Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An Easy read
I got this book for Christmas and couldnt put it down, by far the best book on the topic as I have seen several others.

What makes it so enjoyable and easy to read is the way it is structured and written. The writer simply did the following -

> Suryey a broad cross section of 100 peoples dreams and expectations on what Country living would be...
Published on 1 Jan 2010 by C. Brown

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Townie fantasy
I just couldn't make my mind up about this book, is it serious advice for townies or is it supposed to be a humorous look at the misconceptions that they have about the countryside.
If the former then Richard Craze just comes across as supercilious, condescending and arrogant in his attitude to countryside dwellers. If its an attempt at humour it just doesn't work...
Published on 26 April 2008 by L. S. Van Meer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Townie fantasy, 26 April 2008
By 
L. S. Van Meer "Roadrunner" (Torquay, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living" (Paperback)
I just couldn't make my mind up about this book, is it serious advice for townies or is it supposed to be a humorous look at the misconceptions that they have about the countryside.
If the former then Richard Craze just comes across as supercilious, condescending and arrogant in his attitude to countryside dwellers. If its an attempt at humour it just doesn't work for the same reasons.
As an ex-crofter I do know a few things about living the "good life", it isn't sitting with your feet up, watching things grow and drinking home made beer or cider, its bloody hard work! One example in his book are his comments about wood-burning stoves. We used to light ours in the autumn and it was kept alight until the spring providing heat and hot water! As John Seymour said, wood keeps you warm twice, when you cut it and when you burn it.
Sorry, but I think I'll use this book to light the fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Irritating style and pessimistic, 26 Nov 2006
This review is from: Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living" (Paperback)
This is a highly pessimistic book that goes out of its way to portray living in the countryside as nothing short of a hellish existence for ex-townies. Craze's sneering tone of voice and I'm-so-smart attitude really starts to grate after the first couple of chapters. It's also a wonder that any of his neighbours haven't shunned him, given the way he talks about village folk. They are portrayed as backward hicks with little culture and primitive, nosey ways.

On the plus side, there are a few points in this book that might be worth considering for townies wanting to move to the country. But after reading Out of Your Townie Mind you might decide not to bother. Perhaps that's the point, and Craze wants to keep it all to himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really boring -- a topic that needed some humour, 29 Sep 2007
This review is from: Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living" (Paperback)
This book is so dry. And repetative. And -- did I mention -- just not funny. All those professional reviewers (like good old H. F. Whittingsall) who say this is laugh-out-loud funny must be his personal friends, because... it just ain't so.

I thought the premise was great: a townie moves to the country, struggles and looks foolish, but still loves it and stays... he writes a book to warn us 'un-beware' Escape-to-the-Country Wannabes of the pitfalls and all the humourous anecdotes would just flow forth and make us laugh at ourselves. But no. He forgot his funny bone back in London. He presents all the Townies' desires chapter-by-chapter and takes the tone of an old history school book; and the final chapter is a presentation of his research methods and surveying skills.

I mean, honestly -- have a laugh with the subject, please. Or maybe he thinks he was being funny? Oh, now, that's even worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Easy read, 1 Jan 2010
By 
C. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living" (Paperback)
I got this book for Christmas and couldnt put it down, by far the best book on the topic as I have seen several others.

What makes it so enjoyable and easy to read is the way it is structured and written. The writer simply did the following -

> Suryey a broad cross section of 100 peoples dreams and expectations on what Country living would be like.
> Order the responses with most popular first.
> Give the Dream first.
> Give the Reality next.
> Conclude with a balanced view and key questions to ask yourself.

It is well written and very humorous, I thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A cautionary tale, 4 April 2009
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living" (Paperback)
This is, indeed, a cautionary tale. Richard Craze takes you through the problems and prospects of moving to the country. It may seem an idyllic step, may seem like the sensible thing to do if you live in a city, but don't allow yourself to be carried away on a wave of optimism.

Craze lists all the options you may have identified as positive reasons for moving to the country - healthy, less stressful, grow your own food, safer for the kids, finding a sense of community, getting back to nature. They may seem laudable and welcome, but each has its downside. Craze plays devil's advocate, taking each positive reason for a move and inviting you to see them as potential negatives.

Safer for the kids? Not if there are no pavements, narrow winding roads, tractors and cars rushing by, and so on. And where's the nearest school? Sense of community? Do you really think you'll be made welcome - I speak as a Scot, from a rural area, who is not exactly enamoured by an influx of 'white settlers' driving up housing prices and driving local people off the land.

Overall, I found this an excellent corrective to the flood of books encouraging you to quit the city and take to the country, usually adopting an overly-optimistic and idealistic tone. If you are a city dweller and harbour illusions that the country will offer you an idyllic and stimulating environment, read this, read this, and read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get your head out of the clouds, 10 July 2008
By 
A. S. Gilbert (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living" (Paperback)
This book is very down to earth and if you have your head in the clouds thinking that moving from your city abode to a home in the countryside will be a bed of roses then think again. This book will bring you down to earth with one great big bang.

Each chapter starts with a myth about living in the countryside (although some are a bit daft) then goes on to outline the reality and what you can do to prepare for it. For example you might want a beautiful view from your window but unless you own the view yourself it may become an industrial estate in 12 months time so check planning applications before you buy. Other advice such as logs for your hearth have to be collected, sawn or chopped, and growing your own vegetables can be hard work, are all common sense but I guess some people think it will all be plain sailing.

So whilst the tone of the book might seem rather pessimistic, it serves as a reality check for anyone with their head in the clouds.

Personally I think anyone who wants to Escape to the Country should serious think what they are escaping from, and then do it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tells it like it is............................, 26 Oct 2007
By 
kermit 333 (England UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living" (Paperback)
As an avid telly watcher of all those move to the country/house buying and making a profit programmes etc (you know the ones!!!) I almost die laughing at the townies in raptures about wood burning stoves, open fires, the "lovely views" (I could go on but you know the sort of thing) I shout at the TV (maybe I should get out more) wood burning stoves/open fires need WOOD and as Mr Craze so rightly says needs to be chopped - and not always on a lovely summer's evening but on a wet foggy and rainy November! Also you don't live in a view but in the house you idiots! This book tells it like it is - he knows what he's talking about! Those who don't like this book are just humourless and probably are annoyed that their rural dream has been shattered. I gave this four stars because I think it doesn't cover all aspects - it could do with an expanded edition (did you know that rural areas are often the last to be hooked up again when there are powercuts? If you're really remote you need your own generator) and oh yes a large chest freezer too........... if your local large supermarket is twenty miles away you will probably not be popping down there every couple of days but will probably do a monthly shop which means places to store all that food! very very funny !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a townie survival guide, 20 May 2004
By 
Elie (SEVENOAKS, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living" (Paperback)
Just finished reading this amusing, informative and interesting book. As a bumpkin who became a townie it brings back memories of how we used to sneer at townies. Now my townie friends are migrating to the country this is going at the top of my gift list to make sure they are prepared for what's in store. Top marks to Mr Craze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The joke is on us, 17 May 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living" (Paperback)
Richard Craze has written a book about the ups and downs of moving to live in the country. But there is so little insight in the book, so little original thinking or research, and nothing that one did not know already, that one can only conclude what Mr Craze's actual motive was. Not to explain the secrets of country living (he doesn't), but to find a way to justify his own continued rural existence. Bingo! Sit in the garden shed and turn out something which (his own) publishers will print, despite the fact that it is bland and uninspiring. The message really is in the medium - he's done it and so can you. Make a living by living in the country and writing about it. You'd be out of your townie mind if you think this book will tell you anything you didn't know already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny book indeed, 26 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living" (Paperback)
I was given this book as a gift by a friend because I have been on and on about moving to the countryside for years but never done it. I laughed a lot. All my dreams were in this book and all the reasons why they would go wrong. I shall make the move one day - no really I shall - and this book will help me a lot. As well as being useful it is also very funny indeed. I hadn't come across this author before but I'm checking out his other books now as he can obviously write. It is a very funny book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out Of Your Townie Mind : " The Reality Behind The Dream Of Country Living"
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews