Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
My friend bought me this book as a birthday present as I enjoy cooking and will be off to uni this September. I have made many of the meals inside (chicken noodles went down very well!) and have found them to be delicious, healthy and inexpensive. The meals aren't hard to make and it really opens your eyes to what you can do. I've even started experimenting myself! The...
Published on 23 Jun 2007 by Stephanie Stretton

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nosh 4 Students
I bought this for my son when he started university It wasnt quite in his line as he prefers meat and two veg type meals but it would be great for someone with limited cookery experience and there are plenty of different recipes to have a go at
Published on 6 Mar 2010 by Julie Beardmore


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 23 Jun 2007
By 
Stephanie Stretton (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR. (Paperback)
My friend bought me this book as a birthday present as I enjoy cooking and will be off to uni this September. I have made many of the meals inside (chicken noodles went down very well!) and have found them to be delicious, healthy and inexpensive. The meals aren't hard to make and it really opens your eyes to what you can do. I've even started experimenting myself! The layout is easy to read and the instructions are simple. It's a must for anyone who doesn't know how to cook and enjoys food. I would rate higher if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nosh 4 Students Cook Book, 5 Jun 2009
By 
S. Askill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR. (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my son last year when he went to University. It gives you ideas on a menu for the week and tells you what ingredients you need to buy. It puts recipes together so that you can buy larger quantities of ingredients (often cheaper)and also so that there is less waste. All the recipes are for 1 or 2 people and very easy to follow. My son never used to do any cooking, but now he cooks for himself every day! My Daughter starts University in October so I got one for her too. This is probably the best book I have ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starting point, 14 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR. (Paperback)
I recommend this book as an excellent starting point for home made meals. Everything can be made with cheap and fresh ingredients and there's bound to be plenty of recipes in there that are new to you.

The recipes are easy to make and once you get used to them, just as quick as getting a takeaway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential For University., 27 Aug 2009
By 
boredom359 (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR. (Paperback)
Before this cookbook, I had never cooked a thing (unless it involved a microwave).I now can do some basic recipes, such as chicken risotto, spaghetti bolognase,

It also gives some very handy advice as to how safe certain foods are after they're opened- essential for when you leave home and don't have mum looking after the food side of things

The great thing is that most of them only need one or two pans. Things like chicken risotto literally need a frying pan- very little washing up!

Compared to ready meals; cooking from scratch is so much more fun as well!

Excellent value and highly recommended- a must for absolutely anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, easy and verrrrrrry yummy!!, 18 Oct 2006
This review is from: Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR. (Paperback)
I had the original copy of the book and loved it so much so just had to get the new one! Particular favourites are the quick and easy cheesecake -always wows the guests! Being able to make your own chinese too is great, lemon chicken and sweet and sour chicken! I could go on and on! But I would definatley reccomend this book, its easy for students to use because it doesnt need you to have lots of kitchen equipment, but i'm a graduate now and still love using it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Value For Money Book For Value For Money Meals!, 22 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. M. Knee (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR. (Paperback)
This book has revolutionised my eating habits!

The idea of writing a menu for a week and thus planning what you need to buy will also revolutionise your spending habits too.

Gone are the days of a freezerful of expensive processed foods, The days of healthy, fun, real food and cooking are here!

Everything about the book is brilliantly thought out, from the font and pictures to the dish difficulty rating and the "how long can I keep this....?" section.

The recipes are mostly quick, use a minimum of equipment and are healthy too - packed full of good, inexpensive vegetables. One of the best things I've discovered is the ease with which you can modify a recipe. You can generally add and subtract according to your tastes. I never stick to the sample menus (I'm fussy), but I'll make my own up.

Recipe's I highly recommend:
-Monday Pie
-Creamy Chicken
-Pasta & Chicken Bake
-Sausage Pie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every student should have one, 15 Feb 2007
By 
David H. Hargreaves "dhargreaves2002" (Guisborough, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR. (Paperback)
This guide for students is excellent.

I have had 3 children go through the formative experience of cooking for themselves and their pals at university. As a teacher of 6th form students I wanted to give them good advice on "Healthy eating for a healthy bank balance" and lots of my own children's views are echoed by Joy May.

The book is set out in such a way that you are lead to the next section from the previous one, everything is brought back to basics so everyone can have a go at the excellent, extensive recipes.

If you are going to university in the near future, buy this book, it will repay its value several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy meals :D totally recommended, 28 Feb 2008
By 
L. Lloyd (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR. (Paperback)
I bought this book, as i have just moved out of my parents house without any knowledge of cooking. I bought this book on a whim, and i have nearly done all the meals in the book. most of the ingredients u can find in a kitchen cupboard, which is great on a tight bugdet, all the meals i have cooked so far from this book are very tastey, and something i never thought i would be able to make, but the instructions are very simple and easy to follow. seriously recommend to any student or parents worried about their kids burnin down thier kitchen. great starter pack for any novice like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Little Book!!, 30 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR. (Paperback)
I find that this book is so easy to use and understand. I don't even need to use scales for weighing! The photographs are the real winner - the food looks so delicious, why make do with a meal in a packet or an expensive take-away!! My favourite is the South African dish "Bobotie" - its so easy to make and great hot or cold.

I also have "Vegetarian Nosh 4 Students" - both are a great combination with no repeats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent start to healthy eating, 4 Jun 2009
This review is from: Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR. (Paperback)
I bought this book for my teenage daughter when she left home. It has really inspired her to cook healthy food. As the book promises,the recipes are straightforward without needing lots of ingredients or equipment. The pictures help her decide what to cook. She gets a sense of achievement from only a small effort and she enjoys eating the dishes she makes.
I recommend it as a great starting point for inexperienced cooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nosh 4 Students: A Fun Student Cookbook. See every recipe in FULL COLOUR.
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews