. 2011
By 
C. J. Maden (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales (Paperback)
I had forgotten how much I liked Yorkshire till I bought this book. There is some excellent riding over there and it must be good for a Lancastrian to admit that!

This is nicely presented guide to a lot of the best routes. Small os maps of the route are backed up by written instructions of the route and for the most part can be followed straight from the book. I like the top 10 downhills, climbs and cruises in the back too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Book, 18 Nov. 2010
By 
ian@scion.co.uk (Colne, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales (Paperback)
I can only echo the other reviewers here. This book is a real gem in every way. The routes are nearly all rideable and if there are sections that aren't you are warned about it. The look and feel of the book is very modern and "mass produced". Vertebrate Graphics are to be applauded here.

Even if you only complete one good ride from this book it will be worth it. We have ridden nearly 20!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the others, 17 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales (Paperback)
I have used both the Lake District guide and the Northern Yorkshire Dales Guide from this series and they are both brilliant. This one is as good - comprehensive easy to follow and with an excellent selection of rides. Only managed one during our weekend stay but we shall return!....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 April 2008
By 
D. Collins "D.Coll" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales (Paperback)
This is well laid out, easy to read and has all the critical information you need such as route profile, clear maps and even a few pics to wet your appetite.

I havent managed to try all the routes but the four/five I have were excellent. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars South Dales mtb, 20 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales (Paperback)
Arrived on time and in very good condition and well packaged. The format of this book I know from others I have. Easy to follow and with some good rides too. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book which splits routes up into length, 8 Jun. 2013
By 
S. Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales (Paperback)
I really liked the way this book was laid out with clear route instructions and grading of routes.
It made for a great weekend away MTB'ing in the 'Dales!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales
Yorkshire Dales Mountain Biking: The South Dales by Nick Cotton (Paperback - 15 May 2006)
£12.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews