Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that improves of the first book., 29 Sep 2005
By 
C. L. Sibley "Caz" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG1: The Cost of Honor: book 2 (Stargate SG-1: A Matter of Honor) (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm not a fan of sequels tending, as they be, to be somewhat sloppy and lazily written. However as "A Matter Of Honour" turned out to be a rather good read so I gave this sequel a go and it is actually better than the first book.
You must read the first book to even begin to understand what's happening in this one as it starts right out where the first left of, jumps into the action and just keeps right on going until the end. The author deals very well with the consequences of the team's actions in the first book and you get a real sense that the two books were actually planned at the same time (and not just a case of the popularity of one spawning another as is often the case in sequels). There are some wonderful little nods to events in the TV series - which is always nice to see in books like this - and the characterisation is, again, well done, Carter being about the only one who I find does and thinks out of character at times. This book has about everything a Stargate fan might want - a smidgen of political intrigue, a lot of action, Daniel being Daniel, Teal'c being stoical and Jack being, well, Jack! There's enough action from minor characters too, and even the new characters that the author has created are well rounded and play important roles.
For those who are fans of the Jack/Sam frission, there's subtext aplenty here - nicely subtle so you don't have to see it if you don't want to, but it's definitely there for those of us who do.
If I had to pick out anything about this book to criticise then I would say the ending was all wrapped up a little too neatly and quickly for my liking. That and the fact that there some honkin' great big and oh-so-convenient deus ex machina moments in there too. Not that it spoiled my enjoyment of the story but I did wonder if there was not a more creative and subtle way of extracting the protagonists from the situation.
A highly recomended read for all Stargate SG1 fans, that makes reading the first installment very much worthwhile. I look forward to other works by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Part two of a two -parter, 29 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. R. Dickins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG1: The Cost of Honor: book 2 (Stargate SG-1: A Matter of Honor) (Mass Market Paperback)
Just excellent! The other reviews have summed it up nicely.

I enjoyed both books, but this one was even more full of action!

Great reading. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It keeps getting better, 31 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG1: The Cost of Honor: book 2 (Stargate SG-1: A Matter of Honor) (Mass Market Paperback)
The first book in this series was really good, and this one does not let up on the pace. I am really pleased I bought the two books together and was able to pick up straight away from the end of "A Matter of Honor."
This book sees SG1 trying to sort out the mess they have created by disobeying orders and incurring the wrath of Senator Kinsey, and I especially liked the increased role played by General Hammond, and how he has to cope with the idea of betrayal but his flagship team, and close friends.
Sally Malcolm does not hold back on inflicting more anguish and suffering on her characters, especially Samantha Carter, and the dark secret revealed about the Kinahhi is truly horrific but beautifully articulated, you can feel yourself recoiling against the sights and smells the characters are forced to endure.
I really liked the way this story ended although at times during this book you think there is no way this can end well, but the author has a wonderful imagination and the final solutions are well thought out and not overly clichéd, although personally I would have liked to have seen Kinsey get his comeuppance.
I you buy the fist book then make sure you buy this one at the same time, they have to be read together, and you will not want to leave a gap between them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great follow-up to book three, 9 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Stargate SG1: The Cost of Honor: book 2 (Stargate SG-1: A Matter of Honor) (Mass Market Paperback)
The sequel to "A Matter of Honor" does not disappoint. It's just as well-written as the first part, and bravely gives the characters' actions real fallout instead of just dismissing it with a 'Well, it worked out all right in the end' white-wash. In particular, General Hammond's feeling of betrayal at Jack's actions is beautifully portrayed, and makes for gripping and emotional reading. That kind of believable character-driven drama, together with an action-packed and compelling plot, really makes these books a cut above the rest. If you've always been unimpressed with TV tie-ins before, Sally Malcolm's two-part story is a shining example of how good they can be if they're done well. If only there were more like this out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 18 May 2006
By 
Shana Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG1: The Cost of Honor: book 2 (Stargate SG-1: A Matter of Honor) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was the best of the Fandemoniom books that I have read. The plot was well thought out and it was well written. I stayed up all night reading it couldn't put it down. Unlike alot of the books out there this book stayed true to the series. A real pleasure. I look foward to reading more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down!, 18 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Stargate SG1: The Cost of Honor: book 2 (Stargate SG-1: A Matter of Honor) (Mass Market Paperback)
i found both this and sally malcolm's other SG book "A Matter of Honour" great. characters rang completely true to the series, and the plots kept me turning the pages till 0500 at night /in the morning!thoroughly recommeded to anyone who enjoys the TV series at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good., 28 Jan 2006
By 
A. Questier-Edwards "Alex" (London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG1: The Cost of Honor: book 2 (Stargate SG-1: A Matter of Honor) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book starts off right where A Matter of Honour ended. The first chapter basically finishes up the story started in A Matter of Honour, and one does get the distinct impression that if the chapter had just been tagged on to the end of the previous book it would have ended it pretty neatly. However, The Cost of Honour grows into great book in its own right, with a completely new storyline. Unlike in many Stargate stories, there are actual consequences for SG:1's actions, severe ones as it turns out.
This book is argueably the best out of all the Fandemonium books, and it's well-worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Dec 2005
This review is from: Stargate SG1: The Cost of Honor: book 2 (Stargate SG-1: A Matter of Honor) (Mass Market Paperback)
A must for all SG-1 fans. The first few chapters seemed a bit slow, but then I got hooked and couldn't put it down. well written, easy to read and great character portrayal as well as a tense gripping story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate SG1: The Cost of Honor: book 2 (Stargate SG-1: A Matter of Honor)
Stargate SG1: The Cost of Honor: book 2 (Stargate SG-1: A Matter of Honor) by Sally Malcolm (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Aug 2005)
£5.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews