Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating story, 20 Dec. 2006
By 
Ian Miller (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Boy Off the Bank (Paperback)
Geoffrey Lewis has written a moving account of the experiences of a young, abused boy during the war years. Mikey, the hero, attempts suicide but is rescued by a family of "boaters", the people who worked on narrow boats. Apart from the human story the book is a treasury of information about England's canal system. By the time you have finished it you will have a good understanding of how the canal system worked, where the canals ran and the effect on their infrastructure resulting from wartime maintenance constraints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book. Well researched by the author. Really highlighted the tough times these people had and the high and lows. Just about to purchase the sequel girl at the tiller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After always enjoying my walks along canals and also hiring narrow boats for several years, I appreciated reading the story of life before the canals were improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boy off the bank, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book very much , I grew up around Braunston so was able to relate to the canals ,very well written , plenty of highs and lows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Canal book, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't normally read canal fiction, but unable to find a suitable non fiction book, I decided to have a look at this one. Superb story with an in depth knowledge of canals. I have now bought the other two in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Oi loove Moikey Baker!", 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Accurate portrayal of narrow boating, a beautiful depth of feeling & loveable characters make this an engrossing read.
You'll love Mikey Baker too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read., 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not usually given to reading novels. I found this title quite by chance and thought I'd give it a go. So glad I did. It is so factually accurate I found it hard to believe it wasn't a biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars |Couldnt put it down., 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Boy Off the Bank (Paperback)
I loved this book, having visited some of the places mentioned I felt at times I was actually there. Owning a boat myself made understanding it easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars boy on the bank, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Boy Off the Bank (Paperback)
I could not put this book down,can't wait to read the rest we own o narrowband so to read the past history of the canal familys was fntastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. P. J. Howarth (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read without being too heavy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Boy Off the Bank
A Boy Off the Bank by Geoffrey Lewis (Paperback - 29 Aug. 2006)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews