Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for team building
I used this book for a team building exercise. The use of animals to describe communication styles was easily understood and very apt in most cases.
Published 5 months ago by j e swift

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
It's an interesting read and I now understand I'm a monkey, that my wife is a dolphin and that I work with a lion and another monkey (yes, we're very naughty together). But I was disappointed that the book only identifies which animals you are and doesn't tell you how to build teams of them or how they interact. Pretty expensive too for possibly the thinnest book I've...
Published 4 months ago by Mr Lee Bestall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for team building, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "It's a Zoo Around Here": The New Rules for Better Communication (Paperback)
I used this book for a team building exercise. The use of animals to describe communication styles was easily understood and very apt in most cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Interesting and Easy Read, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "It's a Zoo Around Here": The New Rules for Better Communication (Paperback)
This book is very easy to read, and describes the types of characters you could have in the workplace, how to identify these personality traits in your current environment and how to deal with people in certain situations etc. Fun reading, a book to share and talk about :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic and enlightening, I bought this after meeting the author and finding him to be very genuine and inspiring. The book is easy to read and is a must for any managers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love it!, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "It's a Zoo Around Here": The New Rules for Better Communication (Paperback)
Absolutely fascinating read. Really enjoyed analysing my friends, colleagues and myself! Helps to bring a better understanding of other's behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "It's a Zoo Around Here": The New Rules for Better Communication (Paperback)
great book - really boiled down lots of research in to one fun read, ideal for creating workshops or for getting to know how top approach people better yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 24 Feb 2008
By 
Yvonne Harley "trikeschick" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "It's a Zoo Around Here": The New Rules for Better Communication (Paperback)
I first got a copy of this book a couple of years back and have recommended it to so many colleagues - both in the communications world and general business. Forget Myers Brigs and all the other irrelevant tests that try to analyse your character/preferences through stupid questions. Nigel's approach is for real people - let's them analyse themselves and those around them in a fun way. I'm a monkey by the way, which is probably why I hate Myers Brigs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "It's a Zoo Around Here": The New Rules for Better Communication (Paperback)
It's an interesting read and I now understand I'm a monkey, that my wife is a dolphin and that I work with a lion and another monkey (yes, we're very naughty together). But I was disappointed that the book only identifies which animals you are and doesn't tell you how to build teams of them or how they interact. Pretty expensive too for possibly the thinnest book I've ever bought. Many pages only have 2-3 phrases on too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for any communicator, 11 Nov 2012
This review is from: "It's a Zoo Around Here": The New Rules for Better Communication (Paperback)
If your Job, Profession, Hobbies or relationships requires that you need to be able to communicate clearly and effectively, then this is a MUST have in your tool box!
This simply and strategic distillation of knowledge and wisdom will allow you to not only communicate with power but reach every single person!

Don't put your ideas on a pedestal, put them into ACTION- GET THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost brilliant, 13 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "It's a Zoo Around Here": The New Rules for Better Communication (Paperback)
Almost brilliant. I saw Nigel 'in action' at acference and bought the book following that. I read it in just over an hour and while insightful, I don't feel I got value for money. I have read it again and use some of it regularly with staff but this only works because they saw Nigel too and so the in-jokes work. I felt it needed more practical advice to warrant the cover price. I enjoyed it but.....
(I am most definitely a monkey)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars identify your place within the human tribe !, 25 May 2010
This review is from: "It's a Zoo Around Here": The New Rules for Better Communication (Paperback)
I've read other books by Nigel Risner, and must confess - he always presents excellent methods for lateral thinking !
this book is simply great in many ways, it's short concise, easy to grasp and understand and most of all enjoyable.
You can read the book in literally 2 hours (I'm a slow reader) and will have to refer back to it several times over - the amazing thing is that you learn so much about yourself and identify traits about your communication with others animals oops humans

A must have for anyone who has to deal with other human beings on a regular basis ! for business & personal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"It's a Zoo Around Here": The New Rules for Better Communication
10.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews