Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Account of Mourinho's career until he came to Chelsea
The book is an account of Mourinho's career until he signed up for chelsea in 2004. It gives you a insight into the man, how he thinks and some of his working tactics in football management. An account written by Mourinho's friend and Jose' Mourinho himself, it makes an interesting read.

I would recommend the book as a source of motivation and as a manual for...
Published on 4 July 2006 by Mr. T. G. Gidi

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much meat in it
There really wasn't as much information as I expected. Although, the guy who wrote it was close to TSO, he clearly is not a story teller. It is almost like reading a set list of facts and some inside gossip. The english in it is very poor. The first half was interesting and there were some insight into the great man himself. The second half though read like a list of...
Published on 7 April 2008 by T. Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Account of Mourinho's career until he came to Chelsea, 4 July 2006
By 
Mr. T. G. Gidi "tgidi@yahoo.com" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography (Paperback)
The book is an account of Mourinho's career until he signed up for chelsea in 2004. It gives you a insight into the man, how he thinks and some of his working tactics in football management. An account written by Mourinho's friend and Jose' Mourinho himself, it makes an interesting read.

I would recommend the book as a source of motivation and as a manual for those trying to understand the man himself. Love him or hate him, the book helps you get a better understanding of the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 14 Dec 2004
By 
Kareem Khan (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography (Paperback)
This is a fantastic read. You get real insight into the psyche of the great manager and also you get to read about his methodologies and philosophies on football. There is humour (when at Benfica, the observation department did a team report on their next opponents and the report contained 12 players!), drama (the death threats) and controversy (telling his staff to put pressure on the linesman). Overall, I recommend this book to all football fanatics, especially those who have an interest in management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much meat in it, 7 April 2008
By 
T. Young "Truth" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography (Paperback)
There really wasn't as much information as I expected. Although, the guy who wrote it was close to TSO, he clearly is not a story teller. It is almost like reading a set list of facts and some inside gossip. The english in it is very poor. The first half was interesting and there were some insight into the great man himself. The second half though read like a list of match results.

I probably would have bought the book still 'cos I am a Chelsea supporter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Portuguese One (partially) revealed, 9 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. M. A. Speedy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography (Paperback)
This book is a refreshing change from the usual dull biology. It mostly concentrates on Mourinho's development and ideas throughout his fantastic career.
The strong point of the book is that it actually discusses some of his tactical and psychological views of the game, which is quite revealing. It shows that Mourinho is a serious, loving student of the game. It is obvious that his players totally admire him - like a modern Clough. Football needs more people like him.
The only downside is that the author does ramble on about certain bureaucrats and other non-entities for pages and pages. I don't think the reader is interested. I tended to skip over these parts to get to the "juicy" parts.
Pretty cool. Let's hope he will be stupid enough to be England manager :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pele of football managers!, 24 Jan 2005
By 
A. Parker (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography (Paperback)
If you like what the man has done since he came to this country you must buy this book. It tells the story of how he went from assistant to Bobby Robson to the main man in European Football.

The book is written by lifelong friend and journalist Luis Lourenco and contains a lot of direct and detailed quotes from Mourinho himself and is probably the most informative book I have read on football, he doesnt just talk blandly about tactics he goes into detail and what you see at Chelsea he was doing at smaller portugese clubs 3 or 4 seasons ago, with the same confidence and style.
His management career (as a number 1) is only 5-6 years old and Chelsea is his 4th club, which is a fast turnaround, yet every club he joins improves and every club he has left have gone backwards afterwards. Not to mention that in that time he won everything there is to win in Portugal, as well as the UEFA Cup and Champions League.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fairly typical biography, 7 Feb 2010
By 
B. Chapman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography (Paperback)
Unfortunately I paid for this book, unfortunate because I was hoping for something "special", a turn away from the standard football biography but that wasn't the case and while it was a decent read, I'd rather have spent my money on something else.

Sure it's an interesting read and the reader notes that there is more to the man than wonderful anecdotes and his "engluese" one-liners but overall it's just another standard from zero-to-hero biography with no real content that will grip the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring...enlightening, 28 Dec 2007
This review is from: Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography (Paperback)
This is a really good book explaining how 'The Special One' handles his life and career. Not only for those interested in football but also as a general guide to life. His determination is outstanding when you read through the book and one just have to admire his life principles, discipline, confidence, and how he is always prepared and works his socks off in everything that he does. His relatively quick rise to stardom is a testament to all the work he has put in which I think will ultimately make him one of the legendary managers of the game (if he isn't already!). And I'm not even a Chelsea fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mourinho the Magician, 10 Jan 2005
This review is from: Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book which is a must for all Chelsea fans and in fact any football fan! It gives a marvellous insight into this fantastic manager, and helps us understand what makes him tick. I feel insprired by his words and he keeps my spirits high.I love the passage about not looking back but looking forward to the future.
He is a remarkable man and deserves all the success he is going to get in this country.
I will always love him forever! BUY this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography (Paperback)
This book is excellent in the way it tells us how JM thinks and works. It gave, at least me, a good insight in his mentally approach to the game, the matches and his players.
If you, as a coach, wants to develop and give yourself new insight - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars insightful, 20 Nov 2011
This review is from: Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography (Paperback)
I had always had this question: how does he come to the club, turns it around and wins where the majority fail. This book gave me an insight in his psycho. The words he users, the structure tells us that he is indeed conditioned himself to success. His farther was international, he played himself, he was an assistant coach under Robson, he has done a degree in sports science, he developed his 'Bible' and became the master of the game. I liked that book and planning to buy his latest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9f30f444)

This product

Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography
Jose Mourinho: Made in Portugal - the Authorised Biography by Jose Mourinho (Paperback - 1 Dec 2004)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews