Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Renovate a House in France
At last! After a glut of books on how to buy your dream house of age and character in France, here's one on how to make it strong, beautiful and habitable.
The authors have taken what could be deemed - let's face it - a fairly tedious subject and produced a lively, accessible and thoroughly researched book.
'How to Renovate a House in France' takes you through...
Published on 24 Jun. 2004 by Jacqui Bowden

versus
43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too superficial to be of any real help
On a positive note I can say that this book is well illustrated and quite an easy read. It may help you understand what your builder is doing but it certainly will not give you sufficient information to complete many jobs yourself. My copy is for sale used. As an alternative a friend has loaned me a copy of "Renovating & maintaining your French home" by Joe Laredo and...
Published on 19 Oct. 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Renovate a House in France, 24 Jun. 2004
This review is from: How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France (Paperback)
At last! After a glut of books on how to buy your dream house of age and character in France, here's one on how to make it strong, beautiful and habitable.
The authors have taken what could be deemed - let's face it - a fairly tedious subject and produced a lively, accessible and thoroughly researched book.
'How to Renovate a House in France' takes you through the early processes of assessing any damage linked to your new purchase, selecting your method of renovation, and getting down to the heavy-duty business of weatherproofing roofs and walls. Next come individual sections on floors, kitchens, bathrooms, lofts, cellars (caves), gardens and swimming pools to name but a few. And finally you get lots of essential advice on the basics, such as organising insurance, sourcing materials, dealing with French plumbers, and tackling dreaded "red tape" scenarios.
Oh, and with heaps of high-quality, glossy colour photos illustrating every section, this book is gorgeous to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too superficial to be of any real help, 19 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France (Paperback)
On a positive note I can say that this book is well illustrated and quite an easy read. It may help you understand what your builder is doing but it certainly will not give you sufficient information to complete many jobs yourself. My copy is for sale used. As an alternative a friend has loaned me a copy of "Renovating & maintaining your French home" by Joe Laredo and this is proving to be really informative and comprehensive (also about half the price).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Renovate a house in France, 14 Mar. 2006
This review is from: How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France (Paperback)
The BEST book by far that i have bought to renovate an old house in France. I have a barn i am converting and it has the most amazing info and pictures. Has average cost breakdowns, other projects. Am absolute gem of a book! Would recommend anyone purchasing a property to renovate in France purchases this book - it is my life saver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French House Building, 30 Nov. 2005
By 
Ms. T. Cox (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France (Paperback)
This book was very intresting, stating all the facts you need to know when tackling those unsure of jobs on your French home. The language was simple and easy to understand. There is also a list of French translations at the back of the book for lots of words you will need to do with the building trade.
The step by step pictures are useful too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buying in property France? Read this book, 4 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France (Paperback)
Totally agree with the other reviews. This book is a tip top intro to renovating a house in France. Don't expect a flood of detail or a publication just made up of pretty pictures. This book will help you THINK about what you might be getting into or have landed in. If you are considering buying something that needs work, read this first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE COMPLIMENT TO BUYING/RENOVATING IN FRANCE!, 5 Feb. 2006
This review is from: How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France (Paperback)
What a great find!
Super photographs and well designed lay-out, compliment a fact filled guide to making a French property dream come true. The informations all there, along with lots of inspiration.
This book has proven itself priceless, helping us purchase and renovate in France recently - proving that the details are up to date too. Tip Top Thanks !!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spannish renovation, 11 Oct. 2007
By 
J. Mccrae "J.B.McCrae" (Valencia,Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France (Paperback)
Even though my project was in Spain not France. The lack of publications on the subject over the Pyrenees was frustrating, until in a bookstore in Oban Scotland i found a copy of "How to Renovate a House in France" and along with various others I have found it essential reading.
Thanks to David Ackers and friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How to Renovate a House in France, 26 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France (Paperback)
A nice coffee table book (at a price), with lots of glossy photos. However the title perhaps should read 'How to buy a house in France and get a builder to renovate it'. There are lots of 'how to buy your dream house in France' books and this book sadly just adds to them. It lacks any real technical help as far as renovation goes other than guiding you to what you should ask your builder. If you really are keen on learning the many building / diy techniques that are used in France ( and are generally differnt from the British methods) you would be better off saving your money and picking up some 'how to' leaflets next time you are in a French diy store. If you still want to buy it why not wait for the price to come down or better still buy it second hand my copy will be there as I am sure many other dissapointed readers copies will be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for advice, contacts, inspiration and encouragement, 23 April 2007
By 
This review is from: How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France (Paperback)
I must compliment the author for the inspiration and confidence which he gives to others such as myself, who are on the road to creating a dream to live in, one that reflects appreciation of traditional ideas, materials and designs.

This book has been, and still is, the source of encouragement for me, and I am sure so many others...thumb through and ponder over each and every page!

A huge thank you.

Sandra (now living happily in France)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 31 July 2005
This review is from: How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France (Paperback)
A great book for explaining rules and the difference between one countries red tape compared to your own!! Well worth the cost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Renovate a House in France: The Essential Know-how to Create Your Dream Home in France
Used & New from: £19.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews