Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handy book for home.
If you are looking for a book to help make blinds and curtains, look no further. this book has diagrams and clear instructions on how to measure and make curtains and blinds,all types of blinds from roller to roman,also with beautiful pictures of all window dressing. well written.
Published on 22 July 2006 by MAISE

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite enough for the novice
I borrowed this book from the library and I'm glad I did that rather than buy it. Personally, as a curtain making novice, I need a bit more explanation and a few more diagrams to fully understand what I should be doing.
Published on 21 Oct 2009 by Aunty Nitty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handy book for home., 22 July 2006
This review is from: Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a book to help make blinds and curtains, look no further. this book has diagrams and clear instructions on how to measure and make curtains and blinds,all types of blinds from roller to roman,also with beautiful pictures of all window dressing. well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UP TO DATE, 3 Dec 2007
By 
J. Mackness (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home (Hardcover)
I really like this book, for the main reason it's bang up to date, no overbearing stuffy swags and tails in here, just modern designs and materials which look liked they've just walked out of the pages of a 2007 edition of Ideal Home magazine. It takes the usual and turns them into the unusual. Inspirational pictures on how to top and head your curtains, and ideas on how to treat different types of windows, with easy to understand step by step guides to making them. There's ideas on choosing your best track or pole, measuring and estimating fabric and lists of exactly what you will need, with professional tips doted around to give you practical advice. The pictures are inspiring, modern and fresh. If your bored with the other books and sick to death of the old swag and tail, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillaint book!, 16 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home (Hardcover)
I was looking for a book to give me clear step by step instructions on curtain and cushion making, that was contemporary in style and which would provide me with some inspiration too. This book exceeded my expectations.

Set out clearly in easy to use sections, this takes you step by step through the process of making blinds, curtains or cushions. Suitable for beginners or those wanting to try something more challenging. Top tips are suggested to give a professional finish too.

I am not a complete novice but it had been a long time since I had attempted anything so I wanted to go back to basics and achieve a good result. I surpassed my expectations and was able to make a fab set of curtains, some cushion covers and I am now planning my next project!

There is useful information for calculating fabric quantities and a glossary at the back in case you don't know (or have forgotton) the terminology!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, although I found diagrams a little confusing for an inexperienced sewer, 27 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home (Hardcover)
As the other reviewers say, this is a good book. It has inspirational pictures and ideas and descriptions of how to measure and make blinds and curtains for windows and also cushions. I have found some of the diagrams and descriptions a little difficult to follow, which is why I have given it 4 stars, but I am an inexperienced sewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Book - Modern, inspiring and a joy to read!, 4 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home (Hardcover)
This book is a refreshing change to the usual drab and old fashioned curtain making books. The pictures are bang up to date, the explanations clear and the general layout of the book makes it an absolute pleasure to read.
I am a relative novice to curtain making, but even just having quickly scanned this book makes me want to have a go at not only curtains, but blinds and cushions too. There are some fab ideas for colour schemes.
Anyone wanting to have a go should purchase this book, and for the more experienced, there are further professional tips to further improve the quality of their work. This book is excellent. I am so glad I bought it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book you need for blinds!!, 7 April 2008
This review is from: Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home (Hardcover)
Love this book!!. It has very clear instructions on Roman blinds, which I have felt most useful. Also, a good directory on supplies for the amateur so sourcing materials is much easier - e.g. corded track sytems. Also bought their encyclopedia but find this the most up to date and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinds, Curtains and cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home, 29 Jun 2009
By 
S. Anderson (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home (Hardcover)
This book is a must for anyone who makes their own curtains etc. It is both suitable for the novice or the experienced. Pictures and instructions are very clear and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite enough for the novice, 21 Oct 2009
This review is from: Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home (Hardcover)
I borrowed this book from the library and I'm glad I did that rather than buy it. Personally, as a curtain making novice, I need a bit more explanation and a few more diagrams to fully understand what I should be doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed and professional, 21 April 2010
This review is from: Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home (Hardcover)
Definitely for the perfectionist and those with some knowledge of the subject already, this is a beautifully-illustrated book and provides good hints on making soft furnishings look more professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 24 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home (Hardcover)
Having made basic curtains for years I was astounded at the clarity and coverage of this book. It id a goldmine and a "must" for anyone wanting to learn all about curtains and blinds - throughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blinds, Curtains and Cushions: Design and Make Stylish Treatments for Your Home
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews