Customer Reviews


5 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential guide to Scottish rivers
We have a Canadian (open) canoe and have found this book ideal for planning trips across Scotland.

It's got a good coverage of the whole country and each river is graded, has access and exit points clearly marked, as well as hazards and rapids explained so you know what to expect when. It's also got a good selection of trips, from half a day on the Spey to a...
Published on 16 July 2008 by A. Read

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity
As the proud new owner of a canadian canoe, I bought this book of canoe trip routes for suggestions. Certainly it has many routes. Unfortunately the route descriptions focus on milestones along the route rather than a description of the hazards between individual milestones. For instance, the book will say that a given stretch of 10Km is grade 1 to 2, but there may be...
Published on 22 July 2010 by Gordon Old


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential guide to Scottish rivers, 16 July 2008
By 
A. Read (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scottish Canoe Touring: An SCA Canoe and Kayak Guide (Scottish Canoe Association) (Paperback)
We have a Canadian (open) canoe and have found this book ideal for planning trips across Scotland.

It's got a good coverage of the whole country and each river is graded, has access and exit points clearly marked, as well as hazards and rapids explained so you know what to expect when. It's also got a good selection of trips, from half a day on the Spey to a week touring the West Coast. It is a touring book though, so while there are some more challenging routes it's not suited for 'mad for it' kayaking types looking for gnarly white water.

You'll need a good OS map of the area to cover the route you select as the maps contained are only small basic diagrams, and it doesn't go into much detail, but then Scotland has so many great rivers it would be impractical to do so.

Final bonus - the pages are glossy, giving it some degree of splashproofing which is handy in a canoe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Bible for Canoeing in Scotland, 29 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Scottish Canoe Touring: An SCA Canoe and Kayak Guide (Scottish Canoe Association) (Paperback)
I really love this book. It has opened up Scotland's Rivers and Lochs to me over the past few years.

The book has over 100 different routes, giving shuttle lengths and paddle distances and grade, along with a brief description of the route followed by an almost blow by blow account of the main obstacles encountered on all of the routes. The routes include sea lochs, inland lochs and rivers and at the back of the book there are some cross Scotland routes.

I would recommend this book to anyone with an open canoe in Scotland or planning a canoeing trip to Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars canoe routes, 20 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Scottish Canoe Touring: An SCA Canoe and Kayak Guide (Scottish Canoe Association) (Paperback)
I sent off for this book because we have just bought a Canadian canoe and this was the only book that seemed to be suitable for all canoes, the other books were more for kayaking. It is clear, well written and offers lots of good advice and lovely routes to try - looking forward to our first trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, 22 July 2010
By 
Gordon Old "Headcammer" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scottish Canoe Touring: An SCA Canoe and Kayak Guide (Scottish Canoe Association) (Paperback)
As the proud new owner of a canadian canoe, I bought this book of canoe trip routes for suggestions. Certainly it has many routes. Unfortunately the route descriptions focus on milestones along the route rather than a description of the hazards between individual milestones. For instance, the book will say that a given stretch of 10Km is grade 1 to 2, but there may be several options between those points for entry or egress. Grade 2 is as much excitement as I can handle so far and I'd prefer to stick to 1. Also, important factors like width of river are missing. Tonight I attempted the River Avon south of Falkirk to discover that not only is it grade 2 several times immediately following the entry, but the river is barely wider than a canoe length, giving very few options for maneuver.
In other words, in my opinion the book has some relevant info, but concentrates on the wrong sort of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Jun. 2015
By 
P. Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Canoe Touring: An SCA Canoe and Kayak Guide (Scottish Canoe Association) (Paperback)
Excellent book for anyone who has a canoe. Covers all aspects of safety with tips. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scottish Canoe Touring: An SCA Canoe and Kayak Guide (Scottish Canoe Association)
Scottish Canoe Touring: An SCA Canoe and Kayak Guide (Scottish Canoe Association) by Scottish Canoe Association (Paperback - 20 May 2005)
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews