Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars World of Freelance here we come
I bought this book on a whim. I have always loved to draw and had thought wouldn't it be excellent if I could make a living from it (yeh sure like that could happen!), but I never expected i'd find a book that pretty much told you exactly how to do just that.

I've read it through once, in two nights, i've now gone through it quickly again and marked the pages...
Published on 4 April 2007 by Thea Schultheiss

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On Illustration but not Illustrated...
I've only started looking at this so it's too early to rate it. I must remark on the irony of it being about illustration yet they didn't give any work to an illustrator! It begins: 'We live in an age where images are cheap abd ten-a-penny. An art director can slip a stock-art CD in her Mac and illustrate a piece of work faster than it takes her to reach for the phone and...
Published on 15 Mar 2009 by G. Napier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars World of Freelance here we come, 4 April 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator (Paperback)
I bought this book on a whim. I have always loved to draw and had thought wouldn't it be excellent if I could make a living from it (yeh sure like that could happen!), but I never expected i'd find a book that pretty much told you exactly how to do just that.

I've read it through once, in two nights, i've now gone through it quickly again and marked the pages with the best and most relevent advice to me.

What is written seems so obvious once it's been said, but alot of the ideas and concepts you would not be able to think up yourself without the advice of an experienced illustrator.

He tells you how to approach a company, how to sell yourself, and be business-like whislt remaining the chaotic artist that you are!

There are so many little tips, like how to keep a database of prospective clients, advertising and self-promotion.

It's written very well in a friendly, uncomplicated manner (although there are some serious typos!)

It's not gonna get you famous, it may not help make you any money as a freelance, but it would certainly give you a sturdy, helpful and much deserved push it the right direction!

Recomended for any one who has ever thought about drawing for a living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars invaluable advice!!!!, 5 Dec 2008
By 
M. Dickson "Beefy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator (Paperback)
I got this book from Amazon nearly 9 years ago as an e-book.

9 years on, I am represented by a major agency and have been full time freelancing for the last 7 years. My clients include Virgin, Channel 5, Penguin, Tesco, FHM ... I also now teach Graphic Design and Illustration at a further education college.

This book was instrumental in kick starting my career. I studied Fine Art at uni, so was completely new to the industry, but the practical advice contained here filled me in. Even the nugget of cold calling art editors and getting past the receptionist is contained!

I also refer back to my (now dated) copy as I teach a business start up class.

The choice is simple... buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read with Loads of Information, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book and found it to be full of useful information. It's direct and to the point so you don't have to wade through masses of text. It's also humorous making it an enjoyable read. I learned a lot and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only for Illustrators, 11 April 2008
By 
Chris Willems "Desertfish" (Desertfish) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator (Paperback)
Anyone looking for a book on how to generate ideas and general tips on how to produce artwork better carries on searching. This book deals with the practical aspect of freelance illustrating and provides (golden) tips on how to set yourself up, how to let the world know of your existence, promoting your work, keeping in touch with existing clients, getting paid and a whole host of other stuff. As such, I don't think this book is not only suitable for people wanting to make a career in illustrating. Graphic designers, copywriters, etc... will, without a doubt, also benefit from this material.

It contains an amazing amount of useful information (In fact, not a single page is wasted). It's witty style makes it very easy and pleasurable to read. It's also very motivating in starting you off with all the horrible work (i.e. cold calling, chasing payment,l etc...) associated with running your own business. This book is a must have for anyone serious about freelancing. Well done Max.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On Illustration but not Illustrated..., 15 Mar 2009
By 
G. Napier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator (Paperback)
I've only started looking at this so it's too early to rate it. I must remark on the irony of it being about illustration yet they didn't give any work to an illustrator! It begins: 'We live in an age where images are cheap abd ten-a-penny. An art director can slip a stock-art CD in her Mac and illustrate a piece of work faster than it takes her to reach for the phone and ring you up.' (Her...?) So far so depressing. That's exactly what happened with this book! What images it does contain are of the direst stock/clip-art type imaginable. It's also annoying that nearly every other page is entirely blank save for a single-line quote, most of which are hardly relevant or helpful, eg. Oscar Wilde's 'fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months' Or Steve Wright's 'Have you ever noticed how wrong numbers are never engaged?' To add insult to injury, these pages are accompanied by a very bad graphic of a boy's head with a pen stuck through it! What a waste of trees! I know this book is only about the nuts and bolts of freelance work but it would have been nice to have had some proper illustrations, or at least not to have to suffer the cheesy clip art, with the same poor-quality graphic reproduced over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Present!, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator (Paperback)
Wasn't for me so hard to review, but definitely a well received present. From what I've heard, it is being read quickly and there are practical, helpful tips throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars there is better if you look around, 9 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator (Paperback)
Well, this is one of the first books I have reviewed on amazon, the only reason really is to tell people to spend their money elsewhere. Whilst the book has some good information contained it is sparse, as said before almost every second page is blank. Illustration is poor and what is used is repetitive. Would guess from reading it is self published, so if you want to see what you could get away with then have a look. Personally I think it is overpriced, you would be far better reading "how to be a graphic designer without losing your soul", yes I know it is not illustration but everything in 101 is covered with greater depth and it is a better bang for your buck and covers portfolio presentation and freelancing etc a lot better along with a lot more information which is and can be relevant. Sorry Max, but this needs to be less than a fiver as once you have read it in a day it sits on the bookshelf and is of little use for frequent reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simplygreat, 19 July 2009
This review is from: Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator (Paperback)
Whilst the production of this book is cheap as chips, and it is filled with typos. (though I'm not one to talk!) It does tell you how to do it. I am an experienced freelance graphic designer who wants to do more illustration and I found this book very useful, especially the nitty gritty on cold calling,- loads of techniques and takes really the stress out of it.
Its quite old school on promotion methods- very paper based, but probably this is what works.

It fills all the holes that other books leave, ie actually how to do it. It starts from the point that you already have a good portfolio and tells you how to get work. Other books dont really tell you that. Max Scratchman is clearly very experienced in this field. Its also very reassuring, with plenty of anecdotes of when things dont go to plan and how to turn disadvantages into advantages

I would totally recommend this book for anyone freelancing in the creative industries. If you are setting out in illustration I would by it in tandem with something by Lawrence Zeegen such as Secrets of Digital illustration- that one does have inspiring images!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars invaluable advice, 8 Nov 2008
By 
N. Moir "nicola m" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator (Paperback)
you must, must read this before starting on road of freelance illustration.
i must say, max scratchmann is very forthcoming with information he must've learned over many years in the business - very unselfish of him!

i am so glad i bought this - on a hunch - as it has been a marvellously interesting read as well as hugely educational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review 101, 28 Jan 2010
This review is from: Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator (Paperback)
Excellent book for the real world with many useful tools and ideas to prepare for this competitive market.Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Illustration 101 - Streetwise Tactics for Surviving as a Freelance Illustrator
11.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews