Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Indian cookery book
I'd only ever experienced Hansa's by visiting the restaurant in Leeds so was delighted to get this as a present.
It's beautifully designed, illustrated and produced with a lot of background information about Hansa and her family, Gujarati cuisine, storing and using spices and cooking techniques. Plus it includes information about how spices can enhance your...
Published on 13 Jan 2001 by K. Fearon

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting introduction to Gujarati food
On the plus side, the food I've made following Hansa's recipes is delicious and very easy - the kind of food you can cook every day without having to slave for hours over a hot stove. The sections on Hansa's background, Gujarati eating and tips on using up leftovers were particularly good.
I would have liked to see more space devoted to 'main course' type dishes -...
Published on 27 April 2009 by K. Finch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Indian cookery book, 13 Jan 2001
By 
K. Fearon (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant (Paperback)
I'd only ever experienced Hansa's by visiting the restaurant in Leeds so was delighted to get this as a present.
It's beautifully designed, illustrated and produced with a lot of background information about Hansa and her family, Gujarati cuisine, storing and using spices and cooking techniques. Plus it includes information about how spices can enhance your health.
The recipes themselves cover many of the dishes on the restaurant menu plus some new ones. Some are simple enough for a beginner while others are a bit more complex, but the recipe instructions are clear and thorough with lots of useful tips for using leftovers or changing the ingredients. So if you want to try Gujarati food but you can't travel to Leeds, this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting introduction to Gujarati food, 27 April 2009
By 
K. Finch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant (Paperback)
On the plus side, the food I've made following Hansa's recipes is delicious and very easy - the kind of food you can cook every day without having to slave for hours over a hot stove. The sections on Hansa's background, Gujarati eating and tips on using up leftovers were particularly good.
I would have liked to see more space devoted to 'main course' type dishes - there are 8 'main course' vegetable dishes and 6 dals compared to 7 starters/snacks, 5 salads and 6 lassis and teas (most useful if this is your first Indian cookbook) plus rice dishes, desserts, pickles/chutneys and 'specialities'.
The book as a whole could do with some rigorous editing - there are quite a lot of irritating inconsistencies or errors, such as interchangeable Gujarati, Hindi and English terms, inconsistent spelling, incomplete glossary, etc. Recipes are for varying numbers of servings (2 - 8)and one or two include ingredients that are not mentioned in the actual recipe steps.
Overall, yummy food and worth buying as an addition to your veggie recipe book collection unless you're OCD like me, in which case you'll be itching to get out the red pen every time you use it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Indian food I've ever cooked, 5 April 2012
By 
Andrew Bowden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant (Paperback)
A friend got me this book for my birthday and it's quickly become a firm favourite. Why? Because the dishes in it are absolutely amazing.

Take Pilau Rice for example. I've tried lots of recipes for this simple staple but never found any that were as good as an Indian restaurant. Well until I got this book anyway!

Even the humble cabbage and potato is transformed in to a stunning dish in the form of Cobi Mattar.

True there are some annoying in language inconsistencies (are they Ajwain or Carom seeds or both?!) but the mental translation is well worth it for the quality of the food you'll produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Follow Cook Book, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant (Paperback)
When I first saw this book at my Cousin's House, I was very intrigued by the fact that it contained Traditional Indian (Gujarati) Recipes. The recipes are easy to follow. I have also purchased Hansa's 2nd edition of the Vegetarian Gujarati Cook Book which is equally as good. My partner and I browsed her website and found she owned a Gujarati Vegetarian Restaurant in Leeds. We decided to visit the Restaurant and try the food 1st Hand and was not disappointed. We also had the opportunity to speak to Hansa & her Husband who were very welcoming. We are Indian and Gujarati and it is a first where we have visited an Indian Restaurant with traditional indian food whih can be found in many Indian People's Houses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT!, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant (Paperback)
Veggie curries are so great and this is the best book I've found dedicated to them by far. The Dal recipes are excellant and use the Asian Cookshop online in the UK to source the ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son in law, he loves it and is going on the cookery day course today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Cookery Book, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant (Paperback)
We love cooking Indian food and this is a great book which we have now added to our collection, the recipies are fantastic and packed with flavour, this is a lovely book to own even if you are not a vegetarian as you can adapt the recipies to contain meat. Would recommend this book to anyone who loves cooking with spices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 29 Feb 2008
This review is from: Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant (Paperback)
What a great book. The recipes produce food that tastes just like my mother makes. Great for convincing friends that sub-continent food is not just chicken tikka masala
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not complete recipes, 16 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant (Paperback)
While this book is nice and glossy, I found that some of the recipes do not use ingredients that are listed which is frustrating. Also, I think you need to know a bit about cooking to know how to adapt the recipes to your own tastes.
Having said all that, the Pilau rice has now become a favourite in our household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vip from London, 8 Nov 2005
This review is from: Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant (Paperback)
This book is great; it has easy to follow recipes for delicious Indian food. It contains a plethora of varied Indian delicacies which cover starters, mains and desserts.
I particularly found the guide to Indian food stores in the UK useful and the descriptions of the various spices used was quite interesting.
A great buy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hansa's Indian Vegetarian Cookbook: Popular Recipes from Hansa's Gujarati Restaurant
10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews