Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Worth it's weight in gold. (And it's heavy!)
This book contains a summary of just about every topic that ever comes up in any conversation. Vast trivia, biographies of famous people, summaries of classic novels, ways to improve vocabulary, management guide, personal effectiveness, general knowledge, and that's not even vaguely close to all. My most valued book without a doubt. It's very well-researched, well...
Published on 13 May 1999

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate
I bought this book as a research book for quizzes - bite size chunks to learn when I had a few minutes free. However, the number of factual inaccuracies I've read in the hour or so I've spent reading it have made me question the validity of everything in it, for example:

Florence Nightingale: "Although [her] 97 year old mind remained clear" - the book states...
Published on 22 May 2010 by Alex DeLarge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Worth it's weight in gold. (And it's heavy!), 13 May 1999
By A Customer
This book contains a summary of just about every topic that ever comes up in any conversation. Vast trivia, biographies of famous people, summaries of classic novels, ways to improve vocabulary, management guide, personal effectiveness, general knowledge, and that's not even vaguely close to all. My most valued book without a doubt. It's very well-researched, well presented and absolutely ideal for a gift. Don't be put off my the title - this book is basically an insightful summary of everything. I'm off to buy another copy just in case...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off by the title. A great book!, 15 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Passing Time in the Loo Volume 1 (Paperback)
While this book might at first seem to be aimed at constipated men - or at least those who always take something to read in the loo with them - it's really ideal for both sexes and should be on every coffee table in the land [not to mention dentists' waiting rooms]. Packed with bite-size chunks of information, anecdotes, reviews of classic novels, biographies of famous people ... it's great. If you really want to take the title literally, my advice is to eat nothing but bananas for a month and work your way through this book in the little boy's [or girl's] room during your marathon sessions there. If you still have any friends left with your strange toilet habits, you'll impress their socks off with what you know about, well ... everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant pick up and put me down book., 25 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Passing Time in the Loo Volume 1 (Paperback)
This is exactly what the title states. One great doorstop of a paperback for those 1 to 20 minutes bouts of solitude wherever you are. Makes a great gift for the culture minded. Perhaps a bit too American in places but quite acceptable. Can't wait for volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll end up going to the loo just to read it!, 15 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Passing Time in the Loo Volume 1 (Paperback)
This is a great book, full of interesting bits and pieces of information. Its easy enough to pick up and quickly glean something you never new before...from how to prepare for interviews, dieting tips to book reviews and rules of sport.
Its certain to impress visitors to your home, whom will probably end up borrowing it or buying a copy for themselves.
A great gift idea for those who have everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a rock pool on a hot day, great to dive in and jump out, 18 Dec. 2000
By 
This review is from: Passing Time in the Loo Volume 1 (Paperback)
Simply excellent value and difficult to put down. Top tip - do not leave it in the loo when you have workmen in your home as job completion will be delayed by several days - as I found out to my cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate, 22 May 2010
I bought this book as a research book for quizzes - bite size chunks to learn when I had a few minutes free. However, the number of factual inaccuracies I've read in the hour or so I've spent reading it have made me question the validity of everything in it, for example:

Florence Nightingale: "Although [her] 97 year old mind remained clear" - the book states she live from 1820 to 1910 and she was indeed 90 when she died.

Shakespeare: There is a section called "Early wzorks" - did no-one run a spell-check?

Soccer summary: Refers to a 24 team World Cup (not since 1998) and 2 subs allowed in an international match (it's 3)

Trivia to learn by: Name the 2 European countries beginning with the letter L - Luxembourg and Liechtenstein (no mention of Latvia).

I know no work is going to be perfect, but what appears to be no proof reading or checking has gone into this (there are numerous formatting and layout errors), and what good is a book of facts if the facts are questionable?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics summarised in 2 pages, 22 Jun. 2010
I adore this book; I have very little general knowledge when it comes to the literary classics & Shakespeare; the 2 page summaries made it easier for me to change this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for the Loo!! :), 28 Oct. 2009
By 
Exactly what it says on the tin! Slight American centric and would be great in a British version too, but still an interesting read to pass the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the toilet, 19 Jan. 2004
By 
Tora F (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Passing Time in the Loo Volume 1 (Paperback)
This book contains two page summaries of many great novels, text books and just general tips and it was very interesting. If you had read the stories you can see how much they have let out but what this book is pefect for is for all those novels that you think you probably should read but probably won't so you can just get a taste. I bought it for my husband who has a very short attention span and he loved it - I would recommend it as a gift for most people - good fun and educational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book, make space in your library for it., 1 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
This book is a must-have.....can't wait for the second volume. Many, many books are featured within, each precised over two pages. Thoroughly recommended. Now you can have the plot to many classic books at your fingertips. Never has a trip to 'the little room' been so enjoyable, or more eagerly anticipated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passing Time in the Loo Volume 1
Passing Time in the Loo Volume 1 by Steven W. Anderson (Paperback - Dec. 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews