Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars52
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2010
This book is a bargain. Over sixty pages of colourful illustrations and a fold out map are all included and £1 of the cover price will be used to support World Heritage Site education and conservation programmes.

The first part explains graphically the periods of geological time and places each into the context of the World Heritage Coast. Each main period is then explored individually in terms of the global continental changes that occurred, sample creatures of each epoch are pictured in lavish landscapes and in photographs of fossil remains.

The book then takes a tour along the coast zone by zone. For each zone the geology is explained and the processes that created key features are investigated in insets. More colourful illustrations reinforce the landscape changes and depict places to visit and historical events of interest in each zone.

This book is not a text book but none the less includes a wealth of geological information which is presented in an accessible colourful and concise way. The exciting presentation I am sure will delight any 8-80 year old interested in visiting the Jurassic coast.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
An excellent read - full of information on the different geological periods and their influence on the wonderful Dorset coast. As a full time photographer leading photographic workshops on the Dorset coast I have found this book to be informative but not too technical and heavy to pass on information on to my participants. Well worth the money, and a great reference book to hold on to.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
This is a brilliantly illustrated book which concentrates on explaining the geology of the Jurassic Coast in terms which are not overly technical. It's very easy to read and I think would be found interesting by any age group because of the beautiful photography etc as well as all of the information. There's a useful summary towards the end of lots of other sources of information for the area and a reasonable pull-out map. It is important to note that it doesn't give any details of the coast path and this would be no substitute for one of the full path guides. But overall it's good value for the money.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you know you're going to the Jurassic Coast then I imagine, if you're like me, you'll be pouring over all of the specialty web sites and the home pages for all of the villages, towns, and attractions along the way.

But, if you're at that stage where you're thinking about a visit or just trying to get a handle on the area and its offerings, well this is a wonderful guide that will provide an excellent overview and get you oriented to the area so you'll know what to research more deeply. The internet can be all trees and no forest and a good guidebook like this one just seems like a great way to get a general sense of where you are and what you're doing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
A good little book for a quick overview. If you want more detail look for a more in depth one. This was enough to give me the main points of interest but I will probably buy another to give more information.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Great book. Really informative in a holiday-need to know a bit more way. You won't pass a geology degree with this book, but you will learn how and why the Jurassic coast is so special and be able to imagine the forces at play here so much better. I enjoyed it immensely (and I have a very old Geology degree)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
Well illustrated. Wide ranging. Well written, assuming you know nothing or very little,(correct in my case!). Even has a pullout map in the back of the whole coastline with age of rocks, visitor centers, bus routes and numbers, railway stations etc.
It takes you through geological time with representatives of creatures known to exist then, how the landscape formed, how fossils formed and much much more. After reading this you should be able to hold your own in conversation with any geology student you meet on the beaches.

I liked the historical parts. Past geological greats and fossil collectors, and the impact their amazing finds had on the public at that time. Mary Anning's story is particularly interesting. An amazing woman.

Do not expect to be able to identify fossils down to species level with this book. This is an overview book, and not a scientific reference tome. However it certainly is a very good general information book about this era and this area.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is coming down to visit Dorset with a mind to exploring the coastline and perhaps observing and finding some of these fascinating fossils. Who knows, perhaps you'll be lucky and find that perfect specimen.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Bought as a gift so only flicked through. Looks great, there are well written detailed parts for the adults and more basic but still informative parts for kids too. This book seems to be aimed at a broad spectrum of fossil hunting wanabees. Perfect if you are just getting into the hobby however if you want a more detailed book about fossils and geography rather than actualy intending to visit the jurassic coast I would reccomend a book with a more text book approach. None the less- great book with lots of diagrams and pictures!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
informative and as a first time visitor this guide will allow me to choose places to visit, things to do and get the most out of a planned long weekend. the presentation is excellent and includes some stunning photography. Very pleased with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Excellent portable little guide .Map is the "official" one you will see on the walls of the information centres along the Dorset/Devon coast . You can entertain your family (or otherwise ) with the nuggets of information inside .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)