Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book for cystitis
This book saved me; in more ways than one. It saved my mental state, my relationship and cured me from constant cystitis. Please please please, if you know ANYONE with frequent cystitis, advise them to buy this book. People with Chronic Bladder Infections do not have to live on anti-biotics, with thrush, unable to drink alcohol, living in fear of sex..... this book has...
Published on 13 May 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I think the basic ideas in this book are useful and if you like your self-help delivered in the form of a judgemental lecture, then this is for you. I'm not sure when the text was actually written (the kindle edition was made available in 2010) but it comes across as very old fashioned. It is also badly edited, making it difficult to follow in some places. I have given it...
Published 11 months ago by Katherine Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book for cystitis, 13 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Patient's Encyclopaedia of Cystitis, Sexual Cystitis, Interstitial Cystitis (Paperback)
This book saved me; in more ways than one. It saved my mental state, my relationship and cured me from constant cystitis. Please please please, if you know ANYONE with frequent cystitis, advise them to buy this book. People with Chronic Bladder Infections do not have to live on anti-biotics, with thrush, unable to drink alcohol, living in fear of sex..... this book has the answers. Since buying the book 5 years ago, after constant cystitis for a entire year, GP's had recommended me to a urologist, my immune system was exhausted after continuous anti-biotics. I read this book and havent had an infection since.The answers are simple+ Kilmartin is a Godsend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has saved my life!, 20 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patient's Encyclopaedia of Cystitis, Sexual Cystitis, Interstitial Cystitis (Paperback)
I am normally very sceptical about books which people claim to be life changing, but this is one of them. The advice is based on common sense and since reading it, my life has been turned around.

I have suffered from cystitis for over 7 years and have had recurring cystitis for over a year now. It has ruined my relationship, my social life, disrupted my degree studies and at my lowest points has made me feel suicidal. I know that cystitis affects women in many different ways and may merely be a slight nuisance to some. But for those of you that have suffered from recurrent cystitis, returning to the doctors again and again for yet more antibiotics, and feel like you've tried every route you could (you may have even had surgery), PLEASE, buy this book.

As a piece of literature, the book may have it's flaws. Indeed there is repetition, and information is not always presented in a logical order throughout. (However, I presume that this is because the book is split into three parts, for the different types of sufferers and assumes that many readers may only look at the section relevant to them.) The book is written in a language that is easy to understand and is very sympathetic to the reader, which I found comforting. For me, the sense of repetition and the emphasis that is put on carrying out the preventative measures has been very helpful. I imagine it is written for the sceptical reader (initially myself included), who believes that no one could possibly help them after endless doctors have tried, but Kilmartin can. When she says she knows best, just swallow your pride because she is right!

Since practicing the preventative methods stated in the book (which, with response to other reviews, do not take over your life, I know I have tried them), I have not had another bout of cystitis. Believe me, before this book I had tried EVERYTHING, every preventative method ever mentioned to me or which I had discovered through my own research, yet I had never come across the methods in this book (particularly the bottle washing). It has changed my life completely and I have just celebrated my first cystitis free month in over a year. My relationship is getting back on track, I managed to complete my degree and I am starting to socialise again without having to sit there in agony or be on the toilet all evening. I am also off of the antibiotics!

I have given the book five stars because to me, if a book can turn someones life around to the extent it has mine, the imperfections in writing style are irrelevant. The book is not intended as a piece of literature but as a resolution for desperate, sceptical women who just want to break free from the hell of cystitis.

Buy this book, use your common sense and you will not be disappointed.

(I also recommend reading this book together with Coping with Cystitis (Overcoming common problems) which also has some useful advice and complements Kilmartins book well, despite the slightly dodgy chapters on homeopathic remedies).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for sufferers, it works!!, 4 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Patient's Encyclopaedia of Cystitis, Sexual Cystitis, Interstitial Cystitis (Paperback)
This book is a god-send. The book is based on prevention being the key. It describes the many causes and advice on how to pin point your exact cause which will help you preventing getting it again. The book contains natural ways of preventing attacks as well as natural remedies to take on the onset of an. A large emphasis on the book is on cleanliness, its suprising how much bacteria is around even if you are very clean!
There are parts of the book which reiterate the same point but that just drives home the importance of that point!
I have had the book for about 4 months and i have not had a full attack since i have started following her instructions. Admitidly I have had minor symptoms when i have slipped up and not followed her instructions properly, but that just shows her instructions are working.
I recommend it for any suffers, I much prefer having to do preventative natural treatments than being constantly on antibiotics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works!!!!!!, 24 July 2006
By 
C. R. Okparaeke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patient's Encyclopaedia of Cystitis, Sexual Cystitis, Interstitial Cystitis (Paperback)
I have been following Angela's advice for about six years now. I can't say I've never had another attack, but the difference has been transforming. On the rare occassions I do get an attack now I know exactly how to 'nip it in the bud' and minimise the pain and discomfort. I used to suffer very frequent attacks with lots of bleeding and excruciating pain. Nothing helped me until I started taking Angela's advice. I am so extremely grateful to her, as she has made such a difference to my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Content wins over style, 19 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Patient's Encyclopaedia of Cystitis, Sexual Cystitis, Interstitial Cystitis (Paperback)
This book will provide real encouragement and hope for any woman who gets and dreads getting cystitis. Angela Kilmartin really seems to know what she's talking about and her no-nonsense style is surprisingly uplifting and motivating as she empathises with her readers. There is lots of detail about the causes of cystitis (also thrush) and lots of guidance on getting the most out of the medical profession. Her real enthusiasm, however, is reserved for the area of personal hygiene about which she is positively evangelical! There are VERY clear instructions on washing and dos and don'ts, as well as a wealth of lifestyle tips.
Although very welcome, this book is let down by its lack of an index and can be confusing to find your way about in. Various principles are reiterated and repeated all over the place which can be confusing if you are looking for something specific and the order of the sections is also a bit odd.
Don't let this put you off, though!! Having just bought the book two days ago, I can't say whether it's worked for me yet, but I already feel as though I have been equipped to improve my own situation and am determined to follow her advice to the letter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Angela Kilmartin's book, very useful and informative, 7 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patient's Encyclopaedia of Cystitis, Sexual Cystitis, Interstitial Cystitis (Paperback)
I was reading the book this morning and her style of writing, the usefulness of information and her ability to sympathize with the reader made me think that I have to write a review about this book. There are many useful sexual information in the book to prevent thrush and cystitis (what I've been suffering with). Some of the tips are repeated, which i love about this book because i have to keep repeating information to myself to remember the tips in preventing cystitis and thrush, etc. her repetition of information assists me in remembering the useful tips.

Also, as an active feminist I am in love with her ideas of how a good sex should be; which is basically having your own way with sex and responding to what your body wants, not falling for what porn industries try to portray to you, etc.

I must quote this sentence from her book which inspired me this morning "porn films and magazines are not promoting love, they're promoting fortunes and slavery. Why make rich men richer?" Now you might think "how is this related to cystitis?" but trust me after reading this, I've realized that many of my attitudes and ways of having sex (taught and encouraged by the hyper-sexual aspects of the modern society) have been possibly causing me pain, thrush and cystitis, I am 20 and have never been openly taught the right and comfortable ways of having sex. So this book is very handy and useful. I totally recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say Goodbye To UTI, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have suffered with UTI's for years. The advice contained in this book has made a world of difference to my life. Thank you Thank you Angela. I follow your Kilman bottle regime to the letter. After all the medical advice antibiotics and an empty wallet to boot AT LAST my journey has come to a satisfactory end. Bless you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars self help, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patient's Encyclopaedia of Cystitis, Sexual Cystitis, Interstitial Cystitis (Paperback)
this book was recommended to me by my Urology Consultant and as I have been suffering for over twenty years with UTI's and using an intermitent catheter six times daily all that time so I am always open to infection. I didn't think I had anything else to learn, how wrong I was Angela's book is excellent and I highly recommend it to anyone suffering with Cystitis whatever it is being caused by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Salvation., 4 April 2011
By 
CMB (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Patient's Encyclopaedia of Cystitis, Sexual Cystitis, Interstitial Cystitis (Paperback)
I had an early book by Angela Kilmartin 20 years ago and found it very useful but dropped away over the years. This book was recently recommended to me after a 3 month illness and it has been my salvation. I am recovering fast thanks to applying her advice (again). I must not forget about it this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Patient's Encyclopaedia of Cystitis, Sexual Cystitis, Interstitial Cystitis (Paperback)
If you suffer from frequent bouts of cystitis and your life revolves around cranberry tablets, doctors visits and antibotics, please buy this book.
If I said that if you buy this book and follow the instructions you will largely be free of cystitis forever, would you believe me?
Well, its true. I rarely am affected enough by a book to write a review but in this case I would go as far as saying it changed my life. I bought this book in March 2006, and when March 2011 comes round in a couple of months I will be 5 years free of cystitis. Prior to buying this book, I had cystitis approximately every 4 weeks.
The book contains instructions on bottle washing after going to the toilet (and it must be bottle washing, not washing in a bath/shower/bidet, for reasons that the author explains) and following these instructions has changed my health, my attendance level at work, my sex life and therefore my marriage.
Buy it, please.
PS In reply to the reviewer who likened the authors suggestions to Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, I couldn't disagree more. Using cleanliness & routine to completely eliminate recurring health issues is a million miles away from OCD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Patient's Encyclopaedia of Cystitis, Sexual Cystitis, Interstitial Cystitis
10.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews