Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boxing Fitness
An excellent reference guide for boxing training. Covers techniques, equipment, drills, nutrition, and even how to apply hand wraps. There are some excellent sample training programmes in there aswell. Would reccommend it to beginners or anyone looking for new ideas or information on how to maximise their training.
Published on 16 Jan 2005

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better
Overall this book gives you a good intro into fitness for boxing, but my main criticisms are;

1/ There isn't enough detail about actual exercise form. If you aren't already familiar with the exercise, you'll have to look it up somewhere else.

2/ There is only 1 actual workout (beginners are told to half each exercise). Although the book goes into...
Published on 16 July 2006 by climbatron


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boxing Fitness, 16 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series) (Paperback)
An excellent reference guide for boxing training. Covers techniques, equipment, drills, nutrition, and even how to apply hand wraps. There are some excellent sample training programmes in there aswell. Would reccommend it to beginners or anyone looking for new ideas or information on how to maximise their training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 25 Oct 2005
By 
C WHERRITT (Abingdon, OXON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series) (Paperback)
This book is perfect if you know absolutely nothing about the training side of boxing and the physical requirements of it.

It goes through all the types of punches, how to stand and using your body weight while doing them, goes through good routines and advantages of doing running, weights, skipping, sparing and much more.
This is just the type of book that i was looking for and highly recommend it to anyone with no experience of boxing and want to get into it, and also learn how to get fighting fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 22 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series) (Paperback)
All you need to get started and fit!!!! Just the right amount of info to get you started boxing for fitness. Really works and is great fun. My only critism is that there isnt a follow up book for people who want to develop more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 18 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series) (Paperback)
I'm a complete novice to boxing and have been training for a mere few weeks for fitness rather than any desire to fight in the ring. I bought this book because it promised to contain pertinent information to get me started written by a Londoner with 30 years experience.

I was right - it does and in both a humorous and informative way. As a female attempting to learn to box on her own in the gym I found it rather encouraging to have references made to women boxers with sound advice - albeit a bit tongue in cheek sometimes - see the reference to having a pee before skipping!!! Cheeky sod, but so so true!

All in all a great reference tool for learning the basics of boxing with many excellent instructional photographs and the sense that the author has an invaluable history of both doing and teaching boxing.

One last thing, I'd also recommend "The Gleason's Gym total body boxing workout for women" by Hector Roca and Bruce Silverglade for my fellow female boxers, especially if you're a fan of Million Dollar Baby - its a variation of the workout Hillary Swank did to get in fighting shape.

I'd recommend the above book to anyone starting out who wants a no nonsense approach to getting fit through boxing. Worth the pennies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great For The Begginer, 31 Oct 2009
By 
D. Mesgna "El Sugoi Artist" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series) (Paperback)
Like all combat sports, boxing is a martial art and the only way to learn it is by going out their and doing it with a qualified instructor or skilled practitioner, that being said this book is great,teaching the nature and type of sport boxing is today. if your acquainted with the workout routines mentioned within the book it serves as a reminder of how to make them most effective and assures safe practice, keeping you on the path to boxing fitness. This book even contains a chapter on boxing nutrition and maintaining a balanced diet. It by no means is a professional boxing book in terms of advance technique and fighting strategy but rather a workout tool for common exercises used by boxers of all skill levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better, 16 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series) (Paperback)
Overall this book gives you a good intro into fitness for boxing, but my main criticisms are;

1/ There isn't enough detail about actual exercise form. If you aren't already familiar with the exercise, you'll have to look it up somewhere else.

2/ There is only 1 actual workout (beginners are told to half each exercise). Although the book goes into swiss ball, medecine ball, weights etc, none of these are included in the workout.

The overall layout is 'you could do this, or this, or this, or this', but I wanted a guide to get fighting fit - not a 'work out yourself how to get fighting fit'.

However, if you are used to exercise and building your own routines, there's plenty of ideas that are probably new to you. And even though there's only one routine - it's tough !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect pugilism for any age, 11 Jun 2012
By 
H. Hubball "henry the first" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series) (Paperback)
This is a book that not only trains and exercises you for boxing but is useful for all martial arts. It covers comprehensively and thoroughly the overall and specialised excercises needed for fitness and speed in boxing ( as well as how to train if you're ill, injured or elderly ). There is no single website or section of a website that will give you such concise, informed, comprehensive and thoughtful training. Just look at the expert people that give glowing reviews on the back of this book. I'm sixty two years old and this book made me twice as fit as I was and I can now box better than I ever did in my pugilistic life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series) (Paperback)
i love this book. I bought it for reference as I use boxing in some of my exercise classes and personal training. It is a great book which tells you the basics and some advanced information about boxing, circuit training, resistnce trining, etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A boxing bible, 17 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series) (Paperback)
What a great book, written in a sensible, down to earth style by someone who knows the real world the everyday man and woman on the street lives in. It's a brilliant read for the aspiring amateur who wants to get him/herself in great shape and fit for boxing. I followed some of the training schedules in this book to get in my best shape for 12 years for a 'boxathon' hitting a heavybag for 26 rounds for charity, which I completed in style. The 'hard gainers' weights workout is gruelling but brings excellent results in overall power and the practical advice on running was very good also. A short cruiserweight I developed savage power in both hands and was running up hills - I'm hooked now and don't want to stop. A knockout read for Ian Oliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for beginners, 23 July 2009
By 
E. Kaya (Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series) (Paperback)
This book is well-written and quite explanatory for the beginner level boxer. It gives all the basics that you need to learn. But after being a little bit proficient it will not be sufficient. For the beginners I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boxing Fitness: A Guide to Get Fighting Fit (Fitness Series)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews