Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wheel, 26 July 2005
By 
hazel dressekie (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Central 1179: The Story of Manchester's Twisted Wheel Club (Hardcover)
Thank you to the authors of CENtral 1179 for blasting me back to the mid 60's. Living in London for the past 34 years I recal how often I told family and friends that my club-life ended the day I left Manchester and how I would tell them about this club-The Twisted Wheel- that I used to go to. I was beginning to wonder if I had imagined half my stories about the all-nighters, standing next to the likes of Georgie Fame and Eric Burdon whilst John Lee Hooker performed on the tiny, sweat drenched stage. The often mythical stories about purple hearts and the Monday ritual of scouring the Manchester Evening News for news of 'lost' boyfriends. My stories were wild and crazy and few believed them---until this book arrived on my doorstep.
Now it is like-WOW! my mum used to go to the Twisted Wheel-- and suddenly all those stories about plastic bags filled with black bombers and purple hearts and kids flying and dying were now as real as the stories of hitch-hiking to the Wheel to see Spencer Davies or Graham Bond at an All Nighter. I laughed and cried throughout the entire book--Thank you.
With a special thank you to Long John Baldry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trivia-tastic, 6 Jun. 2001
By 
This review is from: Central 1179: The Story of Manchester's Twisted Wheel Club (Hardcover)
Dispelling the myth that "no-one would take a camera into the wheel for fear of it being stolen", an interesting look at the history of one of Englands most influential nightclubs. The twisted Wheel is famous for being the club that Spawned Northern Soul (thanks Mr Godin) due to the suedeheads demanding rarer and rarer records. it's not for me to argue this point, but it was certainly the reason why I bought this book. Weighed down a little with trivia, the book still gives the Soul stylists an interesting look at what will always be considered to be one of the greats.
AND you get the famous Dave Godin article to boot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever club?, 21 Dec. 2003
By 
mr j a ripley (manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Central 1179: The Story of Manchester's Twisted Wheel Club (Hardcover)
This long awaited book on the legendary Twisted Wheel club in Manchester, Lancs is a serious piece of reading. A must for anyone interested in British popular culture, Mods, suedeheads, black music, 1960's club scenes, the development of Northern Soul and the Manchester scene.
Being far too young to attend, I have visited numerous reunions and imagine that the Twisted Wheel, along with London's Flamingo Club was the most exciting club ever.
Perhaps a little too much info on the early years and beat/white R&B bands, but the latter years provide fantastic reading! Great photos. I cannot recommend this book enough. I truly hope a part two is written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Central 1179, 30 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Central 1179: The Story of Manchester's Twisted Wheel Club (Hardcover)
An excellent well sought after review of the Twisted Wheel club in Manchester from its inception in the 1960s through to the time it closed. A 'must read' for all those interested in the embryonic development of the rare/ northern soul music scene! This limited reprint allows everyone a last chance to purchase this definitive history at a reasonable price before it once again goes out of print resulting in the inevitable price hike!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to the history of the mod, 16 Oct. 2014
By 
John H. Riehle Jr. "orpheus" (los angeles, ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Central 1179: The Story of Manchester's Twisted Wheel Club (Hardcover)
Great introduction to the history of the mod, r&b and soul scenes in England, and in Manchester in particular. Essentially a narrative synthesized by fanboys from personal accounts by other fanboys and girls, a collective memoir of a very specific and very British youth subculture, with a focus on the club at it's hub in Northern England that became the Ur-level seedbed of Northern Soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those who were there, the memories are still strong., 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Central 1179: The Story of Manchester's Twisted Wheel Club (Hardcover)
So much effort has gone into producing this book - thank you!
Sadly The Wheel is now dead and buried - but it was such an important part of northern musical culture. It meant so much for those who experienced it and it became their life. Liverpool had its Mersey scene, BUT Manchester had The Wheel! For the Wheelers it will always exist - for the rest, buy this excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars twisted wheel,the glory years., 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Central 1179: The Story of Manchester's Twisted Wheel Club (Hardcover)
id been after this book for a long time,after going to the wheel 67through to 69 wanted to relive those great years and bring back memories of all the great acts i saw there,also good to see pics of old friends this has been a great read and a book to go back to many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as a 60s Wheel customer, Brazenose st and Whitworth ..., 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Central 1179: The Story of Manchester's Twisted Wheel Club (Hardcover)
as a 60s Wheel customer, Brazenose st and Whitworth st I found CENtral 1179 fascinating and invaluable as a piece of RnB,Soul & Mod history.Thankyou Alf Cook Darwen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul Greats!, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Central 1179: The Story of Manchester's Twisted Wheel Club (Hardcover)
Took me back to the 70s all nighters. Useful music lists and d.js. Recommend this to like minded fans. Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Central 1179: The Story of Manchester's Twisted Wheel Club
Used & New from: £19.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews