Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts together the cream of Northern Soul collectables
This book is a masterpiece collating the top 500 most collectable Northern Soul records that have so far been uncovered. Histories, photos and lables are all here for you to drool over. The number one single is Frank Wilson's 'Do I Love You', only discovered in the late 70's - an instant smash at Wigan. There are only two copies of the original in the world and the last...
Published on 21 Jun. 2001 by A. Wharton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably informative
Downloaded this to a kindle so pictures of labels are hard to see and in black and white.

Most of the tracks mentioned are what you would expect but they do bring back some good memories.

The current values make you wish you'd kept every record you had ever bought.
Published 22 months ago by Noddy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts together the cream of Northern Soul collectables, 21 Jun. 2001
By 
This review is from: The Northern Soul Top 500 (Paperback)
This book is a masterpiece collating the top 500 most collectable Northern Soul records that have so far been uncovered. Histories, photos and lables are all here for you to drool over. The number one single is Frank Wilson's 'Do I Love You', only discovered in the late 70's - an instant smash at Wigan. There are only two copies of the original in the world and the last one sold fetched £15,000 - thankfully available now on CD compilations. Some of the prices will scare you but the book will fascinate you. During the 80's the movement took a serious turn for the worse, however with the advent of the 90's and CD's, things could not be more healthier. All-nighters abound once more and the original Wheel/Torch/Mecca/Casino goers are returning along with newcomers eager to see what the attraction is. Quite simply, there is no other music scene that offers you everything - from friendships still strong after 20-40 years to dancing that makes all other forms look clumsy, also the willingness to embrace artists whose initial attempts at success were confined to warehouse floors and had to wait for DJ's and collectors coming over from the UK in order to find worthy fame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good introduction in Northern Soul, 8 Aug. 2002
This review is from: The Northern Soul Top 500 (Paperback)
Over the years I have wondered what kind of Soul music are all those Brits listening/dancing to in the North of England? I have a reasonable collection of Motown, Atlantic/Stax and some other mainly Southern Soul, but did I have somewhere also some Northern Soul in my record collection??
When I found "The Northern Soul Top 500" I decided it was time to (finally) get an answer on these questions. Even for a total newcomer to Northern Soul who is more interested in the musci than in the Northern Soul lifestile this is a very good introduction. Now I know what records to buy. Actually I have ordered already a few and I almost cannot wait before I can listen to those records, because it turned out that I only knew a few of the Top500 records.
Robert's book is an example for all those authors who want to write a book on a music style, because although he is an insider it is not only a book for insiders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC CONCEPT FOCUSSING ON A TRULY REMARKABLE MUSIC GE, 26 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Northern Soul Top 500 (Paperback)
Kev Roberts has unearthed one of America's great discoveries-Soul music.The author homes in on a North Of England collecting/Dancing phenomina 'Northern Soul'. Basically,it's a passionate collectors movement following the fortunes of obscure 45's that never made it! Yeah,you might know your Marvin Gaye's and Chaka Khans,but how about The Magnetics,Earl Jackson or The Superiors. If ever a story and categorization of Americas hidden musical jewels was warranted,then this is surely it.
Absolutely fascinating!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music great read, 10 July 2014
By 
Mr. G. Eyden (England,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are reading this review then you are aleeady interested in northern soul. So let me just say "it does what it says on the tin". Top tunes very interesting,a must for any Northern soul fan. KTF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars northern top 500, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great read from start to finish telling you about all those great northern soul sounds we love,also giving great background on each and the value,great not only for collecters but also anyone interested in soul music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So many memories, especially of those 45s I used to own and now cannot afford to replaces because they are too expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my first purchase on the kindle and will be a fond memory. I enjoyed reading it and will refer to it as a guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably informative, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Downloaded this to a kindle so pictures of labels are hard to see and in black and white.

Most of the tracks mentioned are what you would expect but they do bring back some good memories.

The current values make you wish you'd kept every record you had ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... but struggled to remember any tunes other than Tainted Love, by Gloria Jones of course, 14 Oct. 2014
By 
Dee Vincent-Day "Complete Nerd" (Sheffield and London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I rekindled my interest in Northern Soul recently but struggled to remember any tunes other than Tainted Love, by Gloria Jones of course, not Marc Almond. This book allowed me to remember many of the old tunes and acted as a buying guide for shopping in the Amazon Music Store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a must have book for any northern soul fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Northern Soul Top 500
The Northern Soul Top 500 by Kev Roberts (Paperback - 9 Oct. 2000)
Used & New from: £61.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews