Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2010
Most wine lovers just drink wine and don't have to understand how wine is made, as for driving a car, you don't need to know the technology behind it. But if you are interested in the why and how of certain aspects of wines and wine tasting, this book gives you a valuable insight in the world of wine making. All explanations are clear and kept simple, you do not need to be a chemist to understand. The 3rd edition has been brought up to date, as the wine technology is improving all the time. The chapters on Quality Control and Quality Assurance are excellent and to the point, these subjects are more in my own field of expertise. Recommended for all who want to know some more about wine and wine making.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
If you planning to set a vineyard OR if you're in your vineyard and wine tecniques management studies, you should read this EASY to understand book.
A deserved THANK YOU Author, to have made the book pleasant and enaging.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
I loved this read - really simplified the complex chemistry of wine for me as a non chemist person. Very much recommend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I am a Madeira wine producer, H&H, and this book is very informative. I would highly recomend it to wine makers and to whom is studying for the WSET diploma or for Master of Wine.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
An excellent work which explains in great detail the science of wine making and the decisions made by the winemaker which will affect the final product. It also shows that we now enjoy higher quality wines than ever before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Fantastic read, gives the scientific bits without being too detailed. I am a Technical Manager so understand all, but my husband is not and he still gets it. A good read if your getting into wine and it's process.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
A fascinating book for wine buffs who want to know more about the chemistry of wine making. Not beyond a keen amateur's understanding, but it might be helpful to have a little scientific knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
This was bought as a gift for a friend, and according to the feedback, they have been engrossed in the content. They also said that the book was very informative and interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
an excellent book that explains many difficult scientific concepts simply and clearly to the layman who needs it either for passing exams or in everyday QC and QA work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
Well writtena dn easy to understand. Some repeating of concepts but that no bad thing! Prob needs and update again - better photos please! - and I'll buy that too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)