Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars12
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2008
As a former A level student who used these notes, and achieved an A grade at English A level, I feel this text provides an invaluable resource for those who wish to successfully study Ian McEwan's "Enduring Love". Each chapter of the book is dealt with individually, with the author providing a commentary of points/ rhetorical questions and analysis with which the student can interact. This enables the student to develop their own reading of the text, rather than merely providing them with an "exam worthy" reading. Analysis of the appendices is also included as well as sample essays which demonstrate how the student can communicate their views on the text successfully. These are particularly useful as they show how the points raised across the book can be moulded into all manner of essay questions; this in turn demonstrates the value of a close reading and understanding of a text, which encourages the student to transfer the skills learnt in this text to the others they study. I feel that these notes are aimed at a higher ability student when used alone, but they could also provide a useful resource for teachers, aiming to raise the performance of their own students, by using them as a discussion guide for group or class work.

Grateful former A level student.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2011
To do well in A-Level English Literature it is important to demonstrate that you have your own "reading" of the text. You need to show that you have an original understanding which you can support from the novel using quotations where appropriate. These notes are brilliant for achieving that goal. The approach, using a questioning style, guides you and makes you think for yourself, leading to a deep personal understanding. If the notes were to offer the author's opinions in an overt way, that reading would be regurgitated by groups of students and be familiar to to the examiners. It would not be seen as an individual reading. That is fine for a C or perhaps a B, but will fall short of the depth of thinking needed for an A or A* grade. The notes make you work hard and are not a "revision guide". They are more suited to an ambitious student aiming for Oxbridge. The reviewers who object to the questioning style were probably looking for "revision notes" with some plausible opinions about the novel, which would be sufficient to achieve a pass.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
A set of notes targeted at theachers. Basic summary plots (one wonders if English A-Level teachers are deemed so ignorant as not to understand the plot) a few questions to ask the pupils (with the very insightful statement 'I find that asking questions is a good way of teaching', yes it has been since Socrates' times) no analysis, no critical insight. A few essays from students at the back, quite basic, with no quotes, no bibliography and unacademic layout.

I would NOT advise to buy it.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
I taught Enduring Love at AS for the first time this year and there is much to recommend this book. They are not so much 'notes' as a series of questions; students are encouraged to form their own opinions by engaging with the text on their own terms. The quality of presentation is a bit rough and ready (the cover design is awful) and one of the chapters is inexplicably omitted but it is a useful supplement to A-level study.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
The book is written in question form so you have to think about the answer instead of the author spoon-feeding you the answer. This is slightly annoying for last minute revision. This book is more suitable to use at least a few months before the exam.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
This book is good for critics and helped me a lot during A Level English Literature. Worth recommending no matter how much i hated reading Enduring Love. This book allows you to understand it more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
There were no notes, just questions on each chapter.
However,I did find the essay samples at the back very useful.
I wouldn't recommend, its not worth it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
This was effective as a simple chapter guide to the novel but no more than this; the archaic typo for 'f' was also off-putting.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
Excellent
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
After discovering a disapointing lack of revision guides for Enduring Love, I ordered up this one. As a student, I can say the bland layout and constant stream of small print text really did nothing for me. It didn't help me take anything in at all. Instead of laying out points and explaining them, this book asks questions into different aspects of the novel. This is all well and good, until you realise that you don't infact know the answer. So then your a bit lost really.
If your looking for something to help you pass an exam, I wouldnt advise this, unless your will to research every point thats made. If your a teacher and want new ideas for a lesson plan, go for it.
Saying all that, it is the only help book I could find so maybe i'm being a bit harsh. Doesnt compare to York Notes etc though.
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)