Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern taoist classic
More than any of Chee Soo's other books I can see this being one I'm likely to re-read many times. Although the book has a lot of depth it is also very accessible.

The heart of the book is 8 chapters of Chee Soo's thoughts on the Tao and comes across similar to the Tao Te Ching but being written more recently and in English makes it much easier to digest. These...
Published on 19 Oct 2006 by Justin Knight

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Condition
Cover slightly bent, other than that very good condition. Bought for husband, personally I would rather a little more information about e Tao. This is more of a quick reference to proverbs, and in that respect it is very pleasing.
Published 5 months ago by Siobhan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern taoist classic, 19 Oct 2006
By 
Justin Knight (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tao of My Thoughts: The Inner Thoughts of a Modern Taoist Master (Taoist Arts of the Lee Style) (Hardcover)
More than any of Chee Soo's other books I can see this being one I'm likely to re-read many times. Although the book has a lot of depth it is also very accessible.

The heart of the book is 8 chapters of Chee Soo's thoughts on the Tao and comes across similar to the Tao Te Ching but being written more recently and in English makes it much easier to digest. These 8 chapters are brilliant and resonated very strongly with me - this book could well become one of the taoist classics.

The appendix contains a short but valuable insight into Chee Soo's life through a transcript of a conversation with his Widow Marilyn. For people like me who weren't fortunate enough to have met him it is a nice addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A profoundly simple book, 14 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Tao of My Thoughts: The Inner Thoughts of a Modern Taoist Master (Taoist Arts of the Lee Style) (Hardcover)
In all the years I've studied this subject, I've come across so many academic manuals, scholarly works and literary treatises that I was beginning to despair of ever finding anything which expressed the fundamental simplicity of this philosophy, and its practical down-to-earth nature. This book changed my perception that the Tao couldn't be written about at all.

The aphorisms are simple throughout, but they are profound. I read a lot of them very soon after I got the book, but it was only when I went back a second, third and fourth time that I began to appreciate just how much depth there was beneath the surface. As with all the best taoist writings, what looks superficial is actually extremely deep, and what seems incredibly complex is, conversely, nearly always very simple.

This book is a masterpiece of advice for the modern reader who wants to try to put this philosophy into action in a meaningful way in their everyday lives. If a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step, then the first step should be to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taoism in its simplicity - the genuine deal, 12 Dec 2006
By 
J. J. Fitzsimmons (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tao of My Thoughts: The Inner Thoughts of a Modern Taoist Master (Taoist Arts of the Lee Style) (Hardcover)
Although I never met Chee Soo (he lived just down the road from me) I continue to be inspired by his teachings and down to earth approach to Taoism. Taoism as told through the thoughts of a genuine modern master. Simply laid out and to the heart of Taoism there is no other book out there that will come close to portraying the fundamentals of Taoism as this one. A book for all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside the mind of a Grandmaster, 19 Nov 2006
By 
R. Simpson "Rachel Simpson" (The Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tao of My Thoughts: The Inner Thoughts of a Modern Taoist Master (Taoist Arts of the Lee Style) (Hardcover)
I have been studying Taoism for 19 years , for me this book is a manual to help me progress further with my studies.

I was extremely lucky to meet Chee Soo he was an inspiration to me at a time in my life when I was facing a serious illness which he helped me to overcome. He taught me to face up to the challenges in my life & to train constantly to live closer to the Tao, this book has been hidden for many years but now it is here for all to benefit from & I for one was glad to learn more about Taoism from such a respected Teacher.

I hope it will help you to see that Taoism isn't something weird & mystical but a practical way of living your life that is just as relevant today as it was in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Condition, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of My Thoughts: The Inner Thoughts of a Modern Taoist Master (Taoist Arts of the Lee Style) (Hardcover)
Cover slightly bent, other than that very good condition. Bought for husband, personally I would rather a little more information about e Tao. This is more of a quick reference to proverbs, and in that respect it is very pleasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tai chi, 4 Sep 2013
By 
P R DEAN (LLANIDLOES, POWYS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of My Thoughts: The Inner Thoughts of a Modern Taoist Master (Taoist Arts of the Lee Style) (Hardcover)
I study tai chi, the lee style, and these books by chee soo help me no end with my studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews