Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2003
I have recently had the pleasure of completing Trevor’s new book and must congratulate Trevor on producing a clear and jargon free guide regarding how the conscious and unconscious mind works and how to appropriately aim therapeutic approaches. Trevor’s ability to guide the reader through how the mind processes information by way of the Matrix Model allows even the casual reader to form an understanding of how many of life’s problems are processed by the mind. Also this book instructs the Therapist to how to aim suggestions at the appropriate level of the clients problem to maximise the effectiveness of Therapy utilising Trevor’s powerful “Wordweaving” approach.
The success rate of traditional “one script fits all” based therapy is substantially increased by utilising an approach that focuses on the clients relationship with the problem as opposed to just the problem itself. After reading this book you will find yourself disposing of your traditional scripts and instead weaving language spells based on your client’s perception and understanding of the issues they face. This will enable the client to let go of their problem more easily and forever.
Trevor’s guide to the structure of suggestion will I am sure be pinned to many a therapist wall and be referred to by future teachers of hypnotherapy and NLP in years to come.
If you class yourself, or desire to be an effective Therapist, this is one book that you should have, well thumbed, nestling in your bookcase.
Richard Lake
Dip C.Hip, NLP Prac
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2003
"Mastering this book will free you from the constraints of scripts....." It is hard to disagree.
Wordweaving is easy to understand and jargon free. It is written in a concise, but simple style, making it an ideal work of reference for both hypnotherapy trainers and practitioners.
Its' step-by-step approach, and use of NLP language patterns, offers a straightforward guide to therapy sessions, identification of client induced trance phenomena, and teaches you how to use these trance states to effect change in a clients' perception of a problem.
In addition, formatted examples of both direct and indirect suggestion, facilitates the creation of high-impact hypnotic language, aimed specifically at the root of the client's problem.
For experienced hypnotherapists, or those just starting out, this book will prove invaluable, and one that you will want to return to again and again.
With a foreword by Dr. Shaun Brookhouse, easy to follow chapter headings, useful exercises and conclusions, it is a joy to read and a valuable work of reference. Endnotes, Bibliography and comprehensive indices are also invaluable. Highly Recommended.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 August 2003
Trevor Silvester was a fellow student on my NLP trainer's training in 1997, impressing then with his congruence and charisma. This book revisits the NLP 'Milton Model' of hypnotic language, first set out by Bandler and Grinder in 1975, in the light of subsequent discoveries about how the brain processes events.
Silvester's "Matrix Model", like the similar "APET" model in the "Human Givens" approach, recognises the fact that our emotional responses to events precede conscious evaluation of what happens. By the time we form an opinion about an event, it has already been filtered through our unconscious associations and possibly generated an emotional response which if powerful enough rational thought. This view of how we perceive events is more in line with current research knowledge than older models, such as the cognitive-behavioural, which attempt to address problems by challenging beliefs.
Building on developmental psychology and Wolinsky's ideas of psychological problems as trance phenomena, Silvester shows how suggestions need to utilise these trance phenomena in order to be effective, and offers a step-by-step guide as to how to do this.
He also shows how a problem may be focused at a particular level in Dilts' Neuro-Logical Levels model, and how to formulate suggestions to address each level. An interesting insight is the maxim that 20-30% of your suggestions should be focused at the Beliefs and Identity levels, to help clients build new beliefs about themselves and their situations, thus promoting generative rather than just remedial change.
This book definitely fills a gap, showing how to construct effective suggestions for many different conditions. 'Case histories' of typical client problems illustrate the process, and exercises are provided to help you build your skills step by step.
Silvester is a wise and experienced hypnotherapist who has done his research, reading widely outside the disciplines of hypnotherapy and NLP and keeping up with recent developments in psychology and brain science. His passion for his subject shines through on every page.
The book is also an easy and enjoyable read. These ideas are too powerful to be ignored and will bring about a much-needed shake-up in the curricula of many schools of hypnotherapy. They are certainly influencing the way I teach my students. Highly recommended, and should be on every hypnotherapist's shelf.
0Comment|85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2003
As someone still only a relatively short way down the road less travelled of mastering the use of NLP (ie 4 books completed on the subject, including the magnificent Frogs to Princes) it dawned on me some months ago that I would benefit from a deeper understanding of the hypnotic language aspects.
For me, Trevor Silvester's book 'Wordweaving' has represented the difference that makes the difference to my understanding of NLP, as well as a number of other important issues relating to the way I communicate with myself. If you are wondering about what should be your next purchase on the subject, believe me...this particular book will help you connect (or rather inter-connect) the components. As for the author's style of writing and graphical representations...superb. It is as if you can imagine him speaking to you.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2004
In Word Weaving, Trevor Silvester argues that the hypnotherapist should devise his/her interventions based on the needs and history of the client rather than rely on "stock" scripts. To me this makes perfect sense and the book offers a fascinating model based on the NLP concept of Logical Levels and the author's own Matrix Model to provide a framework to develop effective interventions. This book deserves detailed study by therapists but will also prove valuable to counsellors, coaches and trainers working with business or sports clients.
My one disappointment is that the book is described as the "most significant advance in hypnotic language since the 'Structure of Magic'". In fact the book merely reproduces the NLP Milton Model without any additional exploration or explanation.
Otherwise, though this is an excellent book for anyone seeking to improve the way they work with clients.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
Coming new to hypnotherapy, this book revealed to me a subtle and previously hidden world of human communication. The book gives fascinating insights into how the mind works and for that alone it is worth reading from a general interest point of view. Wordweaving requires considerable study. How much would depend on whether you are already a practising hypnotherapist. I will certainly be reading the book through again as it presents increasingly complex ideas after the first couple of chapters. A book for study rather than a quick read.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
I like this book by Trevor, its a very good read and although i may not necessarily follow his model completely, i found much of the information very useful.

The book is very easy to read and it has lots of useful ways of thinking which i find clients respond to quite easily. The idea that we are often in trance states when we are in a negative frame of mind i find quite true for some people.

Not an experts book i dont think, but very good.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
During my 18 months training as a hypnotherapist, I painstakingly accumulated literally hundreds of scripts designed to deal with almost every imaginable problem a client could have. I really wish I had read this book first because all of those scripts suddenly seem to be amateurish and I doubt that I will ever use them again.

In Wordweaving, Trevor sets out a well-founded theory of how the mind works and how psychological problems and limitations arise. He then explains how by using the right words, in the right way, specifically targeted, it is possible to retrain a client's mind.

Wordweaving is not easy - at least not a first. It involves learning new language patterns and paying scrupulous attention to the way a client describes both their problem and their desired solution. However, a good Wordweaving script reads almost like poetry and it just feels right.

I think of Wordweaving as a advanced form of suggestion therapy and as such it should be just one part of a good hypnotherapist's armoury. Trevor deals with the various other techniques and interventions in his third book - Cognitive Hypnotherapy and I would highly recommend that one too. The trilogy of Trevor's books make up a complete guide in how to practice modern hypnotherapy.

It is worth noting that Trevor's training school - The Quest Institute - has an online course in Wordweaving. At the present time, this book and his second book are provided as part of the course, so if you have any thoughts about doing that course then you do not need to buy this book separately.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
This is a book that all Hypnotherapists and NLP Practitioners should have on their bookshelves. In fact, all of his books should be! I have read both volumes and can honestly say they are both great. Trevor writes clearly, jargon-free, and in a way that is easy to understand.

'Wordweaving' is an amazing tool, as Trevor writes: it is the 'glue' that sticks together all the techniques that can benefit people. And I have noticed how much fun it can be to tailor suggestion loops for my friends and family. Its clear step-by-step approach breaks clients' problems down into its various patterns and components' including the Trance Phenomena they use; then teaches how to utilise this information with language patterns to effect change in their perceptions.

This book is for the novice as well as the professional. Everyone will benefit from this book. I'm sure other readers will agree that we are standing on the shoulders of a giant!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
the question is the answer
so often we look for hidden meanings, the difficult instead of the obvious, and here it is explained to us in very simple terms,I like the style the book is written in, easy to understand, the words are big enough to make it easy on the eyes, the words are simple enough to make it easy on the mind, a great combination...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)