Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 15 March 2006
As an executive coach, I strongly believe in the power of asking crucial questions to help clients change. The same is true in therapy. In this book Trevor Silvester provides a useful framework for formulating the initial questions that help the client to get to grips with their problem, and also help them to clarify the solution they want to achieve. The book has a fairly strong NLP focus and is more practically based than the first Wordweaving title. This initial core aim of the book is achieved fairly efficiently and the book then begins to feel a bit "padded" as it introduces interesting but slightly peripheral topics. For example there is a 40 page chapter on thinking lucky. This is interesting, but the reader is probably best advised to go to Richard Wiseman's original book "The Luck Factor" for this.
Nonetheless, this is a useful book for structuring coaching or therapy sessions. I would recommend it in conjunction with "Gold Counselling" by Georges Philips and Lyn Buncher; and RESOLVE by Richard Bolstad; both of which will contribute to your structuring of client sessions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
This book is a part of the trilogy of books the author has named Cognitive Hypnotherapy, and you will get the most of them if you go through all three - Wordweaving, The Question is the Answer (previously called Wordweaving 2), and Cognitive Hypnotherapy: What's That About.

The Question is the Answer continues where the first book, Wordweaving, volume 1 left off.

While the first book, Wordweaving, is focused on explaining the elements used in the Wordweaving / Cognitive Hypnotherapy process, the second book is focused on putting together all those elements and applying them to problems states for the purpose of priming the client's mind with the evidence of the solution states.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 13 January 2010
I have trained through Trevor Silvester's Quest institute and have applied many of the techniques and theory contained in his book in my own coaching and counselling practices. The models contained in this book are simple to understand and effective to use - enabling a more client centric approach to coaching, counselling and therapy rather than the 'one size fits all' approach that traditional hypnotherapy has been accused of.
A good read which when applied well can have excellent results. I recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 7 February 2006
This book captures the key ingredients involved in developing a therapeutic framework for establishing the specific unconscious nature of the clients problem, using the clients map of the world...therein also lies the solution.
The author blends NLP and cognitive hypnotherapy techniques into a well-explained, cohesive follow-up to Wordweaving 1.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 19 May 2007
This book is very useful for therapist of all levels as Wordweaving is contributing to expanding the boundaries of hypnotherapy as a powerful therapeutic tool. Updating you skill set with these processes adds strength and flexibility to your therapy choices when faced with that `difficult client' case.

The book demonstrates Wordweaving using a 4 step process based around an imaginary client session. The author clearly explains the underlying ideas that are being put forward within the therapy session and supplements these explanations with 6 very good appendices.

Step 1 covers in detail how to identify the client's problem using three simple yet powerful questions It then uses excellent NLP techniques and examples to demonstrate how to proceed and tie the results into a clearly defined outcome thus drawing your client in and focusing them on the healing process.

Also included in this part of the book is a process that the author named after the eminent therapist Gil Boyne appropriately called the Boynian pattern - another useful insight to what really works in therapy.

How many therapists anticipating the client's departure and a chance for a break waste the last few minutes of the session? The author clearly explains how important it is to turn this time to increasing the client's chances of therapy success and offers good advice on how to mine that rich vein in those closing moments.

Steps 2 builds on everything previously covered with your client. Here the focus is on how to create and deliver the Wordweaving patterns that will enable your client to achieve their therapy outcomes. This is backed up by more top quality examples in the relevant appendix.

Is your client improving? Step 3 clearly lays out the process to check whether your client perceives themselves as improving and then Step 4 ties this all together by enhancing successes achieved in all the previous steps.

The author then tops this by offering suggestions on how to help your clients maintain their changes and translate them into health and well being. The chapter on thinking yourself lucky is very appropriate here.

This book is definitely a refreshing and powerful guide to enable the therapist to provide a framework for the client to actively participate in the process of healing themselves.

In conclusion, the question really is "do you now choose to add a flexible, innovative and proven recipe for success which expands your knowledge, helps you help your clients and thus offers potential to enhance your business?"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 20 May 2006
Wordweaving II - The question is the answer

This is a book that equips therapists to respond creatively to clients in constructing individually tailored hypnotic interventions. There is much detail to illustrate and explain the innovative use of questions [`the question is the answer'], the development and use of well directed hypnotic language patterns and the utilisation of trance states that the client may already be experiencing in relation to their problem, as well as casework examples to show the theory in practice.

Another theme that the author highlights is `the importance of consequence'. The idea that our future arises from our past is not new. Trevor Silvester cites recent research to support the paradoxical idea that it is an individual's perception of their future that clearly has consequences for their actions and beliefs today - which then colours their future. The author illustrates ways in which this intriguing idea can be applied to create the positive expectations that are so much more likely to lead to a positive healthy future.

In short - a gem of a book, full of practical advice, suggestions and examples to ensure therapeutic interventions are focused and effective while remaining respectful of and empowering for clients.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 1 September 2006
The first of the "Wordweaving" series sets out the general groundwork and foundations of creating and crafting suggestions for use in hypnosis. It is a far reaching and thorough guide to how problems are formed and how hypnotherapy may solve them. It covers a great deal of ground from Ericksonian models to Neuro-logical Levels and Trance Phenomenon and is comprehensively wrapped up in Trevor Silvester's theory of "Wordweaving". This is essentially a guide to the creation of indirect hypnotic language patterns, meaning that the therapist does not have to rely upon scripts and is also more able to overcome resistance on the part of the client. It is a powerful method of Hypnotherapy.

This book, Wordweaving Volume II, continues this theme but is more of an A to B to C style. It is a concrete guide to Therapy and answered a lot of my (natural) questions as a reasonably new hypnotherapist. Although I found Volume I enlightening and very useful it is, necessarily, a tough read at times. I believe that both are necessary to understand and begin to get to grips with Wordweaving and the addition of this second volume added an enormous amount to my understanding. It gave me more than twice the confidence that I had from the first alone.

These are probably not books for those curious about hypnotism or those without some degree of experience of hypnotherapy (although are a very interesting read) however for any therapist wishing to up their game I wholeheartedly recommend both.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
If you are a hypnotherapist, coach or NLP practitioner, this is a great tool to have on your shelf. Taking you back to your basics and a reminder of how you started on the path to become a practitioner in any of the above, it reminds you about connecting with your processes and the ones your clients use. I believe sometimes we get entrenched in various ways of communicating and forget the basics, but this pulls you back a few steps and refreshes your sessions a little with ways to prise you out of a 'stuck' situation. Super little book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011

This is a follow on from Wordweaving Volume 1, and should be read in conjunction, having said this, it is easy to read and understand and can stand alone...
Trevor writes with an understanding of the mind and what it needs to know, more than most writers of Science, and whilst I classify this as a book on Science, it very much melds with self help, and all therapies, an understanding of our language, how we are individuals and speak strange language, here is the dictionary...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
I'm currently training as a hypnotherapist and this book was a godsend. I read both books within a week and have since read the 3rd (Cognitive Hypnotherapy). This book doesn't tell you how to 'hypnotise' people at all, but does teach you how to use much more effective language with clients.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Scripts and Strategies in Hypnotherapy: The Complete Works
Scripts and Strategies in Hypnotherapy: The Complete Works by Roger P. Allen (Hardcover - 6 Feb. 2004)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.