Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far foreign Lands...
Far Foreign Lands is the story of a train journey from Liverpool Lime Street to Istanbul, to watch Liverpool FC in the final of the European Cup. Author, Tony Evans superbly exploits this scenario to provide an insight into the world of the `ordinary' supporter, recalling tales from his own travels in the 80's and 90's. This, in a style that is laugh out loud at times,...
Published on 14 Aug 2006 by Kevin Mcfarlane

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massively disappointing
I guess I should start by saying I've been an LFC fan for well over 3 decades and have only missed 9 home games since the 80/81 season (and yes, I was in Instanbul - still makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck). I bought this book for my holiday reading and was really looking forward to it which maybe magnifies the disappointment I felt when reading it...
Published 23 months ago by Patrick Willis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massively disappointing, 19 Aug 2012
This review is from: Far Foreign Land: Pride and Passion the Liverpool Way (Paperback)
I guess I should start by saying I've been an LFC fan for well over 3 decades and have only missed 9 home games since the 80/81 season (and yes, I was in Instanbul - still makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck). I bought this book for my holiday reading and was really looking forward to it which maybe magnifies the disappointment I felt when reading it.

I expected a glorious retelling of the build up to a magical evening where all the emotions associated with supporting a football team were condensed into over two hours of unbelievable sporting drama but what I got was an book seemingly on a mission to make football aggressively tribal.

This book is fundamentally about how 'different' LFC fans are and how we've been so hard done by and how the 'truth' about the darkest episodes of our history has been missed or distorted. It's so depressing to hear young fans these days getting so ferociously angry about incidents which took place years before they were even born and using that to define them rather than the club itself, I sit next to a group of lads (they're not even scouse) who, every year, love making plane noises when United visit but are (rightly) disgusted when vile Hillsbrough songs come back and spend the game plotting revenge. That's not what football should be about and this book just made me feel as though we're conditioning the current and future generations of football fans to focus on the tribalism, on the bad things about the game and not the glory.

You do not have to be nasty and unpleasant to be an LFC fan, i think this book wants you to be just that. There are some excellent books that celebrate our great club but this is not one of them.

Pat

PS just for fun - John Barnes is the best LFC player I've seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far foreign Lands..., 14 Aug 2006
By 
Kevin Mcfarlane (Chorley, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Far Foreign Land: Pride and Passion the Liverpool Way (Paperback)
Far Foreign Lands is the story of a train journey from Liverpool Lime Street to Istanbul, to watch Liverpool FC in the final of the European Cup. Author, Tony Evans superbly exploits this scenario to provide an insight into the world of the `ordinary' supporter, recalling tales from his own travels in the 80's and 90's. This, in a style that is laugh out loud at times, but also heartbreaking and thought provoking at others. The author brilliantly immerses us in a world of the true fan, free from the commercialisation of football, to a time, long before the replica shirted, face-painted, bandwagon jumpers made the game the cynical circus it is today.

Evans also imparts valuable first hand accounts of the Heysel and Hillsborough tragedies, and explains some way as to why these disasters occurred. Using these events as a backdrop to the political and social events of the 1980's, he throws illumination on the political turmoil of that time, explaining how the rise of football hooliganism was exaggerated and overstated by the right-wing press, hungry for sensation.

This book was recommended to me as a good read, rather than just another book about football, and can be read and enjoyed by the non-fan and ardent supporter, alike. A definite must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Foreign Land, 11 Sep 2006
By 
David Lynch (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Far Foreign Land: Pride and Passion the Liverpool Way (Paperback)
This is a cracking read. Essentially it's about a marathon train trip across Europe to watch the 2005 Champions League Final. In reality, it's about much more. It's a story of several journeys, both for the author and the sport.

Evans charts the dramatic transformation of football, from poor relation of the 1980s to today's status as social darling, visiting the pivotal moments in between, including haunting accounts of the dark episodes of Heysel and Hillsborough. The highs and lows of the past 20 years are relayed, spliced with a series of Balkan adventures, against the backdrop of one of the most remarkable events in sporting history.

The description is vivid, the eye for detail commendable. Reading the book, you almost feel as if you were there, suffering what sound at times, like appalling travelling conditions. The content is intelligent, often funny, sometimes unsettling, but you're given a front row seat to the action past and present, by an author who's clearly been there, seen that, but who has no interest in the branded t-shirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inisghtful Read, 12 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Far Foreign Land: Pride and Passion the Liverpool Way (Paperback)
This book explains much. I'm new to the club and never realised how isolated

scousers feel towards the rest of England or how much about Rome, Heysel and

Hillsborough never came out. The mix of humour, despair and deep pride is

very potent - the culture so captured is lucky to have such a skilled

troubadour. Could be a cult book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A READER FROM LONDON, 12 Sep 2006
By 
Ms. Elaine Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Far Foreign Land: Pride and Passion the Liverpool Way (Paperback)
Great. Brought back memories of a fantastic night. Puts Chelsea and the rest in

their place. Reds all over the world will love it. FIVE TIMES. FIVE STAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Foreign Land: Pride and Passion the Liverpool Way
Far Foreign Land: Pride and Passion the Liverpool Way by Tony Evans (Paperback - 14 Jun 2006)
Used & New from: 57.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews