Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Coaches as well as therapists
As an executive coach, I strongly believe in the power of asking crucial questions to help clients change. The same is true in therapy. In this book Trevor Silvester provides a useful framework for formulating the initial questions that help the client to get to grips with their problem, and also help them to clarify the solution they want to achieve. The book has a...
Published on 15 Mar 2006

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - New cover, title, ISBN, SAME BOOK
I've really enjoyed the books by Trevor but I feel extremely annoyed by being caught out by this and don't think I'll ever order another on the strength of the annoyance. This is exactly the same book as the Wordweaving book 2 - I know it says wordweaving 2 in the title BUT I was fooled by the different publish date, cover, title & ISBN Nos. I feel like I was swindled out...
Published on 14 Mar 2012 by Steve S


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Coaches as well as therapists, 15 Mar 2006
By A Customer
As an executive coach, I strongly believe in the power of asking crucial questions to help clients change. The same is true in therapy. In this book Trevor Silvester provides a useful framework for formulating the initial questions that help the client to get to grips with their problem, and also help them to clarify the solution they want to achieve. The book has a fairly strong NLP focus and is more practically based than the first Wordweaving title. This initial core aim of the book is achieved fairly efficiently and the book then begins to feel a bit "padded" as it introduces interesting but slightly peripheral topics. For example there is a 40 page chapter on thinking lucky. This is interesting, but the reader is probably best advised to go to Richard Wiseman's original book "The Luck Factor" for this.
Nonetheless, this is a useful book for structuring coaching or therapy sessions. I would recommend it in conjunction with "Gold Counselling" by Georges Philips and Lyn Buncher; and RESOLVE by Richard Bolstad; both of which will contribute to your structuring of client sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable framework for hypnotherapists, 7 Feb 2006
By 
This book captures the key ingredients involved in developing a therapeutic framework for establishing the specific unconscious nature of the clients problem, using the clients map of the world...therein also lies the solution.
The author blends NLP and cognitive hypnotherapy techniques into a well-explained, cohesive follow-up to Wordweaving 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Coaches and Therapists, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Laura De Giorgio "hypnotherapist" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Question is the Answer: Focusing on Solutions with Cognitive Hypnotherapy(Wordweaving 2) (Paperback)
This book is a part of the trilogy of books the author has named Cognitive Hypnotherapy, and you will get the most of them if you go through all three - Wordweaving, The Question is the Answer (previously called Wordweaving 2), and Cognitive Hypnotherapy: What's That About.

The Question is the Answer continues where the first book, Wordweaving, volume 1 left off.

While the first book, Wordweaving, is focused on explaining the elements used in the Wordweaving / Cognitive Hypnotherapy process, the second book is focused on putting together all those elements and applying them to problems states for the purpose of priming the client's mind with the evidence of the solution states.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 13 Jan 2010
By 
I have trained through Trevor Silvester's Quest institute and have applied many of the techniques and theory contained in his book in my own coaching and counselling practices. The models contained in this book are simple to understand and effective to use - enabling a more client centric approach to coaching, counselling and therapy rather than the 'one size fits all' approach that traditional hypnotherapy has been accused of.
A good read which when applied well can have excellent results. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wordweaving - a recipe for successful therapy and business., 19 May 2007
This book is very useful for therapist of all levels as Wordweaving is contributing to expanding the boundaries of hypnotherapy as a powerful therapeutic tool. Updating you skill set with these processes adds strength and flexibility to your therapy choices when faced with that `difficult client' case.

The book demonstrates Wordweaving using a 4 step process based around an imaginary client session. The author clearly explains the underlying ideas that are being put forward within the therapy session and supplements these explanations with 6 very good appendices.

Step 1 covers in detail how to identify the client's problem using three simple yet powerful questions It then uses excellent NLP techniques and examples to demonstrate how to proceed and tie the results into a clearly defined outcome thus drawing your client in and focusing them on the healing process.

Also included in this part of the book is a process that the author named after the eminent therapist Gil Boyne appropriately called the Boynian pattern - another useful insight to what really works in therapy.

How many therapists anticipating the client's departure and a chance for a break waste the last few minutes of the session? The author clearly explains how important it is to turn this time to increasing the client's chances of therapy success and offers good advice on how to mine that rich vein in those closing moments.

Steps 2 builds on everything previously covered with your client. Here the focus is on how to create and deliver the Wordweaving patterns that will enable your client to achieve their therapy outcomes. This is backed up by more top quality examples in the relevant appendix.

Is your client improving? Step 3 clearly lays out the process to check whether your client perceives themselves as improving and then Step 4 ties this all together by enhancing successes achieved in all the previous steps.

The author then tops this by offering suggestions on how to help your clients maintain their changes and translate them into health and well being. The chapter on thinking yourself lucky is very appropriate here.

This book is definitely a refreshing and powerful guide to enable the therapist to provide a framework for the client to actively participate in the process of healing themselves.

In conclusion, the question really is "do you now choose to add a flexible, innovative and proven recipe for success which expands your knowledge, helps you help your clients and thus offers potential to enhance your business?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wordweaving II, 20 May 2006
Wordweaving II - The question is the answer

This is a book that equips therapists to respond creatively to clients in constructing individually tailored hypnotic interventions. There is much detail to illustrate and explain the innovative use of questions [`the question is the answer'], the development and use of well directed hypnotic language patterns and the utilisation of trance states that the client may already be experiencing in relation to their problem, as well as casework examples to show the theory in practice.

Another theme that the author highlights is `the importance of consequence'. The idea that our future arises from our past is not new. Trevor Silvester cites recent research to support the paradoxical idea that it is an individual's perception of their future that clearly has consequences for their actions and beliefs today - which then colours their future. The author illustrates ways in which this intriguing idea can be applied to create the positive expectations that are so much more likely to lead to a positive healthy future.

In short - a gem of a book, full of practical advice, suggestions and examples to ensure therapeutic interventions are focused and effective while remaining respectful of and empowering for clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a terrific guide for all hypnotherapists, 1 Sep 2006
By 
The first of the "Wordweaving" series sets out the general groundwork and foundations of creating and crafting suggestions for use in hypnosis. It is a far reaching and thorough guide to how problems are formed and how hypnotherapy may solve them. It covers a great deal of ground from Ericksonian models to Neuro-logical Levels and Trance Phenomenon and is comprehensively wrapped up in Trevor Silvester's theory of "Wordweaving". This is essentially a guide to the creation of indirect hypnotic language patterns, meaning that the therapist does not have to rely upon scripts and is also more able to overcome resistance on the part of the client. It is a powerful method of Hypnotherapy.

This book, Wordweaving Volume II, continues this theme but is more of an A to B to C style. It is a concrete guide to Therapy and answered a lot of my (natural) questions as a reasonably new hypnotherapist. Although I found Volume I enlightening and very useful it is, necessarily, a tough read at times. I believe that both are necessary to understand and begin to get to grips with Wordweaving and the addition of this second volume added an enormous amount to my understanding. It gave me more than twice the confidence that I had from the first alone.

These are probably not books for those curious about hypnotism or those without some degree of experience of hypnotherapy (although are a very interesting read) however for any therapist wishing to up their game I wholeheartedly recommend both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful addition, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trevor's books are all good to have on the shelf. Easy to read, good knowledge and helpful exercises to use on oneself or with clients. I recommend him to friends and colleagues who are into hypnotherapy as they will find these become familiar friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trevor & Wordweaving volume 11, 30 May 2011
[...]

This is a follow on from Wordweaving Volume 1, and should be read in conjunction, having said this, it is easy to read and understand and can stand alone...
Trevor writes with an understanding of the mind and what it needs to know, more than most writers of Science, and whilst I classify this as a book on Science, it very much melds with self help, and all therapies, an understanding of our language, how we are individuals and speak strange language, here is the dictionary...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Insights and Really something you can work with, 10 April 2011
I'm currently training as a hypnotherapist and this book was a godsend. I read both books within a week and have since read the 3rd (Cognitive Hypnotherapy). This book doesn't tell you how to 'hypnotise' people at all, but does teach you how to use much more effective language with clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4d95648)

This product

The Question is the Answer: Focusing on Solutions with Cognitive Hypnotherapy(Wordweaving 2)
13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews