Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to read more from this author.
Rufus is newly separated. He has moved from London in the hope his wife will miss him and come chasing after him. He has given up his beloved bookshop and has been offered a position covering for the manager of a local book shop.

He finds himself in Creech, the not-so-proud owner of Mean Cottage, after a drunken appearance at an auction ... is it a...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by Sile

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where the button for 0 stars?
I cannot believe this book was even published! It is the most boring, empty and completely lifeless book I have ever read.
Published on 14 Dec 2007 by Mistress Bolayvou


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to read more from this author., 10 Sep 2007
By 
Sile (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moon Garden (Paperback)
Rufus is newly separated. He has moved from London in the hope his wife will miss him and come chasing after him. He has given up his beloved bookshop and has been offered a position covering for the manager of a local book shop.

He finds himself in Creech, the not-so-proud owner of Mean Cottage, after a drunken appearance at an auction ... is it a mistake?

Well ...

Wendy Mewes has written a wonderful book intertwining modern relationships, old (cunning) craft and modern wicca with some very deft handling.

Rufus is a likeable sort, and the people he meets are almost instantly recognisable from real life encounters a reader might have. Even if the book is a little too predictable in its essentials (one just knows where its all going to end), it is still a very charming read and one that meant I did not put it down from cover to cover.

Truly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!, 30 May 2006
By 
P. Moody (Glastonbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moon Garden (Paperback)
I loved Moon Garden. I couldn't put it down. It's very amusing, delightfully written with interesting real and non-stereotypical characters. It's certainly a pleasant change to find a book which deals with magic in a positive way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Cosy Read., 15 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Moon Garden (Paperback)
I found this book to be really enjoyable and fun to read. It was one of those books I found hard to put down. I really liked Rufus and especially Cate. Reading some of the things Rufus got up to made me laugh loads. I loved the descriptions of the surroundings and felt that I was there with them every step of the way. This is such a cozy book, the sort you want to snuggle up with to read, with no interruptions. So I put this put in my Cozy Category along with Joanne Harris & Angela Huth.

Another thing I loved reading in this book was about the pagan way of life, it's so good to read a book that you can relate to and understand. However, there were a couple of characters that made me want to jump in the book and box them, because I became really fond of Rufus hehehe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 9 Oct 2008
By 
Cathy "Cathy" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Moon Garden (Paperback)
I thought this book was a wonderful read. It was just one of those books that when you put it down, you felt better. I loved the mystical side of the story and how it was implemented into very real situations of every day life. This was a great read and I hope Wendy's other books are just as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every modern pagan household should have this book, 3 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Moon Garden (Paperback)
This is a warm, humorous book that works both as a wonderful story and also as a modern parable. Not only does it deal with an atypical, but very likeable hero, it covers many areas of modern spirituality. Though it emphasises the positive nature of modern Goddess orientated paganism it does so with a wry smile and an acceptance of the many characters that are attracted to this walk of life. It is written in such a way however that even those not inclined to this type of spirituality will appreciate the characters and mad village setting. The main theme of how one can achieve their true desires, if they are brave enough to really work out what they are, is subtle and I think is much more succinctly put than in many self help books.
As well as telling the story of how one has to be at peace with oneself before true love can be found it also recognises the value of finding ones true home...now I'm off to look up country cottages for sale!
Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read for people of all backgrounds, 21 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Moon Garden (Paperback)
A very well written look at love, relationships, magic, mystery and a charming insight into the love lives of goats... The book follows Rufus as he seems to bumble through life. A complete and unexpected change of circumstances and scenery leads him to re-evaluate his life and his priorities.
To say this book is a merely a romance novel or tale of relationships is to do it an injustice. It looks more at how humans react to change and loss, to how they manage to make the best of a bad situation which is a human trait often overlooked. It covers psychology, magic, myth and fantasy elements whilst still remaining very true to life and realistic (non of the Hollywood special effects).
The main character Rufus comes across as extremely likeable and I think most people know someone like him. The supporting characters were also well written and again came across as very realistic and like real, three dimensional people with warts and all. I particularly liked Cate (the eccentric village witch) and Tara (the hormonal gothic teenager). Perhaps it was because both characters strongly reminded me of people I know.
There is a magical theme throughout this book regarding the Moon Garden and several of the main characters. This makes it an excellent read for anyone following a more spiritual path or lifestyle, however I could happily recommend this both to my mother who follows a more mainstream religious path. To be honest that was one of the aspects I enjoyed most about this novel, there were magical aspects but they were not pushed too much and were dealt with in a very subtle way.
I would recommend this novel to anyone of any background and of any age. It was very hard to put down once started and I feel it would be universally enjoyed by all. I look forward to reading more from Wendy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oracle news, 15 Dec 2010
By 
H. Tomlinson (south yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moon Garden (Paperback)
after reading reviews of this book i was really looking forward to recieving it. i was not disappointed either. it was a magical book introducing you straight away to the main character rufus and his new home in a sleepy village called creech.

rufus, recently separated moves to creech from london. feeling alone he soon meets various people in the village. cate is an elderly resident who befriends rufus and he soon realises she practices witchcraft, all with the best intention i should add.

his new home, mean cottage becomes idylic to rufus and he soon learns of magical happenings in his moon garden.

throughout the book the characters we meet are eccentric, funny and some plain bonkers! theres lily the woman who rufus is hopelessly in love with, charlie, his crazy best friend, tara and joe the teenagers who rufus is protective over and many more who make this book a fantastic read.

i fab read which made me feel warm inside when a read it. i so looked forward to getting home from work and after doing the usual housey stuff, sitting down and having a good old read. it was like picking up an old friend and having a good catch up. a great source of entertainment without breaking the bank. happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL!!!, 29 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moon Garden (Paperback)
Having had to wait for weeks to get my hands on this book, it was well worth it.
great descriptions of village, people and surroundings.
Nice to see a well rounded, if slightly hopeless( to begin with anyway) main male figure, Rufus.all the charactures are believable , neither all good or bad, all with faults ,but all likeable, very human.
easy to read, sort of carries you gentelly into the story. Loved the ending, unexpected. Obviously well reserched on the magical side of the story,or maybe the author has inside knowledge?
highly recommend this title, and eagerly await more from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Moon Garden for all, 8 Aug 2005
By 
Rg Parsons (Glastonbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moon Garden (Paperback)
Reading Moon Garden once was simply not enough. I just had to breathe in more of the seductive scents in the air wafting round the characters of this fascinating novel, where Rufus, a gentle soul buffeted by some of the world's breezier constituents, discovers the art of empowerment and direction in his new surroundings. This is a story to uplift us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely read, 30 Sep 2011
This review is from: Moon Garden (Kindle Edition)
An utterly charming and endearing story and just perfect for the cold autumn evenings ahead. A book to keep and read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moon Garden
The Moon Garden by Wendy Mewes (Paperback - 4 May 2004)
£7.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews