Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting nearer to yesterday
Mister Opie's tenth wonderful Scrapbook carries on with the same unique presentation, each themed spread has one big still-life photo filled with packaging and printed matter. The items are carefully arranged so you can get an appreciation of what they looked like and don't be put off because the book has only sixty-two pages, it opens up to spreads twenty-one inches wide...
Published on 27 Nov 2004 by Robin Benson

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing research, but ultimately disappointing
I ordered this book based solely on the reviews found on this page, but I have to say I was a little disappointed. The book - which contains almost no text - is amazingly well researched and I have to say that the pages devoted to food products, crisps & sweets are astonishing. The packaging on display looks brand new and we can only imagine how the author (or original...
Published on 3 Feb 2010 by ProDrive


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting nearer to yesterday, 27 Nov 2004
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1970s Scrapbook (Hardcover)
Mister Opie's tenth wonderful Scrapbook carries on with the same unique presentation, each themed spread has one big still-life photo filled with packaging and printed matter. The items are carefully arranged so you can get an appreciation of what they looked like and don't be put off because the book has only sixty-two pages, it opens up to spreads twenty-one inches wide by fifteen deep and includes 1400 items in color.

Like the other Scrapbooks what is shown is the everyday stuff that could be found in any British home and as this is the Seventies, one spread is devoted to the change to decimal currency in 1971. The spread for groceries and the one for cleaning and toiletries probably show more than two hundred examples of packaging. Pop music with four spreads is a bit too much though. The list just goes on, fashion, television, cigarette packets, comics, film posters, board games, confectionary, car brochures, football, magazine and newspapers and more and more. Every time I look through these Scrapbooks I find something I hadn't noticed before.

If you are interested in what printed matter and packaging was in the average home during the Seventies this book will show you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memory Lane, 17 Aug 2005
This review is from: The 1970s Scrapbook (Hardcover)
What a fantastic trip down memory lane! I bought the 1970's book for my husband's 45th birthday and we spent a brilliant time flicking through and remembering some great sweets and not so great clothes! We enjoyed it so much that I bought the 60's version for a friend's 50th birthday and she was delighted! A book that will be returned to again and again - ours now takes pride of place in the loo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource!, 3 Jun 2007
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1970s Scrapbook (Hardcover)
What an amazing selection of pictures of the 1970s! I spent hours pouring over this, reliving the memories of my childhood and teenage years; and my class of 10 and 11 year olds were fascinated to look and see the way things were when their teacher was young!

If you are into scrapbooking, or if you have strong memories of life in the 70s, this is the book you want! it will take you right back, and will remind you of fashions, packaging and even flavours of that era!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reveals more than a dozen musty old history books, 29 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The 1970s Scrapbook (Hardcover)
Firstly, don't let the cover put you off. I know the 70s were supposedly 'the decade that taste forgot' but the cover is truly hideously tacky, especially considering there are hundreds of better images once you open the pages of this fabulous book. Opie's approach rests on the concept that 'a picture paints a thousand words' (to quote a Telly Sevalas chart topper from from the decade in question). With minimal explanatory text Opie presents over 60 massive pages of illustrations (at 15 inches long this book may not fit in some letter boxes). You get a real Proustian nostalgia rush as you scan the images of the detritus of everyday life; crisp packets, cigarette packs, chocolate bars, kids comics, cleaning products, toys, newspaper front pages, TV guides, record covers, footwear, knitting patterns, etc. It's as if the contents of a Seventies skip have been lovingly laid out for the camera. It's all here: ABBA soap, Donny Osmond dolls, Silver Jubilee mugs, Crossroads Motel boardgames, Logan's Run annuals, punk single sleeves, Watneys Party Seven, Aztec bars, Cresta pop... Anyone that lived through this glorious decade will be cooing with misty-eyed nostalgia over this book, one of a series covering each decade of the last century. Just two things though: the author states breakfast TV began in the UK in 1977 (in fact it started in '83). The other: when do we get the 80s scrapbook?
Robert Opie runs a museum of design and packaging in West London, housing the content of this 'scrapbook' series and much more.It's well worth a visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1970'S SCRAPBOOK ROBERT OPIE, 21 May 2010
By 
Mr. L. Starkey (Dorset U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 1970s Scrapbook (Hardcover)
This Scrapbook was purchased for use by the Dorset Memory Box Library as part of its collection of memorabilia to present to sufferers of Memory loss in our Day Centres and Care Homes in the County.
Full of distant memories which stimulates the mind and encourages conversation amongst those who suffer from memory loss.
A brilliant aid in activities amongst the elderly and I would recommend to any carer
who would find this a superb tool to encourage conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great trip down memory lane, 8 Feb 2009
This review is from: The 1970s Scrapbook (Hardcover)
this book is the one if you were born in the 60's! my strongest memories are from my teens not the first decade of my life, and i'm sure this would be the same for most other people.
this book is just wondefull, so simple but so well done every page is just a feast of memories, who would have thought that a page of pictures of sweet wrappers would give so much pleasure!
Everyone wants to look at this book, everyone gets excited when they see things from thier everday past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present!, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1970s Scrapbook (Hardcover)
A fab gift for those just hitting their big 50. I have bought 3 so far! Great to reminisce about the long lost seventies culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing research, but ultimately disappointing, 3 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1970s Scrapbook (Hardcover)
I ordered this book based solely on the reviews found on this page, but I have to say I was a little disappointed. The book - which contains almost no text - is amazingly well researched and I have to say that the pages devoted to food products, crisps & sweets are astonishing. The packaging on display looks brand new and we can only imagine how the author (or original owners) managed to preserve the items in such good condition. My disappointment is on two levels: first, I personally did not recognise that many of the hundreds of objects shown. I was born in 1964, but many of the pictures meant little to me. Secondly, while the book is an amusing 'read' (no text, just pictures, remember...), ultimately it's the sort of book you will browse through once or twice and then put on a shelf to be forgotten. To be honest, an hour of Googling will bring up more personal memories and nostalgia on your screen than this scrapbook can provide in its handful of pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 70s scrapbook review, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1970s Scrapbook (Hardcover)
The 1970s scrapbook by Robert Opie is a must for anyone who lived through this decade with such fond memories as i have of those times.
This book is large, hardback and colourful, opening the pages was like
being transported in a time machine.
This book demands to be picked up again and again, the reference pages are fantastic, long lost chocolate bar brands, household items, fashion and the 70s music scene are all there.
Wish i could go back to the 70s....
next best thing is this book !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostaglgic Memories, 8 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1970s Scrapbook (Hardcover)
Along with the 1960's and 1950's scrapbooks I purchased this one for a member of the family who is writing his memoirs. As in the other reviews, it is brilliant for memory jogging. Things long forgotten. Packaging that has remained the same. A fascinating book for anyone who remembers the 70's or for anyone doing research on brands and packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 1970s Scrapbook
The 1970s Scrapbook by Robert Opie (Hardcover - 1 Jan 1999)
£12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews